The "Official" Crowson Tactile Motion Actuators Thread. - Page 18 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 33Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #511 of 528 Old 02-01-2015, 07:52 AM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks Red99! That's a similar diagram that Crowson had in their installation PDF. Just curious what the difference is for the amp for low vs. high impedance. Obviously, the lower it is, the lower the voltage between the speaker poles and the more amps must flow through. But what does that mean for the amplifier itself?

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 528 Old 02-01-2015, 07:54 AM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
BTW, I can confirm it was a bad actuator. When I switched them around, I got the desired effect in my listening position with my full weight and no other changes. So clearly it's possible to get a weak/defective actuator. Will have the installer reach out to Crowson for a replacement unit.

Thanks!

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #513 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 09:33 AM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think I figured out my own question on the serial/parallel connection. If I understood Red99 correctly, the recommended setup is:

1) Put Behringer iNuke in BRIDGE mode
2) On each output channel, connect TWO actuators in SERIES.

The end result is a system impedance of 4ohm into which the iNuke delivers 3000W of pure butt-shaking goodness!

Is that correct?

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #514 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 09:39 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,812
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjorg View Post
I think I figured out my own question on the serial/parallel connection. If I understood Red99 correctly, the recommended setup is:

1) Put Behringer iNuke in BRIDGE mode
2) On each output channel, connect TWO actuators in SERIES.

The end result is a system impedance of 4ohm into which the iNuke delivers 3000W of pure butt-shaking goodness!

Is that correct?
Connect the two actuators in PARALLEL for a 4ohm nominal load.

EDIT: Sorry. I see you have four. You have a couple options. The easiest would be to not bridge the inuke and just run two actuators of each channel of it in 4ohm with two actuators hooked up in parallel.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #515 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 11:01 AM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Connect the two actuators in PARALLEL for a 4ohm nominal load.

EDIT: Sorry. I see you have four. You have a couple options. The easiest would be to not bridge the inuke and just run two actuators of each channel of it in 4ohm with two actuators hooked up in parallel.
You sure about that? I'm total noob at electric current, but I'm eager to understand.

Let's number the actuators #1 through #4 and call the channels A and B.

If I run #1 and #2 in parallel on A, then channel A has an impedance of 2ohm, no? Ditto for B.

However, if I bridge A+B, then connect two wires to A+B, then on each wire I run 2 actuators in series (e.g. #1 in series with #2 , #3 in series with #4 ), don't I get the series/parallel diagram that Red99 shared?

Something like:
* A+B -> (#1 & #2 ) // 8ohm
* A+B -> (#3 & #4 ) // 8ohm
Since A+B is bridged with 2 parallel 8ohm circuits, we get 4ohm. Correct?

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #516 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 11:06 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,812
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Yeah, I'm sure. It would work with no issues the way I described. No need or advantage to bridging the amp.

Each Shadow-8 is an 8ohm load.

So your choices are:

1) four 8ohm loads
2) two 4ohm loads
3) one 2ohm load
4) one 8ohm load
5) one 32ohm load
6) two 16ohm loads

So for you, really it's going to be either two 4ohm loads (two actuators in parallel) or one 8ohm load (all actuators in a series-parallel)

It would be easiest to just do two parallel in stereo. You can do the single 8ohm load with a bridged amp but it would just mean more wires going into the single output (harder to wire, imho).

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #517 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 11:11 AM
Member
 
bjorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wow, I thought the actuators were 4ohm instead of 8, but you're right (and I just confirmed on the Crowson site). Now it all makes sense!

I appreciate your patience in explaining it!

Thanks!

Abstract yourself!
bjorg is offline  
post #518 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 11:18 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,812
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
No problem. I'd have definitely thought what you did had they been 4ohm each.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #519 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
craig john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 10,449
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 398
The original actuators were 4 Ohms. The newer Shadow 8's are now 8 Ohms.

Craig

Lombardi said it:
Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection we can catch excellence."

My System

craig john is offline  
post #520 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 11:43 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,812
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
I thought they were 6ohm?

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #521 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 06:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
I thought they were 6ohm?

They are 8 ohms.. That allowed me to connect 3 in parallel to my bk1000 amp which is something i couldn't do with my bk lfe.
ahmedreda is online now  
post #522 of 528 Old 02-02-2015, 07:03 PM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,812
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedreda View Post
They are 8 ohms.. That allowed me to connect 3 in parallel to my bk1000 amp which is something i couldn't do with my bk lfe.
The older models, I meant, were 6ohm.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #523 of 528 Old Yesterday, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
sslv2pwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 32
How many can be connected to one channel of an iNuke 6000?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
sslv2pwned is online now  
post #524 of 528 Old Yesterday, 07:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 46
2 in parallel.. You can also connect 4 by connecting each 2 in series then then in parallel.. That would be still be a 4 ohm total..


Quote:
Originally Posted by sslv2pwned View Post
How many can be connected to one channel of an iNuke 6000?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
ahmedreda is online now  
post #525 of 528 Old Today, 12:30 AM
Bass Enabler
 
Scott Simonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 14,812
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1201 Post(s)
Liked: 1225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedreda View Post
2 in parallel.. You can also connect 4 by connecting each 2 in series then then in parallel.. That would be still be a 4 ohm total..
Four Shadow-8's in series-parallel would be 8ohm.

My Dual 18" LLT subs 120dB down to 10hz

 

Plan9Reloaded Co-host

Listen to the Plan9Reloaded Gaming and Technology Podcast (may contain NSFW language)

https://soundcloud.com/plan9reloaded/sets/podcast - direct pod link

http://plan9reloaded.com/site/ - main website

Scott Simonian is offline  
post #526 of 528 Old Today, 06:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 46
You are correct. I miscalculated it. Each branch will be 16 and in parallel will yield 8.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Simonian View Post
Four Shadow-8's in series-parallel would be 8ohm.
ahmedreda is online now  
post #527 of 528 Unread Today, 08:21 AM
Senior Member
 
sslv2pwned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 32
So at 8 ohm, one channel should be plenty to run 4 of them to full capability, correct?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
sslv2pwned is online now  
post #528 of 528 Unread Today, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Yes 1500 watts should be plenty. I am using the BK1000A with 3 and the actuators would max out before the amp runs out of power.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sslv2pwned View Post
So at 8 ohm, one channel should be plenty to run 4 of them to full capability, correct?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
ahmedreda is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off