Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread

post #1 of 49 Old 01-12-2004, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am lookign to get a sub for under 400 dollars and have always heard good things about HSU subs. IS the HSU stf2 a good quality sub. Has anyone tried this sub and what shoudl i get for under 400 dollars. Also if I have sattelite speakers shoudl they be set to small on the receiver. How will this sub sound best since my receiver throws anythign less than 100 I beleive to the sub..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 49 Old 01-12-2004, 02:52 PM

It would be down between the Adire Audio RAVA and the HSU STF-2. I have no experience with the Rava, but I do own the HSU STF-2 and have been very suprised by what this inexpensive box is capable of. It comes highly recommended.
post #3 of 49 Old 01-12-2004, 02:57 PM

The HSU is a decent sub, but for the price I think I'd go with the Adire Rava. http://www.adireaudio.com/home_audio...eries/rava.htm

Same price, but you upgrade to a 12" driver, 250W amp, and (if it matters to you) an oak veneered cabinet. The driver used in this is the Shiva, which anyone in the DIY circle will tell you is a GREAT driver. The Rava will outperform the HSU in every way.

All those who believe in psychokinesis, raise my hand.
post #4 of 49 Old 01-12-2004, 03:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Looking at the manufacturer's specs, it seems to be very close between the Rava and STF-2. The Rava has a nicer finish, the STF-2 seems to have bit more extension.

-curtis

Owner of Wave Crest Audio
Volunteer Mod at the Ascend Acoustics Forum
Like all things on the Internet, do your research, as forums have a good amount of misinformation.
Help beat breast cancer!

post #5 of 49 Old 01-12-2004, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member

I don't want to start a "spec" war, but 250w amp and 12" driver doesn't really mean that it will "outpeform"