Would performance deteriorate using a 75' subwoofers cable? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-22-2013, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
soundmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi,
I just purchased some dual subwoofers. The distance from my subs to the receiver is about 75' because I have to go around all the walls. So I was wondering if there is going to be a decline or deterioration of performance over that long distance using a 75' subwoofer cable?

Thanks!
soundmusic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-22-2013, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
braveheart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lone Wolf McQuade from Islamabad Pakistan
Posts: 2,485
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Hi,
I just purchased some dual subwoofers. The distance from my subs to the receiver is about 75' because I have to go around all the walls. So I was wondering if there is going to be a decline or deterioration of performance over that long distance using a 75' subwoofer cable?

Thanks!

Different opinions surround the unbalanced cable length subject. Um using 35 feet unbalanced cable length for my sub with zero loss. I measured it with multimeter. First I measured the volts running through a 6 ft cable and then compared it with the results of 35 ft. It was same.

I reckon if an unbalanced cable is adequately shielded against EMI/RFI, the length won't make a difference. But having said that, a multimeter will tell you exactly. I reckon you do the same.

History is written by those who have hanged heroes ...

Main System: PSB X2T, PSB XC, PSB XB, Cambridge Audio Azur 751R, Rythmik FV15HP, PSB S500
braveheart123 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-22-2013, 01:12 PM
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5687
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundmusic View Post

I was wondering if there is going to be a decline or deterioration of performance over that long distance using a 75' subwoofer cable?
No. Line level signals can be run to well over 100 feet without any problems, and when issues do start to arise they start in the high frequencies, working their way down as the cable goes longer. Since there are no highs, or for that matter mids either, with a subwoofer signal there's nothing to be concerned about.
OTOH the level of ground loop noise is squared with each doubling of cable length, so that might cause problems for you. If it does you need to transformer isolate the cable, or use XLR balanced adapters at either end.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 09-22-2013, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 6,031
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1173 Post(s)
Liked: 1159
Why not use a couple of these instead? You use just one transmitter if you go with them.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?partnumber=300-580

------------------------------------------------------------
That's not science! - Cyborg

FOR SALE: nothing at the moment

Rivers Edge Theater
brian6751 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-22-2013, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
soundmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks Braveheart, Bill.

Brian, how good are those wireless transmitter? I heard you can have signal interference with cell phones, wifi? Can they be used on any subwoofer brand?
soundmusic is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-22-2013, 06:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 6,031
Mentioned: 34 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1173 Post(s)
Liked: 1159
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundmusic View Post

Thanks Braveheart, Bill.

Brian, how good are those wireless transmitter? I heard you can have signal interference with cell phones, wifi? Can they be used on any subwoofer brand?


They work great from what I have read. I have two that I'm going to use after we move to the new house.

Yes they work with any sub. You just need to power them at both ends.

------------------------------------------------------------
That's not science! - Cyborg

FOR SALE: nothing at the moment

Rivers Edge Theater
brian6751 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-23-2013, 01:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
soundmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Cool. Thx.
soundmusic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off