* Offical Velodyne Support Thread * - Page 351 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 42Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10501 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
Excellent.

I'm going to guess the remote is just fine.

The DD10+ is still a current model so I'm sure parts are readily available for a needed, relatively inexpensive, repair.

BTW, your sub has an "IR Input" on the rear for adding an external IR which you might even have laying about the house as often cable companies give them to you for free in case you can't place the cable box in line of sight and have to run the external IR repeater to it via a 3 foot cable.

So that is what I'd look at next.
Afraid I don't have an external IR. However, my dealer is willing to give me a loan sub in case a repair is needed. Great service....and happy to enjoy our HT after 6 weeks of outage due to Epson repair (holiday season turned out not to be the best of time).
PhenixS1970 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10502 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4340 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhenixS1970 View Post
Afraid I don't have an external IR. However, my dealer is willing to give me a loan sub in case a repair is needed. Great service....and happy to enjoy our HT after 6 weeks of outage due to Epson repair (holiday season turned out not to be the best of time).
Wow, that's great service indeed!!

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10503 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
Wow, that's great service indeed!!
Indeed Won't be a velodyne but obviously a no brainer to accept this kind offer. Also an opportunity to see how a more reasonably priced sub performs in my room...tech evolved (i bought the velo upon release for stereo. Nowadays used in the ht and my Anthem avm60 ARC2 does all room correction).
PhenixS1970 is offline  
 
post #10504 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4340 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhenixS1970 View Post
Indeed Won't be a velodyne but obviously a no brainer to accept this kind offer. Also an opportunity to see how a more reasonably priced sub performs in my room...tech evolved (i bought the velo upon release for stereo. Nowadays used in the ht and my Anthem avm60 ARC2 does all room correction).
The DD10+ is going to be might hard to beat for less than $1000.

But yeah, when my DD15 eventually gives up the ghost I'm going to buy a Rhythmik to replace it for around $1200.

Had it repaired a few months back for $675 but it was worth it as I should get another 10 years out of it, (fingers crossed).

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10505 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 10:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
The DD10+ is going to be might hard to beat for less than $1000.

But yeah, when my DD15 eventually gives up the ghost I'm going to buy a Rhythmik to replace it for around $1200.

Had it repaired a few months back for $675 but it was worth it as I should get another 10 years out of it, (fingers crossed).
As I'm in Belgium, the current list price for a dd10 plus is 4,200 Eur. Yet, I still consider it one of my best purchases lol.
PhenixS1970 is offline  
post #10506 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SnellKrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upper East Side - Manhattan
Posts: 2,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Unfortunately, I agree with you to stay away from Velodyne.

This once proud company practically "owned" the subwoofer category.

Its customer service was superb.

Today, try to find its phone number; try to have an e-mail answered; and if you find the phone number, try to get messages returned.

Velodyne is now more interested and involved in the business of working with Ford on self-driving cars!

So much for those who spent a lot of money and supported this now ghost of a company.
SnellKrell is offline  
post #10507 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4340 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhenixS1970 View Post
As I'm in Belgium, the current list price for a dd10 plus is 4,200 Eur. Yet, I still consider it one of my best purchases lol.
Went to High School at the Interenational School of Brussels.

Lived in Tervuren.

Loved Belgium.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10508 of 10524 Old 09-04-2017, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by gajCA View Post
Went to High School at the Interenational School of Brussels.

Lived in Tervuren.

Loved Belgium.
Nice to read Living in Brussels.
PhenixS1970 is offline  
post #10509 of 10524 Old 09-05-2017, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Blindamood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Blown sub?

I have a MiniVee that's been working fine for many years, but this weekend I flipped off a circuit breaker without turning off the sub first. When it came back on, it now goes very slowly between very soft and very loud, without any real Sub signal hitting it (I leave it in Auto mode). Any suggestions on how bad this might be, or if I may have fried it?

Brad
Blindamood is offline  
post #10510 of 10524 Old 09-09-2017, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
LydMekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 49
My DD-18 had a bad connection internally on the cable that goes from the IR window and ends up in a plastic plug thats plugged into the main board.
It had a a couple of wires in that plug with a bad connection. I used a small narrow flat screwdriver to push said cables better into the connector.
Easy fix. Disconnect power, screw out the amp backplate and you should see the cable in question.
Did it myself in 15 mins.

Velodyne wanted 1000,- Euro to repair...

"If everything is under control you are just not driving fast enough"

Home Theatre Heaven in Spain - V2.0 - Build thread
LydMekk is offline  
post #10511 of 10524 Old 09-10-2017, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4340 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindamood View Post
I have a MiniVee that's been working fine for many years, but this weekend I flipped off a circuit breaker without turning off the sub first. When it came back on, it now goes very slowly between very soft and very loud, without any real Sub signal hitting it (I leave it in Auto mode). Any suggestions on how bad this might be, or if I may have fried it?
Call or e'mail your nearest Veloldyne repair center and they will ask you to remove the amp and send it to them for an estimate.

The repair might be more than just buying one of these unless you must have the teeny tiny footprint.

https://www.amazon.com/JBL-Studio-55.../dp/B0071UQ8FS

Minivees seem to be around $200 or so on e'bay.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10512 of 10524 Old 09-11-2017, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dave-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 250
I ended up selling my DD10 for $600, not a bad return for an 11 year old sub. I really liked it a lot but started to get a little concerned about getting it repaired or serviced living on the east coast in Virginia if something happened to it. I just decided to cut my loses and move on.
Dave-T is offline  
post #10513 of 10524 Old 09-12-2017, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,
I have a DLS-3750R which needs a new driver (woofer cone is ripped up). Is the driver in the CT-10 or CHT-10 interchangeable?

Thanks in advance.
beanboy99 is offline  
post #10514 of 10524 Old 09-12-2017, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi, I made a separate thread on this, but was advised to ask in here.

My home theater setup was currently is using two Velodyne 12'' subs. I have an F-1200 and an FSR-12. Very similar subs, They sounded great together. I picked them up from separate Craigslist sellers a few years back. They have been working great for two years with the excepting of the FSR making a popping noise on really low notes. every once and a while.

Last week the FSR was making some weird noises and I noticed it was very hot, almost too hot to touch. I pulled the grille off and the driver was going in and out constantly, even with no signal going to it. I'm guessing the servo system is toast.

Saturday night the F-1200 popped and the green light started flashing. It was really hot also. I let it cool down and turned it back on and it was fine the rest of the night. Same thing happened on Sunday. I'm guessing this sub is on its way out also.

I was looking at new subs, SVS, Hsu, Klipsh and all the others. I am also considering a DIY sub since I'm pretty handy and it sounds fun.

I was going to build a 15'' or 18'' but I just got the idea that I can probably reuse the Velodyne boxes with new drivers and amps since aesthetically they are in mint condition.

My question is, what driver and plate amp do you guys recommended. I can easily modify the back of the boxes to fit pretty much any amp in there.

My room is 24'x12'x8' with the system on the interior 24' wall. Speakers are a pair of Klipsch KG 5.5, KV3 center and some 8'' in wall surrounds.

Thanks in advance.
qwank is offline  
post #10515 of 10524 Old 09-14-2017, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4340 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwank View Post

Thanks in advance.
I'd ask in the DIY section.

I think Rhythmik sells servo drivers and amps.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10516 of 10524 Old 09-14-2017, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4340 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by qwank View Post

Thanks in advance.
You know, there are many budget subs out today for not much money that will outperform both those old Velodynes; even those with smaller drivers have more powerful amplifiers.

PORTED SUBWOOFERS $600 AND BELOW, DELIVERED

Specs are from the manufacturer unless noted otherwise.

150watts =11w18h13d= 18 lbs 8" [28hz] $199 EMOTIVA BASX S8
200watts =14w16h16d= 34 lbs 10" [27hz] $299 EMOTIVA BASX S10
300watts =17w18h18d= 49 lbs 12" [22hz] $399 EMOTIVA BASX S12, (extension from Brent Butterworth measurement)
350watts =15w16h17d= 40 lbs 10" [30hz] $399 RSL SPEEDWOOFER 10S, (extension from Sound & Vision review)
250watts =15w19h17d= 42 lbs 10" [22hz] $433 HSU VTF 1 MK3
200 watts =16w19h17d= 52 lbs 12" [22hz] $439 HTD LEVEL THREE
300watts =15w19h20d= 46 lbs 10" [18hz] $499 SVS PB1000, (extension from Sound & Vision Review)
500watts =15w19h20d= 72 lbs 10" [20hz] $500 MONOPRICE MONOLITH THX 10" (coming soon)
300watts =16w22h21d= 69 lbs* 12" [19hz] $549 RHYTHMIK LV12R
350watts =15w21h22d= 62 lbs 12" [18hz] $604 HSU VTF2 MK5, (verified by Audioholics review)
* = shipping weight

SEALED SUBWOOFERS $650 AND BELOW, DELIVERED

300watts =18w15h15d= 50 lbs 10" [27hz] $189 JBL STUDIO 550 (short term promo price Amazon)
300watts =13w14h16d= 27 lbs 12" [23hz] $499 SVS SB1000, (extension from Sound & Vision)
300watts =14w14h16d= 58 lbs* 12" [18hz] $539 RHYTHMIK L12
500watts =14w15h17d= 35 lbs 12" [19hz] $649 SVS SB2000 outlet, (extension from Sound & Vision)
* = shipping weight
qwank likes this.

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
post #10517 of 10524 Old 09-21-2017, 08:47 AM
Newbie
 
mkerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No Power to a MiniVee

Hi there. My MiniVee suddenly stopped working. No power at all. Is there anyway to fix this? Are there parts still available?

Thanks.
mkerner is offline  
post #10518 of 10524 Old 10-04-2017, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
DD+ 12
The remote stopped working (new batteries). Receiving constant "P3" message on display.
The electronics are not damaged.
Failed firmware
Where can I download the new firmware?
Please, help
Val_Val is offline  
post #10519 of 10524 Old 10-06-2017, 06:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,
(sorry for my bad english)

Long story short, i tried to remove the back panel of my velodyne cht 10q, removed all screws (but not the "earth" one that resisted) but still the back panel didn't want to move.

Please tell me, what screws i need to remove or how to take the back out, in order to access the internals ?

Txs

And long story not short :
I had a working cht10q for few years, never pushed it hard, went to holidays so putted to back switch to "off", went back, and putted to "on" then nothing, no light.
Told myself maybe it is a fuse so lets look inside (before finding the fuse box access doesn't require to open..)
removed all screws, but still unable to move the back panel.
While removing screws, something inside started to move, if i move the sub i can head the inside moving.
Then found the fuse box, with fuse blown and with a spare one.
Tried to put back the screws, the "outside 6 pans" are ok, but the smaller inside "Phillips head" aren't, i suppose that what i hear moving in the sub is some card that was fitted correctly against the back panel but now has moved around and so these screws are "in the void".
Well still i hoped it was my lucky day, so tried the sub with the spare fuse, instant blow, and i dont know if it is due to the previous fault that made the original fuse blown or if it is because i tried with "moving card" inside that isn't well placed

thanks for any help to get me inside the beast
shaker114 is offline  
post #10520 of 10524 Old 10-17-2017, 03:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Max EQ10

Hi folks,

I have a very low usage Max Eq 10 which seemed to give out recently. I had not listened for a couple of weeks. When listening last night, I found no sound from the sub. It shows power on, and the small display shows appropriate mode and values, but simply no sound. I am not exactly the guy I'd have working on my power module. But, I'd like to come up with the appropriate schematics to provide the repair shop. I spoke to them today, and they were already trying to locate one. Can anyone suggest help? I've not tested anything yet, just knowing however that it's getting input, as I am passing through to my power amp for the main speakers, using the crossover in the Max EQ10. It has worked wonderfully up until now.

We had a power interruption this weekend to our home, and this device is unprotected. So it's possible that it was affected.
rpound43 is online now  
post #10521 of 10524 Old 10-19-2017, 06:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
drh3b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 440
Interesting article about Velodyne

Kind of explains why Velodyne as a subwoofer manufacturer isn't what it used to be.

https://www.theverge.com/2017/10/18/...hall-interview
dswierenga, gajCA and SteveC356 like this.
drh3b is offline  
post #10522 of 10524 Old 10-19-2017, 04:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Val_Val View Post
DD+ 12
The remote stopped working (new batteries). Receiving constant "P3" message on display.
The electronics are not damaged.
Failed firmware
Where can I download the new firmware?
Please, help
It is not a firmware issue.

There is a known issue that effected the DD+ sub-woofers built between 2011 and 2013. It doesn't hit every unit but when it does it causes the unit to show "P3" and the unit stops responding to the remote.

There is a capacitor on the power board that needs to be replaced with a different value. If you email Velodyne they can tell you which one and what it needs to be traded with. Just tell them the symptoms you mentioned above.
Jharvys is offline  
post #10523 of 10524 Old 10-19-2017, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaker114 View Post
Hi all,
(sorry for my bad english)

Long story short, i tried to remove the back panel of my velodyne cht 10q, removed all screws (but not the "earth" one that resisted) but still the back panel didn't want to move.

Please tell me, what screws i need to remove or how to take the back out, in order to access the internals ?

Txs

And long story not short :
I had a working cht10q for few years, never pushed it hard, went to holidays so putted to back switch to "off", went back, and putted to "on" then nothing, no light.
Told myself maybe it is a fuse so lets look inside (before finding the fuse box access doesn't require to open..)
removed all screws, but still unable to move the back panel.
While removing screws, something inside started to move, if i move the sub i can head the inside moving.
Then found the fuse box, with fuse blown and with a spare one.
Tried to put back the screws, the "outside 6 pans" are ok, but the smaller inside "Phillips head" aren't, i suppose that what i hear moving in the sub is some card that was fitted correctly against the back panel but now has moved around and so these screws are "in the void".
Well still i hoped it was my lucky day, so tried the sub with the spare fuse, instant blow, and i dont know if it is due to the previous fault that made the original fuse blown or if it is because i tried with "moving card" inside that isn't well placed

thanks for any help to get me inside the beast
It is likely that after you get the unit back together you will still have the issue the blew the fuse in the first place. Fingers crossed maybe not.

The edge screws hold the back plate on the cabinet and the center screws hold the amp circuit boards to the back plate. So if you removed the screws that are not along the edge you have most likely detached a circuit board.
Once all the edge screws are out the back plate can be removed. If it does not let go you will need a pry bar. They may have used glue to hold the back plate down. You can also use a hair dryer or if you are careful a heat gun to soften the glue and pop the back plate off.

Once off you can place the circuit boards back on the back plate and screw them back down. That will walk you back to your starting point. Whether it resolved the starting issue of a blown fuse is another matter.
Jharvys is offline  
post #10524 of 10524 Old Today, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gajCA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 9,528
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4340 Post(s)
Liked: 2793
Quote:
Originally Posted by drh3b View Post
Kind of explains why Velodyne as a subwoofer manufacturer isn't what it used to be.

https://www.theverge.com/2017/10/18/...hall-interview
Thanks for the link; it explains exactly what has happened.

For those too busy to read the article here's the nugget from your link for us Velodyne lovers.

"By the mid-‘90s, Hall had fallen out of love with the audio industry. “It became more and more about brute force, not clean sound. The direction I was taking things wasn’t really appreciated, so I thought I better get into a different business.”

Globalization also dulled the appeal. To keep prices reasonably competitive, Velodyne had moved the production of its speakers overseas. “As soon as we shipped all the manufacturing to China, that was the end of our ability to see anything we could improve on,” Hall recalls. “You go from an inventor to an importer. I realized it’s not for me as a person.”

He began spending time exploring new fields. After a brief stint in the semiconductor business, and a couple years playing with robots, Hall landed on self-driving cars, and then LIDAR."

Geoff A. J., California
gajCA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Velodyne Acoustics , Velodyne Impact 10 10 Subwoofer , Velodyne Wiconnect 10 Wireless Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 8 8 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 10 10 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 12 12 Subwoofer , Velodyne Eq Max 15 15 Subwoofer , Velodyne

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off