Monitor Audio RSW 12 SubWoofer Meets The THX Select 2 Plus Standards??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-28-2013, 02:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blind Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Piraeus , Athens Greece
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there from Greece.
My name is Cris and for the last 3 years i own a Monitor Audio RSW 12 SubWoofer.
For those who don't know which is , look here:

http://www.monitoraudiousa.com/support/past-products/silver-rs/rsw-12/

I wonders if that Sub meets the THX Select 2 Plus standards , because my amp which is the Pioneer SC LX 75 (SC 55 for USA) has a setting in the menu if my Sub meets that standard.
It's specifications are the following:

Lower Frequency Limit: 27 Hz (EQ1); 21 Hz (EQ2)
Upper Frequency Limit: 40 - 120 Hz (Variable)
Low Pass Filter Alignment: Active 4th order 24dB / octave (2 stage filter)
Power Handling (RMS): 500 W (RMS)
Amplifier Classification: Class - D Digital Amplifier
Drive Unit Compliment: 1 x 12” C-CAM® Sub-woofer driver featuring triple suspension and 3" long voice coil
Cabinet Design: Sealed cabinet with internal bracing
Product External Dimensions:
(H x W x D)
340 x 340 x 370 mm
13 3/8 x 13 3/8 x 15 5/8 inch

Weight: 25.5 Kg (56 lb)


What do you think?

2 months ago i was ready to chage it with a Velodyne CHT 12Q in order to achieve better results.
Would it be a good move?
Blind Guardian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-28-2013, 02:38 AM
Newbie
 
SamGresham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To be honest I think if you want to upgrade, nothing is going to fix that except upgrading. A setting on your receiver probably wouldn't make you get over the upgrade "bug."
SamGresham is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-28-2013, 03:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Blind Guardian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Piraeus , Athens Greece
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamGresham View Post

To be honest I think if you want to upgrade, nothing is going to fix that except upgrading. A setting on your receiver probably wouldn't make you get over the upgrade "bug."

Hi & thanks for your answer.
I did not put my question properly.
First question is about the THX Standard

And next is my other question if is a good move to change it with the Velodyne one.
I mean will i find better bass with a SubWoofer like the velodyne or with something at maximum budget 800 $

Thanks
Blind Guardian is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-28-2013, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
SamGresham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avsforum.com/t/929118/thx-select-subwoofer-specs

There is a post about it, someone said it was meaningless and almost all subwoofers meet it.
SamGresham is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off