Help Me!!! - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Audio > Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers > Help Me!!!

Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

undross
08:32 AM Liked: 0
post #1 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 2014
Alright so i need help connecting another subwoofer to my set up, i'm new to this website so i don't really know where to post this but if someone could help me that would be amazing!

Alright so i have 4 Logitech Z623's, Audio Engine A5+, and a Polk Audio Psw10 all hooked up at once. And how i did that is a 5 way 3.5mm splitter, expect my Polk Audio Sub is plugged into my Audio Engine A5+ Output, and then My Audio engine 3.5mm is plugged into the splitter. So i have 5 seperate things plugged into the 5 way and all my speakers work, but i want to add another subwoofer, the Polk Audio Psw125.

HELP ME!!! I don't know how i would connect it? I don't have anything i could plug it into, i want to add the extra subwoofer and the only thing i can thing of is buying this and plugging the two subs into it and then into my audio engine a5+ output? Would this work, would everything still play music?

http://www.amazon.ca/HDE-Port-Audio-...utput+splitter

And if your not allowed links then its called the HDE 4 Port RCA Audio Video Splitter.

Any Help would be amazing! Thank You!
Alan P's Avatar Alan P
12:06 PM Liked: 426
post #2 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 2,924
Joined: Jan 2003
If I understand your (quite convoluted) setup correctly, all you need is one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-MUYHS...5mm+y+splitter
fatbottom's Avatar fatbottom
12:38 PM Liked: 202
post #3 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 3,890
Joined: May 2003
Personally I'd pick up a cheap source switching box.
undross
04:17 PM Liked: 0
post #4 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
If I understand your (quite convoluted) setup correctly, all you need is one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-MUYHS...5mm+y+splitter
that doesn't work, i need two red and black inputs and then one red and black output to plug into my audio engine, rca cords or whatever there called
Alan P's Avatar Alan P
04:36 PM Liked: 426
post #5 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 2,924
Joined: Jan 2003
Here, let me search Monoprice for ya....

http://www.monoprice.com/Search/Inde...ord=rca+cables
undross
04:44 PM Liked: 0
post #6 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
Here, let me search Monoprice for ya....

http://www.monoprice.com/Search/Inde...ord=rca+cables
Thats still not what i need, something like this

http://www.vetco.net/catalog/product...ducts_id=10996

Even though that doesn't work, but that kind of thing, like both my subs are going to have red and black audio cords coming from them, but then i need 2 red and black inputs to plug them into, and then an red and black output that will plug into my red and black output on my audio engine a5+, sorry im trying my best to make this easy to understand, im new to this stuff
LowerFE's Avatar LowerFE
04:46 PM Liked: 39
post #7 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 293
Joined: Dec 2009
I've had experience with all the subs you own, and I'd sell all of your subs and buy a SVS PB1000 instead of the Polk. It will be much better than your 6 sub system.
undross
04:51 PM Liked: 0
post #8 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LowerFE View Post
I've had experience with all the subs you own, and I'd sell all of your subs and buy a SVS PB1000 instead of the Polk. It will be much better than your 6 sub system.
na, i really don't feel like selling all that stuff haha, it will do until i move out, i just really need something to connect two subs to my audio engine
Alan P's Avatar Alan P
04:55 PM Liked: 426
post #9 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 2,924
Joined: Jan 2003
So, all you really need to do is split the output from the Audio Engine speakers.

The speakers already have stereo output, you could just use left for one sub and right for the other.

OR - you could sum the output from the speakers to mono this way - dual female to single male y-splitter ---> mono RCA cable ---> single female to dual female y-splitter ---> RCAs to each sub.

Clear enough?
undross
05:04 PM Liked: 0
post #10 of 11
06-16-2014 | Posts: 9
Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan P View Post
So, all you really need to do is split the output from the Audio Engine speakers.

The speakers already have stereo output, you could just use left for one sub and right for the other.

OR - you could sum the output from the speakers to mono this way - dual female to single male y-splitter ---> mono RCA cable ---> single female to dual female y-splitter ---> RCAs to each sub.

Clear enough?
alright, just plugging one sub into the red and one into the white into my audio engine output will work for sure then! sorry i have been saying black instead of white this whole time haha
Alan P's Avatar Alan P
09:50 AM Liked: 426
post #11 of 11
06-17-2014 | Posts: 2,924
Joined: Jan 2003
Yeah, it will work....but technically it's not the "correct" way to do it. Both of your subs should be getting the exact same signal to work in concert, this way they will be getting slightly different signals (right vs. left). But it's probably good enough for your purposes.
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3