wiring two recievers to one sub, possible?... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-04-2004, 09:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
slick316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a friend of mine is considering this. he has a set of klipsch satelites and a 10" sub (i think its the reference series 10"). his computer is also located in the living room (apartment). he has a set of bookshelves hooked up to a stereo reciever going to his pc sound card. he was wondering if he can have the reciever thats connected to the pc connected to the sub at the same time the sub is connected to his home theater, make sense?
he has HT reciever connected to the sub using the rca line out and was wondering if he can utilize the high level on the sub amp for the pc reciever. i'm assuming he wants to connect the reciever going to his pc to the klipsch sub high level inputs, then from the high level inputs to the speakers, or something like that. i am starting to not understand now :( simply put, if you can understand what i typed, is it possible?
slick316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-04-2004, 09:18 PM
DMF
AVS Special Member
 
DMF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 7,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose it's possible, but I wouldn't do it.

Tell him to consider cascading the PC sound card into receiver with the digital out (if the card has one).

No matter where you go. ... There you are.
DMF is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-04-2004, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SIMJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SinSin-nati
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agreed, just hook the PC up to the reciever digitally.


peace
SIMJEDI is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-05-2004, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
slick316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i dont think the receiver that he is using for the pc has a digital input, i'll have to check though.
slick316 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-05-2004, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Only do this with a switch never but never have 2 live sources on one speaker. you are looking for a possible MAJOR DISASTER!!!
RCbridge is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-05-2004, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
slick316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm sure he doesnt want that. what is a switch? like a speaker switcher? maybe it would be best if he just leaves it alone, he's adament though.
second option, a small, cheap, and i mean cheap sub that will work for his pc setup. $100 anyone?
slick316 is offline  
Closed Thread Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off