* Offical Velodyne Support Thread * - Page 329 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9841 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Paderborn, Germany
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
DD Plus - 230V - Disable 1/2 watt circuit ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Morse View Post
The 230 volt version of the DD plus subwoofer includes a 1/2 watt standby circuit mandated by the EU, this circuit will not allow the subwoofer to remain powered on after a period of time of non-use. The auto on/off circuit will work to power on the subwoofer if you supply it with enough signal, unfortunately the always on and 12 volt trigger features are disabled by the 1/2 watt circuit.

There are steps that can be done to optimize the signal going into the subwoofer so that the Auto on/off works well, if you continue to have issues, your local service center can by-pass the 1/2 watt feature at your request. EU rules permit this to restore functionality such as the 12 volt trigger, however we are required to ship the subwoofer with the 1/2 watt circuit engaged.
Same Problem for me to,
can you point me to a circitmap to do deactivate the 0.5watt circuit by myself ? My Service Center is
far away (some where in Germany) and on/off trigger is what I need with my Denon AVP-A1HDA !

Ok, there are more little Problems with my DD10+, bought used 15m old. See Post#9840, like
-no Picture from Welcome/System Settings Screen (comp/s-vhs) ??

Well perhabs we can get this done ?
hoping - bassmann.de

---
keep grooving
bassmann.de is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9842 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmann.de View Post
Same Problem for me to,
can you point me to a circitmap to do deactivate the 0.5watt circuit by myself ? My Service Center is
far away (some where in Germany) and on/off trigger is what I need with my Denon AVP-A1HDA !

Ok, there are more little Problems with my DD10+, bought used 15m old. See Post#9840, like
-no Picture from Welcome/System Settings Screen (comp/s-vhs) ??

Well perhabs we can get this done ?
hoping - bassmann.de

When the unit is in 0.5 watt standby mode, there will be no picture from the video output.

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
post #9843 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmann.de View Post
Hi all Thread Readers, greetings from Germany !

Well, last week I bought a 15 month old Velodyne DD10+. Now connected to my Denon AVP-A1HDA.
Trying to do a Setup with the Digital Drive Plus Software (Rev 1.01 / 2011 !!), it reads my SerialNo
but if you try to upload a messurement it says "no sync" ! But the the file seems to get uploaded.
Hmmm, perhabs there is a newer, bugfixed Release of "Digital Drive Plus" ?

I connected the Video output Composite or S-VHS to my Denon to check the Setup, there is no
Introductory Screen - only a big light gray Picture ? Nothing else, Hmmm.
A Factory reset, as showen in the Manual didn't change anything.

-Has anyone an idea to fix this ?
-Is there a DigitalDrivePlus 2.x ? Can you point a Link to me ? Velodyne Download Page, said there is, but not for mine (SerNo starting with 7xxxx) Hmmm.

wondering
bassmann.de
There is no update to the software. The no synch indicates that you are not playing the sweeptone CD and the subwoofer has not synchronized to the audio.

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
post #9844 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitro1max1 View Post
I have a DD-15 that developed a like pop sound when using the sub. At low level volume it play fine. When turning the volume up it pop and keeps play pop again. The louder it plays the more it pops. It's very annoying when it happens. Everything else works. Not sure if it is the board or the driver. Any input what you think it could be? Would like to repair the sub if I can. Thanks
I would recommend contacting service@velodyne.com . They will likely provide you a wiring diagram to disconnect the accelerometer/servo circuit and test the subwoofer that way. The result is not fool proof, but is a good indicator as to if the issue is driver or electronics based.

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
post #9845 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Paderborn, Germany
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Morse View Post
When the unit is in 0.5 watt standby mode, there will be no picture from the video output.
ok Rob, thanks for this quick reply !
1) No the unit ist not in Standby Mode, in normal play mode I can't get a Picture
on my Denon!? There is only a blank grey Picture to look at.... not realy a Welcome
Screen. Ideas on that?
2) The On/Off/Trigger Mode is useless and contra productive for EU-Customers,
please give me an advice to deactivate the 0.5watt Module as you mentioned before .
I can manage a SolderingIon as a iT-Prof, i think. That would be a great help, to
get this fine Unit to work as it should.....

Thanks for your help, Rob and keep inventing !!
bassmann.de Ralph

---
keep grooving
bassmann.de is offline  
post #9846 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmann.de View Post
ok Rob, thanks for this quick reply !
1) No the unit ist not in Standby Mode, in normal play mode I can't get a Picture
on my Denon!? There is only a blank grey Picture to look at.... not realy a Welcome
Screen. Ideas on that?

There are a couple of possibilities, the standard output could be set to NTSC formatted video and the receiver might be expecting PAL. There manual for the subwoofer will tell you how to switch the video type. Another possibility is that there is an issue in scaling, this happens sometimes, the solution is to try setting the HDMI output of the receiver to a fixed lower resolution temporarily. Ultimately the best solution is to use the USB output connected to a PC.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmann.de View Post
2) The On/Off/Trigger Mode is useless and contra productive for EU-Customers,
please give me an advice to deactivate the 0.5watt Module as you mentioned before .
I can manage a SolderingIon as a iT-Prof, i think. That would be a great help, to
get this fine Unit to work as it should.....

Thanks for your help, Rob and keep inventing !!
bassmann.de Ralph

PM sent

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
post #9847 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Paderborn, Germany
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Morse View Post
When the unit is in 0.5 watt standby mode, there will be no picture from the video output.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bassmann.de View Post
ok Rob, thanks for this quick reply !
1)No the unit ist not in Standby Mode, in normal play mode I can't get a Picture
on my Denon!? There is only a blank grey Picture to look at.... not realy a Welcome
Screen. Ideas on that?

Thanks for your help, Rob and keep inventing !!
bassmann.de Ralph
got your PM late, thanks.
#1 obove will be the next to work on, wount it ?

bassman.de

---
keep grooving
bassmann.de is offline  
post #9848 of 9855 Old 12-18-2014, 02:05 PM
Member
 
MN-Rabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Twin cities area Minnesota
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Questions For Rob Morse

Hi Rob!
I have a Velodyne V-1215X from the nineties. Do the numbers designate a 12" passive front facing with floor facing 15" driver? Also my Pioneer Elite only has one subwoofer out...should that be connected to the left line in only or should a splitter be used and connected to the left and right line in. Thanks so much in advance for your time and knowledge!
MN-Rabbit is offline  
post #9849 of 9855 Unread 12-19-2014, 10:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hgs-12x no workee!

I just purchased the lovely sub from a goodwill store, as even if I had to fix it, I like where the money is going. So turns out I do need to make fixee, but need to figure out if it is the amp or the speaker. I believe it is the amp, but wanted some opinions from folks with more experience .

When I turn it on. It makes a sort of higher pitched intermittent soft buzzing sound. When I hook it up to a source, the buzzing matches the music, and volume adjustment has no effect on output. If needed I'll put up an audio file of it, if that is allowed here. Can you guys suggest what to do to make sure it is the amp, and then where I can send it to get it fixed for a reasonable price?

Thanks so much in advance

Robin
Rlocksley is offline  
post #9850 of 9855 Unread 12-20-2014, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Morse View Post
I have received your email, as well as the many emails forwarded to me by all the European distributors you have contacted. I replied with a series of questions, and received your answers. Based on your answers I advised what the problem could be, assuming the issue is determined by the distributor as audible to a normal person from a meter away. The distributor claims they can hear nothing, while you claim the problem is audible 40 meters away. I have emailed both you and the distributor that Velodyne is willing to provide a replacement electronics pack at no cost and suggest we see how things go from there.
Hello.
New amplifier exhibits the same problem. Whistling is exactly the same.
Please about solutions.
gibosl is online now  
post #9851 of 9855 Unread Today, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by MN-Rabbit View Post
Hi Rob!
I have a Velodyne V-1215X from the nineties. Do the numbers designate a 12" passive front facing with floor facing 15" driver? Also my Pioneer Elite only has one subwoofer out...should that be connected to the left line in only or should a splitter be used and connected to the left and right line in. Thanks so much in advance for your time and knowledge!
The numbers designate a 12 inch forward firing driver and a 15 inch downward firing passive radiator. The subwoofer in monaural so connecting to either the left or right input is fine as the signal is summed internally. If you experience low levels, then sometimes a y-splitter will help.

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
post #9852 of 9855 Unread Today, 08:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rlocksley View Post
I just purchased the lovely sub from a goodwill store, as even if I had to fix it, I like where the money is going. So turns out I do need to make fixee, but need to figure out if it is the amp or the speaker. I believe it is the amp, but wanted some opinions from folks with more experience .

When I turn it on. It makes a sort of higher pitched intermittent soft buzzing sound. When I hook it up to a source, the buzzing matches the music, and volume adjustment has no effect on output. If needed I'll put up an audio file of it, if that is allowed here. Can you guys suggest what to do to make sure it is the amp, and then where I can send it to get it fixed for a reasonable price?

Thanks so much in advance

Robin
Buzzing sounds indicate electronics issues. Our service department can assist you with getting that repaired. Please contact them with your serial number at service@velodyne.com

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
post #9853 of 9855 Unread Today, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibosl View Post
Hello.
New amplifier exhibits the same problem. Whistling is exactly the same.
Please about solutions.
Unfortunately I will need to direct you back to the distributor. They are your local contact that are able to assist in resolving the issue. My understanding is that they have been unable to duplicate the issue either before or after we replaced the electronics. Have you looked into the possibility of an environmental cause? Perhaps taking the subwoofer to a friends and connecting it to his system to see if the issue is still present.

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
post #9854 of 9855 Unread Today, 03:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Morse View Post
Unfortunately I will need to direct you back to the distributor. They are your local contact that are able to assist in resolving the issue. My understanding is that they have been unable to duplicate the issue either before or after we replaced the electronics. Have you looked into the possibility of an environmental cause? Perhaps taking the subwoofer to a friends and connecting it to his system to see if the issue is still present.
I have been trying Subwoofer in 10 different places and distance more than 60 kilometres far and most people could hear whistling. It proves that issues is not caused in my home only. In High end Audio (that's distributor) they let me know that this is final solution and they can't (or they don't want) do anything else. During our last phone conversation they hang out and also stopped to reply my e-mails. At the moment I see only one option. I'm going to send subwoofer to expert opinion and let specialist to decide. The distributor keeps claiming: no noise from the source (but why they don't let me stay during test of subwoofer?)
My troubles lasts since buying of Subwoofer o 8th of October. I dont want to buy different product neither different brand. I only wish to have my Velodyne SPL 1000 Ultra fixed.
Many thanks for your understanding.
gibosl is online now  
post #9855 of 9855 Unread Today, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rob Morse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Morgan Hill, Ca
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibosl View Post
I have been trying Subwoofer in 10 different places and distance more than 60 kilometres far and most people could hear whistling. It proves that issues is not caused in my home only. In High end Audio (that's distributor) they let me know that this is final solution and they can't (or they don't want) do anything else. During our last phone conversation they hang out and also stopped to reply my e-mails. At the moment I see only one option. I'm going to send subwoofer to expert opinion and let specialist to decide. The distributor keeps claiming: no noise from the source (but why they don't let me stay during test of subwoofer?)
My troubles lasts since buying of Subwoofer o 8th of October. I dont want to buy different product neither different brand. I only wish to have my Velodyne SPL 1000 Ultra fixed.
Many thanks for your understanding.
I appreciate your efforts to resolve the issue you are experiencing. The reality is there is nothing that I am able to do for you on this end, unless you want to ship your subwoofer to the United States for service. Our International Distribution Agreements establish one importer for a region and they alone represent resell, distribute, and service Velodyne products as they see fit. It is my understanding that the distributor was willing to exchange the whole subwoofer for you, but your subwoofer is not in new condition, leaving component replacement the only option.


I do not know why you hear something that they do not hear, nor why the problem continues after having had the entire electronics pack replaced, as there is nothing in the driver assembly, nor the cabinet that could make such a sound. I do not recall this symptom having been brought to my attention before with this series of subwoofer.


I will speak with our International Sales Manager to have her speak with the distributor about re-establishing communication with you to work for a resolution. I will make some testing recommendations for them.

When in comes to audio there are seldom right and wrong answers.  The opinions of "experts" are just that, and should be used as a suggestion only.  Remember at the end of the day it is your money, your system, and you will need to listen to it.
Rob Morse is online now  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Velodyne Acoustics , Velodyne Impact 10 10 Subwoofer , Velodyne Wiconnect 10 Wireless Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 8 8 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 10 10 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 12 12 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 15 15 Subwoofer , Velodyne

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off