AVS Forum banner
714 views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  Boomassiv 
#1 ·

Hello this is my first post though I have lurked in the shadows gathering info on and off for awhile now.  I wanted to try sharing info back with everyone basically as a little thanks for the info I have gathered.  Please forgive the non scientific and rookie comments/info but I am a rookie and I do not have scientific tools around to use.  Some of this info is just my personal take on what I looked at and heard.

I recently decided to upgrade one of my home stereo systems when I started hearing a popping sound coming from the left channel of my 90s model Sony receiver.  As of now in my computer room/office/spare bedroom (lost the man cave to my first child 2 years ago) I have a Sony STR-SE391 receiver, 2 KLH 12" 3 way floor speakers and 2 KLH 6 1/2" 2 way bookshelf speakers.  All this was bought in the mid to late 90s.  I have recently ordered a 5.1 set up made up of the BIC Acoustech PL-89II x2, PL-28II x1, Pl-66 x2 and 1 Pl-200 sub.  I also purchased a Yamaha RX-V773WA at a discounted price all thanks to reviews and info I gathered from this site.

At this time I only have the PL-200 hooked up to the old Sony to give my thoughts on. I had recently purchased a F-12 subwoofer also from BIC but after receiving it and seeing damage from shipping (box had hole and speaker terminal on back was damaged) and poor build quality (woofer was not centered in ring almost to the point of rubbing surround and had glue all over cone with globs around the cap) I had decided to go ahead and get the full set mentioned above.  Below is just a little technical data and thoughts on what I listened to this evening while I had a chance. 

F-12                                  vs                              PL-200

Dimensions                        14 3/4" w x 17 1/2" d x 16 1/2" t  (3/4" grill)            14 3/4"w x 19 1/2" d x 16 1/2" t  (5/8" grill)