Subwoofer height, is it important ? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-23-2013, 10:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mongao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi friends,

Please does it make any difference to have the sub say on the top of a cabinet instead of directly on the floor ?

The position in the room would be the same, I am only considering coming up with a wood cabinet where the sub is (the cabinet is say 3' high) and put the sub on the top of it;

Thanks a lot,

Mongao
Bigsky HiFi likes this.
Mongao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-23-2013, 11:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
braveheart123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lone Wolf McQuade from Islamabad Pakistan
Posts: 2,485
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
The position in the room would be the same, I am only considering coming up with a wood cabinet where the sub is (the cabinet is say 3' high) and put the sub on the top of it;

How high is your roof? How tall is the sub itself? What kind of cabinet are you talking about? Is it hollow from inside?

History is written by those who have hanged heroes ...

Main System: PSB X2T, PSB XC, PSB XB, Cambridge Audio Azur 751R, Rythmik FV15HP, PSB S500
braveheart123 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-23-2013, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rcohen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1395 Post(s)
Liked: 629
Try the room analyzer in Room EQ Wizard 5.01. It will let you simulate height and other layouts:
http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/downloads-area/47460-v5-01-beta-downloads-asio-support.html
rcohen is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 09-24-2013, 05:05 AM
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 15,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 5684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongao View Post

Please does it make any difference to have the sub say on the top of a cabinet instead of directly on the floor ?
Probably not. Subs are usually placed on the floor because their size and weight tend to be too much for placing them on a cabinet.
Bill Fitzmaurice is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-24-2013, 05:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 4,835
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1491 Post(s)
Liked: 981
Give it a try and see how it goes. I think the only issue may be the cabinet vibrating if it's not solidly put together. Some of my subs vibrate a lot.
KidHorn is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-24-2013, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Mongao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks to everybody that replied, I may give it a try,

Thanks,

Mongao
Mongao is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off