Can I use a AC converter with a subwoofer? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-26-2013, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vygnyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking about buying an JBL ES250 subwoofer. I live in Europe and I'm considering importing the subwoofer from US. I already have a Blu-ray player on which I use a converter for because the standard in the US is 120v 60hz and in Europe the standard is 240v 50hz.

If I get the subwoofer and a converter, could it have some effect on the quality of the sound the subwoofer is producing? I really hope someone can help me with this.
vygnyr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-26-2013, 10:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
What Sub do you plan on Getting? Many now have power supplies that will Accept 120 and 240.

Check the web sites of the companies for specifics.

Athanasios
nashou66 is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vygnyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

What Sub do you plan on Getting?

I'm thinking about buying an JBL ES250 subwoofer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 View Post

Many now have power supplies that will Accept 120 and 240.
I looked through the manual and it states AC 120V~60Hz 2A

Can anyone answer my question if the AC converter will affect the quality of the sound?
vygnyr is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 07:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
it shouldn't . Make sure it can handle the 2 Amp rating.

You Know if you use many US AC powered pieces equipment you should look for
an Isolation Transformer that will go from 220 to 120. It will also isolate
the external power source and become its own Separate derived power source.

Then you could get a separate panel box for 120 volt only.

Something Like this. 2.5KVA is on the smaller end. You would add up
all your equipment to make sure it doesn't add up to over 2500 VA. I have a 5KVA
for my theater,

http://www.ebay.com/itm/STABILINE-ISOLATION-TRANSFORMER-IT-125U-2-5KVA-1-PHASE-120-240V-INPUT-OUTPU-/321061740949?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ac0c56195





Athanasios
nashou66 is online now  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vygnyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your response. Could I use a converter like this one?

HQ Voltage Converter 75 W, 230V - 110V
Incoming: 200-240 V AC
Outgoing power: 75 W max
Outgoing: 100-120 V AC





Or somthing like this one?

HQ Voltage Converter 100 W, 230 V - 110 V, P.SUP.34-HQ
Incoming: 200-240 V AC
Outgoing power: 100 W max
Outgoing: 100-120 V AC

vygnyr is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygnyr View Post

Thanks for your response. Could I use a converter like this one?

HQ Voltage Converter 75 W, 230V - 110V
Incoming: 200-240 V AC
Outgoing power: 75 W max
Outgoing: 100-120 V AC





Or somthing like this one?

HQ Voltage Converter 100 W, 230 V - 110 V, P.SUP.34-HQ
Incoming: 200-240 V AC
Outgoing power: 100 W max
Outgoing: 100-120 V AC


I don't think so, 100 watts at 120 volts is about .83 amps. Either one would not have enough output.

A government that robs Peter to pay Paul can always depend on the support of Paul.
Where I work... www.rpm-psi.com
ceh383 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 08:07 AM
 
BeeMan458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Magalia, CA
Posts: 8,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygnyr View Post

I'm thinking about buying an JBL ES250 subwoofer.
I looked through the manual and it states AC 120V~60Hz 2A

Can anyone answer my question if the AC converter will affect the quality of the sound?

No. In the simple, AC is AC with the difference being 50Hz vs 60Hz as 240v is nothing more than two 120v legs and a neutral return to ground. My understanding, once inside the subwoofer's transformer, AC current is converted to DC current. The concern, is the AC signal quality a full sine wave vs square wave or modified square wave. My understanding, square waves are a form of an intentionally clipped signal and a lot of AC oriented gear doesn't like the clipped signal quality provided by a square wave.
BeeMan458 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 09:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygnyr View Post

I'm thinking about buying an JBL ES250 subwoofer. I live in Europe and I'm considering importing the subwoofer from US.
Why? After adding the cost of shipping and duties and the transformer, which must be rated for at least the current draw of the sub amp, you'll probably end up paying more than buying a sub from a European manufacturer.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vygnyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeMan458 View Post

No. In the simple, AC is AC with the difference being 50Hz vs 60Hz as 240v is nothing more than two 120v legs and a neutral return to ground. My understanding, once inside the subwoofer's transformer, AC current is converted to DC current. The concern, is the AC signal quality a full sine wave vs square wave or modified square wave. My understanding, square waves are a form of an intentionally clipped signal and a lot of AC oriented gear doesn't like the clipped signal quality provided by a square wave.
Thanks for your reply BeeMan458. Can I use the subwoofer with an converter of that size or do I need to get a bigger one?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Fitzmaurice View Post

Why? After adding the cost of shipping and duties and the transformer, which must be rated for at least the current draw of the sub amp, you'll probably end up paying more than buying a sub from a European manufacturer.
In the US the sub is at $200 and I'm getting beside another shipment so I'm only paying the tax but not the shipping. The same sub is at $708 here.
vygnyr is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 02:32 PM
 
BeeMan458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Magalia, CA
Posts: 8,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygnyr View Post

Thanks for your reply BeeMan458. Can I use the subwoofer with an converter of that size or do I need to get a bigger one?
In the US the sub is at $200 and I'm getting beside another shipment so I'm only paying the tax but not the shipping. The same sub is at $708 here.

It's volts times amps to get watts. So if you have a 120v power supply that draws two amps, the appliance will draw 240w. You mentioned that the adapter was spec'd for 100w, so no, the chosen adapter won't work. The good news, there's a boatload of step down transformers on the cheap that will work. biggrin.gif

I like good news and happy endings. tongue.gif
BeeMan458 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
As an absolute minimum, you will need a converter with an output rated at 240 watts. I would look for something with a bit more output, 400~500 watt range.

A government that robs Peter to pay Paul can always depend on the support of Paul.
Where I work... www.rpm-psi.com
ceh383 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 02:38 PM
Senior Member
 
ceh383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Acton, CA
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeMan458 View Post

It's volts times amps to get watts. So if you have a 120v power supply that draws two amps, the appliance will draw 240w. You mentioned that the adapter was spec'd for 100w, so no, the chosen adapter won't work. The good news, there's a boatload of step down transformers on the cheap that will work. biggrin.gif

I like good news and happy endings. tongue.gif

Beat me to it...

However, with a step down transformer there will still be the issue of input at 50Hz and needing an output of 6oHz....

A government that robs Peter to pay Paul can always depend on the support of Paul.
Where I work... www.rpm-psi.com
ceh383 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 02:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,364
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeMan458 View Post

It's volts times amps to get watts. So if you have a 120v power supply that draws two amps, the appliance will draw 240w. You mentioned that the adapter was spec'd for 100w, so no, the chosen adapter won't work. The good news, there's a boatload of step down transformers on the cheap that will work. biggrin.gif

I like good news and happy endings. tongue.gif

If I were him Id try to add this into his shipment.

http://www.amazon.com/Simran-AR-3000-3000-Watt-Stabilizer-Transformer/dp/B000E636BU/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1359322687&sr=8-6&keywords=230+to+110+converter



From your link that is the one he should get. He can add more USA equipment to that unit.

Athanasios
nashou66 is online now  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-27-2013, 04:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygnyr View Post

In the US the sub is at $200 and I'm getting beside another shipment so I'm only paying the tax but not the shipping. The same sub is at $708 here.
So buy a European sub. There's nothing special about the JBL.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-16-2014, 08:12 PM
Member
 
paradise man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI all,i was searching the net to find a solution for my problem and ran into this thread,i got a JBL ES250P this sub is awesome great sound for movies and music for the first day only:mad: cause the second day i went to my home theatre and fired up my onkyo receiver the sub came out from stand by mode for 2 minutes only then it made strange sound for about 10 sec and died totally nothing even the led lights went off till now!!tried to change the power source to my sub but nothing,tried to use y split cable and nothing happens the subwoofer have died suddenly after one day of use,i am thinking of ordering one from the US amazon cause i can’t find any in UK amazon.but if i do i will need the same 240v thing your looking for:) so what happened did you execute this plan yet:cool:
paradise man is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-16-2014, 08:14 PM
Member
 
paradise man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vygnyr View Post

I'm thinking about buying an JBL ES250 subwoofer. I live in Europe and I'm considering importing the subwoofer from US. I already have a Blu-ray player on which I use a converter for because the standard in the US is 120v 60hz and in Europe the standard is 240v 50hz.

If I get the subwoofer and a converter, could it have some effect on the quality of the sound the subwoofer is producing? I really hope someone can help me with this.
HI,i was searching the net to find a solution for my problem and ran into this thread,i got a JBL ES250P this sub is awesome great sound for movies and music for the first day only:mad: cause the second day i went to my home theatre and fired up my onkyo receiver the sub came out from stand by mode for 2 minutes only then it made strange sound for about 10 sec and died totally nothing even the led lights went off till now!!tried to change the power source to my sub but nothing,tried to use y split cable and nothing happens the subwoofer have died suddenly after one day of use.
paradise man is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off