Subs or bass traps in the room corners? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 79 Old 12-05-2013, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I have no experience with room treatments and I'm in the process of ordering some - including floor to ceiling corner bass traps. Currently, I have three subs placed optimally using RTA, one is in a corner.

Should I maximize corner traps by pulling the sub out and filling the corner with absorption, then reposition the subs? Or leave the sub in place and not trap that corner? Is there a general rule, like "Fill the corners with bass traps and let the subs fall where they may"?

I guess I'm wondering if placing the bass traps will cause the room modes to change enough that I will need to find new places for the subs anyway?

I know I can just order a bunch of corner bass traps and see which way works best, but I'm trying to avoid wasting any money and tossing corner traps in the trash smile.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 79 Old 12-05-2013, 10:50 AM
Senior Writer @ AVS

Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Quoted: 1215 Post(s)
Liked: 2475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooddoc View Post

I have no experience with room treatments and I'm in the process of ordering some - including floor to ceiling corner bass traps. Currently, I have three subs placed optimally using RTA, one is in a corner.

Should I maximize corner traps by pulling the sub out and filling the corner with absorption, then reposition the subs? Or leave the sub in place and not trap that corner? Is there a general rule, like "Fill the corners with bass traps and let the subs fall where they may"?

I guess I'm wondering if placing the bass traps will cause the room modes to change enough that I will need to find new places for the subs anyway?