Setting crossover for Definitive procinema 600 subwoofer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 47 Old 03-28-2014, 10:25 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have Definitive Procinema 600 speaker system. I set up the subwoofer with their option 1b, where I use both speakers wires in ans LFE in, and set the low pass filter at 85 Hz. Question is, what frequency crossover to set in the receiver? I have Yamaha RX-a730, where the speaker caliberation automatically sets it at 120 Hz. Can some expert here explain how this works? Will receiver send filter frequency above 120 Hz for center and surround speakers, and the subwoofer will further filter 85 Hz and below for sub itself, but pass 85 and above frequncy to its front speakrs out. Thus my back surround and center will only produce frequency above 120 Hz but front will produce above 85, and sub below 85.

I am a complete audio noob, so need help to set this up right.

One other question is Yamaha is rated at 90 watts per channel, but definitive procinma speakers are rated at 150 watts. Is there any danger of clipping and damage if I play receiver too loud? In DTS video, the volume knob is at 0 to 1.5 db, and I am afraid of damage.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 Old 03-28-2014, 11:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 781
Set the subwoofer crossover all the way up to the very highest and let the receiver completely handle the subwoofer crossover. If the receiver is saying 120hz, then you should let it do that. Your receiver is measuring the actual response of the sub and speakers in the room, and generally the crossover it recommends will be the lowest that is actually working well in your room, even though the sub manual might recommend something different.

Your questions are answered: Speaker FAQ