Subwoofer and Static Eletricity - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2013, 12:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rayscordova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seem to be having a problem with my center channel i currently have a Definitive Technology CS-8060HD center channel with a built in woofer. when i place this woofer on my television stand it seems to have a very faint popping noise that comes out of the woofer. when i move the speaker to the other room to no feedback from the woofer. even on the floor next to the stand not feedback but as soon at is touches the stand i get feedback from the woofer.

Thanks for all the help in advance.
Rayscordova is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2013, 04:37 AM
 
BeeMan458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Magalia, CA
Posts: 8,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
At any point do you have metal-to-metal contact? A ground loop of sorts?
BeeMan458 is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 06:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Describe the noise further. How often? What kind of tv, cables? More detail the better. Are you using a surge protector? Did this just start or did you just buy it?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Old 01-10-2013, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rayscordova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The noise is like sombody tapping on a pillow very lightly and it is coming from the center channel subwoofer. The only time i hear the sound is when the center channel is on the stand(the center channel has built in amplifier). Asnsoon as i take the center channel off the stand no more sound. Panny ST30 and connected to monster 900 surge protector. Just bought about two weeks ago.
Rayscordova is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 881
How is it connected? hdmi?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Old 01-10-2013, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rayscordova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The speaker is connected with speaker wire to the receiver and an lfe cable to the receiver as well. And also a power cord to the wall
Rayscordova is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 881
My guess is that it has nothing to do with the stand but rather the proximity to the receiver. How many watts is the receiver and how many is the center? How difficult would it be to move the receiver a few feet to test? Have you tried a different lfe cable? What kind are you using? Is it insulated? How long is the cable and where are you placing the excess when center is on stand?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rayscordova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The center channel is 150 and receiver is 700 but I could not be the LFE cord because it does it when there is no speaker wire or LFE CONNECTED
Rayscordova is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 881
eek.gif Now we are getting somewhere. If you keep it plugged in in the same place but take it off the stand the sound stops? With no wires at all hooked up to the center?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rayscordova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes you are correct
Rayscordova is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 881
Have you tried plugging it in somewhere else?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rayscordova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes and to a completely different circuit and no sound but as soon as it touches the stand the sound is back
Rayscordova is offline  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 881
What kind of stand is it? Seems fair to assume its not wood. Metal and glass? Is the floor carpeted? Anything at all that is on the stand that may be putting a current through it?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
Old 01-10-2013, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Rayscordova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The stand is on a carpet glass and metal. I have a panny bluray Xbox 360 and sc-63 pioneer elite receiver
Rayscordova is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off