Official SVS Owners/Support Thread. - Page 771 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
 2468Likes

post #23101 of 23102 Old Today, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhale64L7 View Post
First off I am new to this thread. I sold my old sub and have been looking in all the sub threads to research my replacement. I have only owned two subs ever. An Infinity reference sub which I never liked. Bottomed out all the time. And my Mfw15 which was pretty solid for movies but just a bit slow for music. I am definitely not a bass head. I never want my bass to drown out everything else.

To the above poster. If it is under warranty I would be getting a replacement amp.

Now for my questions. I have a 2700 cubic foot dedicated home theater. Bass traps in all corners. Bass traps in my columns, and also in my soffits, all the way around. I have optimal dimensions so to have the least amount of standing waves I want a sub that has nice tight bass for music. But I also want great impact for movies.

I am leaning towards the sb13ultra. But thinking I might need two for impact with movies though. And don't want to splurge on the second.

So my question is has anybody compared all these sub's? And if so maybe give me some advice. I am open to all suggestions but remember I won't sacrifice music for movies.

Thank you in advance.

I had the SB13 for a while, and I can echo the comments above that it can be a, in comparison, a bit lacking for movies. That's nothing against the SB13, but its asking a lot for a relatively compact 13 inch sub to go against, for example, bigger 15 inch subs.