Wiring Gurus help, Bass Shaker & Sound Card? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-30-2004, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
skilzygw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I just received my parts express order. I received 2 bass shakers and the parts express 70W SUBWOOFER AMPLIFIER
Part Number 300-784


Ok I have the shakers in a series connected to the subwoofer outs( Red and a Black Cable)

The problem is how do I connect a SB Live 5.1 card to this amp?


The amp has
A high level input Left & Right ( which uses bare speaker wire)
A High Level output Left & Right ( which uses bare speaker wire)
A low level out ( 2 bare wires)
A low level in ( Red & White RCA Cable)


Ok so what do I do? How do I connect a SB live 5.1 to this amp?

This is the amp

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=300-784
skilzygw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-30-2004, 05:49 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You will use low-level In, connected to the .1 (sub) channel of your card. You will need appropriate connectors and adapters. Look at the sub amp manual to see if you need to use one or both Ins.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-30-2004, 07:23 PM
Member
 
mtstans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think sound cards have low level outputs? At least not a SB.
I'm doing a stereo system in my office too and I'm actually using my digital outs to go to a receiver and then a reciever to the stereo. Will full range out going into low level in hurt things?

I think what you have to do is use the analog output of your sound card. Looks like you would need a 1/8th jack y splitter into 2 rca female ends. And then from there run 2 rcas into your your line level input (red white rca plug) of your sub. And then run your speaker wire from your sub to your speakers.

However, I don't think you can do surround sound with this type of setup, because of the in put out put set up on the sub amp.

Which gets me to thinking about what setup I'm going to run on mine. Does anyone know if it's harmful to run from asound card to a amp or receiver since in fact the sound card is a small amp its self, and has power coming off of it?

I'm not an expert and prolly know the least on here, but I hope this helps get you going.


Matthew
mtstans is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-30-2004, 07:30 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Gee, Matt. If you don't know anything why did you contradict me?

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-30-2004, 07:38 PM
Member
 
mtstans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't mean to step on your toes brother. Was just expanding the information at hand, and present another question in the same ball park. Like I said I didn't think that the SB live had low level outs? I could be wrong though. I thought it only had digital out, front analog out, rear analog out, etc..
Sorry =(
mtstans is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-30-2004, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
mshe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can connect the Line Level Front/HeadPhone out to your amp. You might need to pick up a F-mod to filter out the higher frequencies... unless the amp you bought has an onboard filter.
mshe is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-30-2004, 09:58 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The SB Live does indeed have low- (aka line-) level outputs. I don't know any audio card (or on-board set) that doesn't, or to restate it, I know of only one modern audio card that has an on-board speaker amp and the SB Live ain't it.

The card has 6 analog out channels in (if I recall correctly) three stereo mini-pin sockets. One of those is for the sub. No need for filters, but he probably needs cable adapters.

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-01-2004, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
skilzygw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the rgeat replies.

The sb live has 3 outs:

A rear out. A front out. and a center/sub out that also doubles as a digital out(configured in softaware)

I have a 1/8th plug to rca adapter. When playing a movie it works great. Except for the fact that i need a line splitter so i can plug a speaker and my sub at the same time to the same card output.

Anyway for movies the card works fine when set to 5.1.


BUTTTTTTTTTTT Games when the card is set to 5.1 does not send any signal to the center/sub out on the sb live. I have only tried Medal Of Honor Allied Assault.

So what i had to do was set it to 4 channel audio and use the rear out as the sub.

I guess these older games dont support 5.1? I have yet to try half life 2 and doom III.


All in all when the shakers work they're great.
skilzygw is offline  
Closed Thread Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off