What's the best way to share a sub between a 2.1 and a 5.1 ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 51
The title says it all...

...what's the best way to share a sub between a 2.1 and a 5.1?

The 2.0 and 5.0 parts are seven separate speakers.

The 2.0 has an east orientation and the 5.0 has a south orientation.

Only the subwoofer is to be shared.

rick240 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
UGAd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Huh?

If your AVR has "stereo" setting is should only play 2.1. If you have Dolby or DTS music mode then it's 5.1.

Assuming that's what you meant?

UGAd13 is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Nope, not what I meant.

Clarifications added to OP.

rick240 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Reefdvr27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,632
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 392
I see what your saying now.

Are you using dual zones on your AVR separate AVR's? But as said below a Y splitter would be the best answer. As the sub will receive the signal from a or b.

My System

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


My dedicated theater room build. 

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reefdvr27 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
UGAd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Hmmm... If you have two different sources/inputs you could probably use a y rca splitter at the sub and run each cable to the source.

The other source would have to be off though so they're not sending signals at the same time.

Not 100% sure that'll work though. It's cheap enough to try though.

UGAd13 is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 04:28 PM
Member
 
trueno92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Run the 2.0 via high level inputs and 5.1 as lfe/dedicated sub input.

Get your gain and crossover on the sub as the common denominator and then level the volume out the 2.0 and 5.1 independent of each other?
trueno92 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 05:41 PM
Member
 
whitey019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 22
It is not good practice to use a Y-splitter on an input, that is two outputs to one input, because outputs are low impedance and you could damage the one output while driving with the other. On the other hand using a Y on an output, one output to two inputs, is fine as inputs have a relatively high impedance.
whitey019 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
ahmedreda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 43
You can use a miniDSP 2x4 with the mixer or the advanced 2.1 plugins. That is assuming you have two avrs.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ahmedreda is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 03-23-2014, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shadyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6,631
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitey019 View Post

It is not good practice to use a Y-splitter on an input, that is two outputs to one input, because outputs are low impedance and you could damage the one output while driving with the other. On the other hand using a Y on an output, one output to two inputs, is fine as inputs have a relatively high impedance.

+1 this, you are essentially causing a short by using an y-splitter on an input. Also a miniDSP is overkill for what the OP wants to do. The OP will want to use something like these analogue utility mixers. This twenty buck Behringer mixer will do the job just fine.
shadyJ is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 03-24-2014, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Yep, I know a Y-connector is a bad idea. Althoough this one seems to make it possible.

Concerned about the potential damage if both are connected at the same time (someone, not me, might have both on at the same time).

It looks as though a switch (either RCA or XLR, depending on ultimate connection used) will be needed. I just haven't found one that works with a remote, all manual.

I was also hoping some sub manufacturer might have an input selector on the sub amp (similar to an AVR's input selector) - but no luck yet.

I was also hoping some AVR might have support for sharing the sub between zones - no luck yet.

rick240 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 03-24-2014, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Woo-hoo biggrin.gif

It looks like the XLR3 amp from Rythmik (co-incidentally my favourite sub maker) does exactly what I want.

It has a 'Dual Mode' which allows its two inputs to be connected to different systems cool.gif

rick240 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 03-24-2014, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derrickdj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 146
I would say get another sub so each system has one. Not sure of the rational to use one sub which can't be optimally located for two different systems.

Klipsch RF 7 based HT 7.4, Pioneer SC 35, Acurus 200 Five, Dayton 18 Ultimxa Dual Sub Cab(2), Dayton 18 Ultimax Large Vented Sub Cab (2), on Berhinger I Nuke DPS amps, Samsung BDP F 7500, Asus/My Book Live HPC 4 TB

Yaquin VK 2100 amp, McIntosh XR 5 speakers, Samsung BDP F 7500
derrickdj1 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 03-24-2014, 07:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 60
qguy is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 03-24-2014, 09:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 51

There's lots of switches out there. I haven't found one that works with a universal remote yet. It would suck to have to flick a switch every time - but may be necessary.

Still trying to better understand Rythmik's Dual mode.

rick240 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 03-24-2014, 09:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 251
I would go to RadioShack and pick up a spdt switch and wire the rca cable to that.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 03-25-2014, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
qguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 60
How are you going to deal with the different volume setting for each system ?
qguy is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 03-25-2014, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rick240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by qguy View Post

How are you going to deal with the different volume setting for each system ?

Should be able to deal with in the receiver for each.

rick240 is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off