Subwoofer Volume - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2013, 06:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
metallifan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey everyone! I have a question about subwoofer volume. When i connect my pioneer s-dw1-k to my amp yamaha rx-v850 via LFE i have to turn the volume all the way to max but when i connect with the high level inputs via speaker wire i only have to turn it to about half or so...i'm just wondering why this is and if something isn't connected right...Thanks!

metallifan24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-28-2013, 07:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by metallifan24 View Post

Hey everyone! I have a question about subwoofer volume. When i connect my pioneer s-dw1-k to my amp yamaha rx-v850 via LFE i have to turn the volume all the way to max but when i connect with the high level inputs via speaker wire i only have to turn it to about half or so...i'm just wondering why this is and if something isn't connected right...Thanks!
Google 'gain structure'. There's more gain using the second option. Turn up the LFE output volume. There's also no filtering of the above bandwidth content using the speaker level inputs, and that added content will make it louder.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is online now  
Old 10-28-2013, 11:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
metallifan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks for the reply! well my receiver doesn't have gain control for the subwoofer...I've had the subwoofer hooked up to a couple other receivers and didn't have a problem like this, Is their another way to hook it up or am i just missing something here? On the back of the receiver it says low pass 200hz

metallifan24 is offline  
Old 10-29-2013, 07:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by metallifan24 View Post

well my receiver doesn't have gain control for the subwoofer...On the back of the receiver it says low pass 200hz
Ouch. Get a new receiver. Yours is not an x.1.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is online now  
Old 10-29-2013, 07:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
metallifan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Darn it...I have dolby surround on it and have it connected with the front mains,center and rears also on the manual it says i can hook up a subwoofer to it but it doesn't go into great detail about it. Sucks cause i really like the receiver its solid!

metallifan24 is offline  
Old 10-29-2013, 09:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Fitzmaurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 10,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1684
Quote:
Originally Posted by metallifan24 View Post

Darn it...I have dolby surround on it
Surround, yes, but with no LFE decoding and output you'll never get the results you want.

Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design

The Laws of Physics aren't swayed by opinion.
Bill Fitzmaurice is online now  
Old 10-29-2013, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
metallifan24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Ah i see ok thank you very much

metallifan24 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off