Can I use a non subwoofer amplifier - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-31-2013, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SweetFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I am working on setting up my 5.1 home theater system and have a question on powering my passive sub. I bought a new Denon (2313 CL) receiver and no longer have use for my old Yamaha (RXV2300). Instead of buying a new sub amp as well would I be able to use my old Yamaha to drive the sub? If so:
*What inputs should I hook the sub to on the Yamaha( front left,right,rear etc)?
*How should I hook the Denon up to the Yamaha?
*What settings should the Yamaha be on?
Thanks
SweetFish is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-31-2013, 12:49 PM
FMW
AVS Special Member
 
FMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,453
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 616
Without doing a lot of research I would guess it isn't possible. You have a receiver and you need a power amp without a preamplifier stage in front of it. You can buy a plate amp for your subwoofer for as low as $60 depending on the power you need.
FMW is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-31-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raynist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 237
I think this should work, I did something similar a long time ago.

I ran the sub out of the receiver I was using to one of the inputs on the old receiver, let's just say it was the CD input. I then hooked up one of the speaker outputs to the passive sub. Worked perfectly.

3 - JTR 228's LCR (game room)
2 - DIY Sound Group V-8 Coaxials (game room)
4 - PSA Triax's (game room)
2 - SVS SB13+'s (living room)
1 - SVS SB12-NSD (bedroom)
raynist is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-31-2013, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wwinkler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: northern virginia
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I did the same thing as raynist. You can use the main AVR to control the frequencies that you send to the secondary receiver (amp). You use one channel of the secondary receiver and connect to the high level inputs on the passive sub.
wwinkler is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-01-2014, 10:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SweetFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the responses. So does it matter what channel I hook the sub two. How do I hook the avr to the Yamaha? Do I run a cable from the sub output to the "cd" input as ray it's suggests. I notice a sub input connector on the Yamaha receiver.
SweetFish is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-02-2014, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
SweetFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i got this working based on the suggestions above. Now I have a few follow up questions:
I have a Sonance VP85W in wall subwoofer rated at 150W max. The Yamaha receiver I'm using to drive the sub is rated at 110W per channel. AmI not doing the sub justice by using this receiver? Also, would it be possible to bridge the left and right channels of the receiver to send to the sub to double the power?
Thanks
SweetFish is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off