Need to get educated on Rythmik and HSU: recommendations for Newbie - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 32 Old 01-26-2013, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've searched the forums and needless to say, I was a bit overwhelmed. So I decided to just start a new thread.

I think I have a pretty good home theater with the exception of a high quality subwoofer. I have DefTech Mythos Towers with matching Center and Surrounds. I use an AV Receiver (with ARC) as a preamp, which feeds an external amp (170x5 with all channels running). Here comes the huge weak link: a Mirage frx 10 inch sub. It is definitely better than nothing at all, which I found out when the fuse blew a week ago. But obviously, it's not what I want long term.

I've had plenty of experience with ported subs with the above mentioned Mirage and various car subs over the years. I think I'm ready for some good clean, tight bass that is usually achieved with a sealed box. I've read many different discussions over ported vs. sealed on here, and I think I'm in the camp of accurate bass is accurate bass. The system will be used for HT about 60% of the time. The listening area is large. It is an L shaped room with about 75' spans on the long sides and 35' on the width. On the back side it opens up to a kitchen, so it is really about 75' x 75'. Also, 10' ceilings. Oddly, the acoustics seems pretty decent. Probably because the area is all 90 degree angles and the ceiling it flat not cathedral. I also have hardwood floors throughout.