Good quality in room passive sub options? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-18-2013, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Anyone know any good in room passive subs? Only need to go down to 40 or so before rolling off so can be small. I have the Procella option but they are pricey...

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-20-2013, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Not a big market, since much of the point of a dedicated sub is so that the system's amplifiers don't have to handle the prodigious power required for low bass. Even those Procella subs come in versions without amps only because they expect you to dedicate an amp in your rack to them.

Why would a powered sub not work for you?

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-20-2013, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Nyal Mellor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 909
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

Not a big market, since much of the point of a dedicated sub is so that the system's amplifiers don't have to handle the prodigious power required for low bass. Even those Procella subs come in versions without amps only because they expect you to dedicate an amp in your rack to them.

Why would a powered sub not work for you?

Wiring logistics. It's a retrofit job and there is no power where I want to put the subs, but running low voltage (speaker wire) will be easy.

Master of Minions, Acoustic Frontiers. We specialize in the design and creation of high performance listening rooms, home theaters and project studios for discerning audio/video enthusiasts.
Nyal Mellor is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-20-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia Vicinity
Posts: 4,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Hmm. Velodyne "SubContractor" series, maybe?

There are a lot of passive subs in the pro-audio industry, of course, and also for car audio. Probably not what you want if it'll be exposed, however.

Wide Awake

on the Edge

of the World

 

rdclark is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-22-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
desertdome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Elkhorn, NE
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 186
You could try a Blackbird or Raptor system from Dave at bossobass.com. He goes by bossobass here on the forum. Jeff (JTR Speakers) or Mark (Seaton Sound) could probably provide you with a passive sub. They use amps from Speaker Power and maybe they could use a rack mount DSP amp from Speaker Power instead of the plate amp. If you only want down to 40 Hz, the JTR Growler is ideal and it is passive. Although it isn't shown on the website, I think you can get them custom with veneers for a more upscale look. Danley Sound Labs has some passive subs, but they are probably larger than what you are looking for.
desertdome is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-23-2013, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Seaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 5,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyal Mellor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdclark View Post

Not a big market, since much of the point of a dedicated sub is so that the system's amplifiers don't have to handle the prodigious power required for low bass. Even those Procella subs come in versions without amps only because they expect you to dedicate an amp in your rack to them.

Why would a powered sub not work for you?

Wiring logistics. It's a retrofit job and there is no power where I want to put the subs, but running low voltage (speaker wire) will be easy.

If the amp just needs to be remote, there are a variety of options from Velodyne and Triad. If you need something more ambitious, drop me a line as desertdome suggested.

Mark Seaton
Seaton Sound, Inc.
"Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men's blood..." Daniel H. Burnham
Mark Seaton is online now  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off