Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 09-06-2014, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Another subwoofer suggestion thread..

Hey!

I'm new to AVS, and so called "Hifi" with my modest setup.

I currently have these:

Behringer Truth B3031A
Radial Pro USB DAC

As you can see, I'm running with XLR, which kinda limits the options.

I've been suggested with these models:

KRK 10S
RCF Ayra 10
M-Audio SBX10

I'm using them as gaming, listening music, and I want to continue using XLR cables, as I just bought this "expensive" DAC

E: should I keep the DAC powered on when the PC is shut down?

Last edited by jamb0; 09-06-2014 at 05:34 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 09-06-2014, 06:08 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 513
Subs with XLR inputs tend to be a little more expensive, as that feature isn't really expected in low end subwoofers. I would recommend looking at some of the Rythmik subs with the XLR3 amps, the Hsu ULS-15, and the SVS Plus and Ultra series subwoofers. These will set you back 1 to 2k. Worth it though! The subs you have listed are studio subs made as an afterthought by speaker companies, and they won't have any serious extension or dynamic range. Hsu, Rythmik, and SVS will murder those things, but of course, they do cost a bit more.

As for the DAC, I don't think it will hurt to leave it on. I wouldn't worry about that. Although if it were me, I would probably shut it off. I am curious about those Behringers, btw, I have the 2031s, and from what I hear the 3031s are better.
post #3 of 15 Old 09-07-2014, 02:58 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadyJ View Post