Is there a way to hook this(pic1) to this(pic 2) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-16-2013, 12:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BuzzKillBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Pioneer vsx-522 5.1 surround receiver (i know,its entry level,im cheap)... my friend game me a BOSE acoustimass 9 speaker system,JUST the sub and 8 pin cord with the ends tore off... im wondering if there is any way to get just the sub to work with my hd receiver... the sub is powered and i have a power cord but no way to turn on or any of that... pics are related... any info would be great as i dont wanna spend 300 bucks on a stand alone sub and amp as i only dished 200 on the receiver....again,im cheap....surround.jpg xat.com OCX8CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), quality = 80CREATOR: gd-jpeg v1.0 (using IJG JPEG v62), default quality<----only the 8pin plug is there with about 8 inches if cord,the other end got chewed off by dogs
BuzzKillBob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-16-2013, 04:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 60
You would need a replacement cable. The 8 pin connector goes to the subwoofer, the RCA end goes to the Subwoofer out of your AVR, having no On/off switch mean the subwoofer is Auto on when there is a signal
BuzzKillBob likes this.
qguy is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-16-2013, 04:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BuzzKillBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qguy View Post

You would need a replacement cable. The 8 pin connector goes to the subwoofer, the RCA end goes to the Subwoofer out of your AVR, having no On/off switch mean the subwoofer is Auto on when there is a signal
Where would I hook them to? The only audio outs on that reciever is the speaker outs or the pre out for surr height or sub pre out...
And couldn't I just splice the cables with other ends? I have allot of spares with 3ft extra left on them.
BuzzKillBob is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 02-16-2013, 09:51 AM
Member
 
mungee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The Red and White end (a.k.a RCA composite male connector) of the 8-pin Bose connector need to be connected to something like this:

RCA Stereo Y-Splitter/Adapter

which in turn can be connected to the "Pre-Out Subwoofer" of your VSX 522.
BuzzKillBob likes this.
mungee is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 02-16-2013, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BuzzKillBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qguy View Post

You would need a replacement cable. The 8 pin connector goes to the subwoofer, the RCA end goes to the Subwoofer out of your AVR, having no On/off switch mean the subwoofer is Auto on when there is a signal
Awesome. Will try suggestions and post results in a couple of hours.
BuzzKillBob is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 02-16-2013, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BuzzKillBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bought connector,spliced the rca's coming from 8pin,plugged in and turned sub on on my osd on my receiver and I'm getting nothing. frown.gif tried different outs and still nothing.
BuzzKillBob is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 02-16-2013, 11:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 60
You have 3 possible errors

1. The cables is internally damaged. You would need to tester to see if you have continuity or a lenght of wire, battery and a small bulb will do.
2. The subwoofer is busted, I cant think of any way to test this but to bring it to one those Bose dealers and have them test the subwoofer, assuming they have a similar unit
3. Configuration on your AVR is incorrect
BuzzKillBob likes this.
qguy is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 02-17-2013, 12:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 60
This just dawned on me, is it possible that the AM 9 has a central module that controls the subwoofers power on/off like some of the HTIBs
BuzzKillBob likes this.
qguy is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 02-17-2013, 07:59 AM
Member
 
jkxmlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
http://worldwide.bose.com/productsupport/assets/pdf/guides/lifestyle/ls50/en/owg_en_ls50.pdf
It would appear to me you have a nice doorstop. Appears the multiroom is what makes it work. I may be wrong.
BuzzKillBob likes this.
jkxmlr is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 02-17-2013, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Oliver Deplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern California
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Why not ask the guy who gave it to you?

Seeing how he lopped off the DIN connector, he tried to adapt it to a more typical system.

Take it back to him and ask if he was successful. If he was, then ask him to show you which wire goes where. If he wasn't then thank him for wasting your time and leave it with him.
BuzzKillBob likes this.

Two would seem to be two too many to me too.
Sarcasm is the sincerest form of flattery.
I bid you a fondue.
Oliver Deplace is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-17-2013, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BuzzKillBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah,that's what I was thinking too. The guy that gave it to me said he had one of those lifestyle things and he said he didn't know if it would work on anything else. I did notice the 8pin connector was different in that pdf manual tho. But from the looks of it,I've got a nice eBay clogger. I broke down and ordered a sub cause I was tired of messing with this thing. Lol. Thanks for all the support in trying though. I really do appreciate it guys.
BuzzKillBob is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off