Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please don't laugh, i'm a novice...
so I've spent all my money on:
Denon AVR 2015
PSB 4T Fronts
PSB 8C Center

I have an old JVC system that I'm going to use for my surrounds and rears. What's missing? The SUB!

Since I'm out of money, I was going to purchase the $100 Dayton sub online, but the guy at the HT store said that I'd be wasting my money because the 4T's would cover the low frequencies that the Dayton would cover, so the Dayton wouldn't do anything but distort the sound.

I have a 10" JBL sub that my wife used to have in her car. I know it was designed for a car and not a HT. Is there any point to trying it out? Also, are there any potential dangers to doing this?

Any info would be much appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 12-03-2004, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Run what you have for now; save up, and purchase the matching rears/surrounds and a good sub.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oink
Mr. Cialella is, without question, the AVS honorary MOST ADMIRED PERSON OF THE YEAR.:D
post #3 of 7 Old 12-03-2004, 11:32 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by oldschool4life
Run what you have for now; save up, and purchase the matching rears/surrounds and a good sub.
The Dayton is a good sub. I own two.

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazyCarl
but the guy at the HT store said that I'd be wasting my money because the 4T's would cover the low frequencies that the Dayton would cover, so the Dayton wouldn't do anything but distort the sound.
Huh? The Dayton goes down to 25hz. How low do your fronts go? I'm sure that guy knows nothing about the Dayton.
post #4 of 7 Old 12-04-2004, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member

There are reasons for using a sub even if the mains go down as low as the sub.