No sound from subwoofer - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-06-2014, 04:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
skyebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello. My subwoofer has a red and white option for rca leads. However my amp doesn't, the only options are multi channel or pre out, both with only one socket. I have used the test tone and it appears to be working, but when I am watching something there is no sound. When I had my previous amp, I was always been told to turn it down or off as the bass was too powerful. Now unfortunately I don't have that problem. Can somebody tell me how to fix this problem. thank you.

skyebo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-06-2014, 05:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 476
What is the make & model of your amp/receiver and of your sub? If the sub works when you run a test tone but doesn't when you're playing regular audio, it's possible that your speakers are set to "large" and the sub is being bypassed.

You may need to go into your amp/receiver's speaker set-up menu and set the speakers to "small" (which should result in the amp/receiver directing lower frequencies to the sub).
eljaycanuck is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-06-2014, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
skyebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


ELJAYCANUCK. thanks for your reply and advice, in between my post and your reply, I decided to have one last go at it, and it is now working. I did what you said and changed the setting size of speakers, I also had lead into multi channel output on amp. I now have it connected to the pre-out socket and it's working fine. thanks once again.

skyebo is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-06-2014, 06:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eljaycanuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 5,112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 476
You're not the first person to connect a sub to his receiver's input instead of output... smile.gif

Happy to hear that you figured it out, and that changing the speaker settings helped resolve the problem. cool.gif
eljaycanuck is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off