need help choosing the right sub - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 01-28-2013, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need some subwofer recommendations and help in choosing the right sub for my small room.

I am have a set of Wharfedale Bookshelf Speakers a Center speaker that came with my receiver, I have never used bookshelf's before, pretty much have been a headphone guy but now I am venturing out in audio. Anyway I think I needed a sub to go along with my setup to complete it and compliment my overall sound by adding some bass? Most of the sub listings I came across are too huge for my little room or cost way over $100.

I saw a few Home theater in box Subs, from Onkyo, Panasonic and Sony. So will these subs basically suck? I saw a few Sony Subwoofers from their HT systems going for next to nothing, found 2 listings for Sony-SA-WMS230 also going for next to nothing. i also read sony basically sucks in the audio department? So not sure about Sony or any of these HT audio systems. How bad are they really? I want good bass not house shaking but something Good to compliment my speakers.I prefer a smaller sub but if its bigger then it will probably be at the side of my bed and act as a bed side table tongue.gif

Anyway I dont know if I should go for them and grab a cheap sub to go along with my setup or save some money and look for some other listings like in the $100+ range or maybe a Wharfedale?

gimme some advice and feedback also what you think of the HT subs like Sony-SA-WMS230 for my room. smile.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 01-28-2013, 08:17 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 661
Effectively most subs around $100 pretty much stink.

HTIB subs from Sony, Onkyo, etc - are especially horrible.