PB12 NSD now, or Captivator later? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 05-18-2013, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Hey guys, I got an interesting dilemma here.

First of all, I am a university student (once you read further you'll see why this is important)

I currently use a Logitech Z-5500 (computer speaker) as my sub. My parents want to give me a SVS PB12 NSD as a birthday present because they knows I love bass.

Now, my instinct is telling me, HELL YEAH, I WANT THIS. However, ever since I heard bass properly reproduced that shakes the room in a way that I feel like I'm in the movie, I was completely hooked, and it became one of the strongest motivator for me to do well in life (so I can afford to buy multiple captivators with nice speakers).

I purposely still use the low end Z-5500 as my subwoofer, even though I can afford to buy a good, $500-600 subwoofer, and I have a personal reason for that. In a few years down the road, when I (hopefully) get my first paycheque from working at one of the large companies I want to work for (these companies aren't easy to get in, and yes, they pay very well), I want to do a INSANE upgrade from a computer speaker sub to dual Captivators so I can get the satisfaction of "THIS is why I worked so hard for so long", which will motivate me even more to climb up the ranks, make more money, then splurge even more on audio equipment.

What do you guys think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 05-18-2013, 08:23 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 63
If the parents are offering a sub, and it'll be years till you can afford a cap then why not take the SVS and save up.
post #3 of 13 Old 05-18-2013, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Go with whatever works for you. If holding off on buying a sub is helping motivate you in school/work, get rid of the Z-5500 and listen to just the computer speakers. tongue.gif