Klipsch RW-12D - Auto On Feature - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 134 Old 01-10-2013, 06:36 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For those with the RW-12D Klipsch sub, do you use the Auto-On feature?

I've been manually turning on and off my sub, but figured might as well use the feature they put in there in the first place to do this.

Anyways, it says after 20 min of no activity, the sub will turn off.

I went into the LCD display and in the Power section, selected Auto On and then proceeded to shut everything down (TV, receiver, BD player), except for the sub last night.

I woke up this morning and I can still see the LCD is active showing the volume setting, however, the display was not lit up. As soon as I pressed a button, it lit up.

For those that use this function, does the display remain "active" after 20 min after you shut everything down? While it won't be lit up, does it still continue to show the volume setting?
highdefav1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 134 Old 01-10-2013, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
skidog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Waconia, Minnesota
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Don't know never checked or cared. But I can tell you I use the auto on feature.

Panasonic TC-P65VT50
Denon 2113ci
Panasonic DMP-BDT220P
Ascend CMT-340SE L/R
Ascend CMT-340SE Center
Ascend CBM-170SE Surrounds
Klipsch RW12-D x 2
skidog is offline  
post #3 of 134 Old 01-10-2013, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can you please check your LCD display next time your whole system is off for at least 20 minutes? To see if the LCD displays the volume setting and the square boxes that represent the volume level? I would think that if the auto on feature didn't detect a signal for 20 minutes that it would shut down, which would include shutting down the LCD display.
highdefav1 is offline  
post #4 of 134 Old 01-10-2013, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 436
I use the auto on feature and it still shows the volume after the system is off. I think thats normal but I may be wrong.

Denon AVR 3312
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #5 of 134 Old 01-10-2013, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchunter View Post

I use the auto on feature and it still shows the volume after the system is off. I think thats normal but I may be wrong.

Thanks for the feedback. I mean the sub sounds great, but I'm wondering if turning it off/on using the actual switch on the back of the unit every day or every other day is bad for it, which is why I wanted to start using the Auto On feature.

I may call Klipsch CS tomorrow and see what they say, but chances are they'll say it's normal for the display to remain active during sleep mode to avoid any needed warranty repairs.
highdefav1 is offline  
post #6 of 134 Old 01-11-2013, 07:47 AM
Senior Member
 
NewToHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Coastal Maine
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you call let us know your findings. Because I'm not the sharpest tool in the shed I just assumed it automatically set itself to auto-on......didn't bother checking the menu. I saw your thread and checked and mine was on 'always on'....oops. At any rate, I switched mine to auto on and see that the display stays on also. I'm assuming it's normal but would like to hear what Klipsch has to say as well.
NewToHT is offline  
post #7 of 134 Old 01-11-2013, 09:27 AM
Member
 
JDM467's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by highdefav1 View Post

For those with the RW-12D Klipsch sub, do you use the Auto-On feature?

I've been manually turning on and off my sub, but figured might as well use the feature they put in there in the first place to do this.

Anyways, it says after 20 min of no activity, the sub will turn off.

I went into the LCD display and in the Power section, selected Auto On and then proceeded to shut everything down (TV, receiver, BD player), except for the sub last night.

I woke up this morning and I can still see the LCD is active showing the volume setting, however, the display was not lit up. As soon as I pressed a button, it lit up.

For those that use this function, does the display remain "active" after 20 min after you shut everything down? While it won't be lit up, does it still continue to show the volume setting?
I

Ive owned three of these and they all did exactly what your talking about, the first few times the auto off will actually work and the screen will say stand by after 20 minutes. I found that if I unplug it and leave it unplugged for a while plug it back in and will then work again but only for a few times. They always eventually continuously stay on.
JDM467 is offline  
post #8 of 134 Old 01-11-2013, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I finally got through to a Klipsch CS rep and basically if there is any interference (electrical or through the sub cable), even the smallest interference, the sub will remain active...not go into standby mode, which keeps the unit on, but shuts down the amp.

According to the rep, it's not bad for it if it doesn't go into standby mode and stays "active" all the time.

He said you could try a different outlet, since some can emit low level frequencies which will cause the sub to remain active. Sometimes a long enough RCA/subwoofer cord can also cause the sub to remain active, because all it takes is the slightest signal, even through the receiver maybe off and the sub will remain active.

One thing I noticed is that on the cord there is a tag that indicates 10A 125V. All my circuit breakers are either 15/20/30 amps. Not sure, but maybe too much for the sub, so it's remaining active all the time? Or maybe that just means it needs a minimum of 10A 125V to run the sub.
highdefav1 is offline  
post #9 of 134 Old 01-11-2013, 02:11 PM
Member
 
neuspeed94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was told by other members of this forum that if the sub has a class D amp, use the auto setting. If the amp is a class A/B amp, turn it off when you are done using it.

neuspeed94 is offline  
post #10 of 134 Old 01-13-2013, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Can anyone else comment on the "auto on" feature of the Klipsch RW-12D? What is your LCD indicating after 20 minutes or more of no signal from the receiver (meaning you have turned the receiver off and had it off for more than 20 minutes). Just want to make sure I don't have other issues or if it actually is the sub, put in a warranty claim.

I know there has to be more users of this sub, especially with the firesale that keeps going on at New Egg.

Further tests I did....

1. Unplugged the audio cable from the back of the sub and it still did not go into standby mode.
2. Unplugged the audio cable from the back of the sub and plugged the sub into a different outlet and it still did not go into standby mode.

Although I think both outlets I tried are on the same circuit, so If it was an electrical imbalance, I guess it wouldn't matter using one plug vs. the other. I guess I'll try a totally different plug on a different circuit..
highdefav1 is offline  
post #11 of 134 Old 01-29-2013, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by highdefav1 View Post

Can anyone else comment on the "auto on" feature of the Klipsch RW-12D? What is your LCD indicating after 20 minutes or more of no signal from the receiver (meaning you have turned the receiver off and had it off for more than 20 minutes). Just want to make sure I don't have other issues or if it actually is the sub, put in a warranty claim.

I know there has to be more users of this sub, especially with the firesale that keeps going on at New Egg.

Further tests I did....

1. Unplugged the audio cable from the back of the sub and it still did not go into standby mode.
2. Unplugged the audio cable from the back of the sub and plugged the sub into a different outlet and it still did not go into standby mode.

Although I think both outlets I tried are on the same circuit, so If it was an electrical imbalance, I guess it wouldn't matter using one plug vs. the other. I guess I'll try a totally different plug on a different circuit..

I use the auto on feature and it stays on all the time. I have NEVER turned the switch off on the back. Its perfectly ok for the sub to stay on standby all the time. I see nothing wrong and never had any problems with it by doing this.

Denon AVR 3312
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #12 of 134 Old 02-01-2013, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Yeah, I have no doubt that it's ok to leave the sub on all the time when it goes into standby mode after 20 minutes of no audio signal. But mine does not and I get the jist that there are others that don't go into standby mode either.

And just the other day, I heard a loud thunderous noise and looked outside...blue sky as far as the eye could be. The subwoofer went off all of a sudden and while it was on (auto on, but not in standby mode) everything else was off (receiver, tv, bluray etc).

Does yours (cchunter) actually say Standby on the LCD? Or does it just show the volume indicator?
highdefav1 is offline  
post #13 of 134 Old 02-01-2013, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 436
It shows the volume indicator.

Denon AVR 3312
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #14 of 134 Old 02-09-2013, 05:59 PM
Member
 
limsilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I also have a question about the RW-12D's auto-on feature. I read that for some subs, to properly engage auto-on, you need to connect your sub cable from the receiver to both the left AND right line-ins using an RCA splitter. This is to strengthen the audio signal so that the sub can properly detect it and thus automatically turn on.

Is this necessary for the RW-12D, or can I connect my sub cable to just ONE of the line-ins?

Thanks!
limsilas is offline  
post #15 of 134 Old 02-10-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by limsilas View Post

Hi guys,

I also have a question about the RW-12D's auto-on feature. I read that for some subs, to properly engage auto-on, you need to connect your sub cable from the receiver to both the left AND right line-ins using an RCA splitter. This is to strengthen the audio signal so that the sub can properly detect it and thus automatically turn on.

Is this necessary for the RW-12D, or can I connect my sub cable to just ONE of the line-ins?

Thanks!

You can use just ONE line in and that would be fine.

Denon AVR 3312
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #16 of 134 Old 02-10-2013, 11:06 PM
Member
 
limsilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchunter View Post

You can use just ONE line in and that would be fine.

Great, thanks!
limsilas is offline  
post #17 of 134 Old 02-11-2013, 06:12 AM
Member
 
RastaManMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm using an RCA splitter and have noticed that mine does indeed go into standby when not in use.

I haven't tested out how long it takes to go into standby so not sure if it's 20mins but the morning after, I went to check and it said 'standby on' or something along those lines. Checked it again yesterday after coming home from grocery shopping and it said standby on again.
RastaManMax is offline  
post #18 of 134 Old 02-13-2013, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
boomster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've just learned that mine hasn't been going into standby either. I have auto power selected and I have both left and right RCA inputs plugged in (my AVR has 2 subwoofer outputs). In the firesale thread they mention that it should say "standby" when it goes into it. Mine has never done this. It always shows the volume setting even when my system is off for hours or days.

I am going to try unplugging as someone suggested above and see if that resets things. I do use the power circuit it's on as a powerline network (my home network goes through the powerlines so that I can watch HD videos downstairs without any buffering). So I'm guessing that could cause some interference in the power line.

If the sub isn't going into standby I'm wondering how much power it uses being constantly on. I bought this last month and noticed my power bill was higher then average...enough to definitely notice a difference. Just wondering if this might have anything to do with that if it's on 24/7.
boomster is offline  
post #19 of 134 Old 02-13-2013, 10:16 AM
Member
 
limsilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomster View Post

I've just learned that mine hasn't been going into standby either. I have auto power selected and I have both left and right RCA inputs plugged in (my AVR has 2 subwoofer outputs). In the firesale thread they mention that it should say "standby" when it goes into it. Mine has never done this. It always shows the volume setting even when my system is off for hours or days.

I am going to try unplugging as someone suggested above and see if that resets things. I do use the power circuit it's on as a powerline network (my home network goes through the powerlines so that I can watch HD videos downstairs without any buffering). So I'm guessing that could cause some interference in the power line.

If the sub isn't going into standby I'm wondering how much power it uses being constantly on. I bought this last month and noticed my power bill was higher then average...enough to definitely notice a difference. Just wondering if this might have anything to do with that if it's on 24/7.

That's interesting - it's kind of the opposite of the auto-on feature not working correctly when you going into only one of the RCA inputs. Maybe with both RCA inputs your sub is "too sensitive" and is detecting a signal even when there's not really one?
limsilas is offline  
post #20 of 134 Old 02-13-2013, 10:22 AM
Senior Member
 
boomster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by limsilas View Post

That's interesting - it's kind of the opposite of the auto-on feature not working correctly when you going into only one of the RCA inputs. Maybe with both RCA inputs your sub is "too sensitive" and is detecting a signal even when there's not really one?

When I get home this evening I'm going to try a few different things to see if I can find out what it could be. One of the things to try is to just use one input, and then use a Y cable with just that one cable as well. Also going to try a different outlet. And think of anything else... like maybe put it on a power strip that has interference blocking features. Hopefully something will get it to go into standby again, and on a regular basis. I don't need another bill like last months.
boomster is offline  
post #21 of 134 Old 02-13-2013, 10:27 AM
Member
 
limsilas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomster View Post

When I get home this evening I'm going to try a few different things to see if I can find out what it could be. One of the things to try is to just use one input, and then use a Y cable with just that one cable as well. Also going to try a different outlet. And think of anything else... like maybe put it on a power strip that has interference blocking features. Hopefully something will get it to go into standby again, and on a regular basis. I don't need another bill like last months.

Good luck! Let us know what happens.
limsilas is offline  
post #22 of 134 Old 02-13-2013, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomster View Post

When I get home this evening I'm going to try a few different things to see if I can find out what it could be. One of the things to try is to just use one input, and then use a Y cable with just that one cable as well. Also going to try a different outlet. And think of anything else... like maybe put it on a power strip that has interference blocking features. Hopefully something will get it to go into standby again, and on a regular basis. I don't need another bill like last months.

I dont think you'd hardly notice much of a difference if any at all in your electric bill IMO. Even if its still on its not doing anything and basically in standby without it saying standby if that makes any sense?

Denon AVR 3312
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #23 of 134 Old 02-13-2013, 06:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
highdefav1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ATL
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Like cchunter said...I can't imagine this sub is consuming enough power that you would notice a difference when the unit is on (not in standby).

I did a couple other tests and it still didn't go into standby.

I also recently bought a RCA splitter and connected the cable from the receiver into this RCA splitter and then plugged the splitter into both the R and L inputs on the back of the subwoofer....didn't make a difference.

I've actually decided to silence my OCD and just enjoy the sub and not worry about standby, on vs. off, etc....I just leave it on all the time now.

If something happens to it, I'll put in a warranty claim with Klipsch.
cchunter likes this.
highdefav1 is offline  
post #24 of 134 Old 02-13-2013, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cchunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 436
Highdef I agree totally! Just quit wondering about it and enjoy. Its a great sub for the price regardless of this small problem.

Denon AVR 3312
Klipsch RF-7II's, RC-64II, RS-62II's
SVS SB13 Ultra
Sony BDP-S790, PS3
Panamax 5300PM
Samsung UN60F7100 3D LED
cchunter is online now  
post #25 of 134 Old 02-14-2013, 06:42 AM
Senior Member
 
boomster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchunter View Post

I dont think you'd hardly notice much of a difference if any at all in your electric bill IMO. Even if its still on its not doing anything and basically in standby without it saying standby if that makes any sense?

It would make perfect sense, but that isn't the case.

I went and bought a Kill-A-Watt power meter out of curiosity and unplugged the RCA cables completely. Plugged the sub into the meter and I'm reading an average of 250 watts consumption without it doing a single thing! 250 watts 24/7 is nothing to think lightly about in my book. That's about a dollar a day at my energy cost. I'd expect that when it's playing something, but not when it's silent doing nothing.

I'm continuing to see if anything will put mine into standby. Unfortunately I have to wait 20 minutes after each thing I try. I do know at this point unplugging the RCA's completely didn't solve my issue so it must be in the power line somehow. I just plugged it into a power conditioner and hope to see if that makes any difference or not.
boomster is offline  
post #26 of 134 Old 02-14-2013, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by boomster View Post

It would make perfect sense, but that isn't the case.

I went and bought a Kill-A-Watt power meter out of curiosity and unplugged the RCA cables completely. Plugged the sub into the meter and I'm reading an average of 250 watts consumption without it doing a single thing! 250 watts 24/7 is nothing to think lightly about in my book. That's about a dollar a day at my energy cost. I'd expect that when it's playing something, but not when it's silent doing nothing.

I'm continuing to see if anything will put mine into standby. Unfortunately I have to wait 20 minutes after each thing I try. I do know at this point unplugging the RCA's completely didn't solve my issue so it must be in the power line somehow. I just plugged it into a power conditioner and hope to see if that makes any difference or not.

I doubt if a power conditioner will make any difference but I guess it's worth a try. I would use a surge protector and turn it off when not being used.

At first thought, you would think Klipsch would have done more testing and engineered a better system but from what I've gathered most budget subs have problems with the standby feature. It's a little harder to understand though given the MSRP of the RW-12d. I don't know about others but this problem is one of the reasons I didn't buy this sub because things like that matter to me.

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #27 of 134 Old 02-14-2013, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angler55 View Post

I doubt if a power conditioner will make any difference but I guess it's worth a try. I would use a surge protector and turn it off when not being used.
 

Fortunately, mine seems to work. I wouldn't mind turning it off except for the loud "THUNK" I get when I turn it on. I don't have that problem in standby.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #28 of 134 Old 02-14-2013, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Angler55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mouth of the AuSable River, Michigan
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post

Fortunately, mine seems to work. I wouldn't mind turning it off except for the loud "THUNK" I get when I turn it on. I don't have that problem in standby.

Oh, you're saying by connecting your sub to the power conditioner your sub now goes into standby?

Al
Angler55 is offline  
post #29 of 134 Old 02-14-2013, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 212

I've always had mine connected to a UPS and, as far as I know, have not had a problem with standby mode. "Always" being 6 - 8 months.

I get the "THUNK" with the UPS (I've never tried without), so I'd really hate to turn it off and on all the time.

And all my electrical equipment has always been connected to UPS's. A little paranoia goes a long way.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #30 of 134 Old 02-20-2013, 04:29 AM
Senior Member
 
boomster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I actually solved my issue. It was solved by a power conditioner. Thought I would update everyone. It seems to at least go into standby about 80% of the time with it. But it set me back some dollars which I don't really have so I returned it and got a master/slave power strip controller. The master being the AVR, so whenever I turn on the AVR that turns on the subwoofer. Much cheaper solution and thankfully at least mine doesn't make any thumps when turned on or off by it.
boomster is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Klipsch Rw 12d 12 Subwoofer Each

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off