Seaton Sound SubMersive1 - Page 327 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 68Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9781 of 9785 Old Today, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
bambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Great info sandbagger - thank you! A couple questions:
  • I just did an Audyssey XT32 set up last night and don't know if I had PGM1 or PGM2 engaged. If it is currently on PGM1 (which, from your description above, sounds like where I should probably have it), I should be good to go. However, for some reason if it is on PGM2, and I want it on PGM1, can I just hit the button or do I need to do another Audyssey calibration with PGM1 engaged?
  • Also, if I do need to change it, do I turn the sub power off, change to PGM1, then power the sub back on?
Finally, after plugging in the Submersive I had a very loud hum coming from both subs. I then plugged the power cord into a "3 prong to 2 prong" adapter and it appears to have gone away. Is it OK to use this adapter plug, or should I try to determine the issue with the hum when using the power cord without the adapter?
bambam is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9782 of 9785 Old Today, 09:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 20,496
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3034 Post(s)
Liked: 2528
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Great info sandbagger - thank you! A couple questions:

I just did an Audyssey XT32 set up last night and don't know if I had PGM1 or PGM2 engaged. If it is currently on PGM1 (which, from your description above, sounds like where I should probably have it), I should be good to go. However, for some reason if it is on PGM2, and I want it on PGM1, can I just hit the button or do I need to do another Audyssey calibration with PGM1 engaged?
It depends what you are trying to achieve. Audyssey doesn't care how your Submersive is set when you do the cal, but what it will try to do is bring your frequency response in line with its inbuilt target curve as far as is possible. So if you calibrate with Pgm 2 engaged and then run Audyssey, it will try to get rid of the bass boost that Pgm 2 added. If you calibrate with Pgm 2 engaged, it will do the same, but as the bass boost is less ti begin with, it won't have to work so hard to do it.

The fun begins when you switch Pgms after running Audyssey. Some of us calibrate with Pgm 1 engaged and then, after Audyssey has done its stuff, we switch to Pgm2 on the sub. This means Audyssey doesn't try to remove the bass boost that Pgm 2 brings, so we get some nice additional bass extension.

In theory you should recalibrate with Audyssey whenever you make a change to the system setup or move speakers etc. But this little trick enables us to get even more low end grunt from the Submersives. You need to know which Pgm you were in when you calibrated. If unsure, calibrate again with the Submersive in Pgm 1. Then after calibration have a listen and see how it sounds (after running Audyssey you may want to boost the sub trim in the AVR by about 3dB too). If you want a little more extension, then switch to Pgm 2. Remember you have to switch off the Submersive before the Pgm change comes into effect when you power back on.

Also check that you have Dynamic EQ engaged - especially important if you listen at lower levels, and Dynamic Volume turned OFF.

Enjoy!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Also, if I do need to change it, do I turn the sub power off, change to PGM1, then power the sub back on?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Finally, after plugging in the Submersive I had a very loud hum coming from both subs. I then plugged the power cord into a "3 prong to 2 prong" adapter and it appears to have gone away. Is it OK to use this adapter plug, or should I try to determine the issue with the hum when using the power cord without the adapter?
Try to find out where the ground loop is getting into the system and eliminate it. Only use the adapter as a short term solution. There is a good thread on AVS for hum problems -check out the tips in there.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #9783 of 9785 Unread Today, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derrickdj1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Look up ground loop isolators on Ebay. They cost less than $10. There are more expensive ones. I use one and it completely eliminated the problem for around $6.
derrickdj1 is online now  
post #9784 of 9785 Unread Today, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tnedator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Great info sandbagger - thank you! A couple questions:

Finally, after plugging in the Submersive I had a very loud hum coming from both subs. I then plugged the power cord into a "3 prong to 2 prong" adapter and it appears to have gone away. Is it OK to use this adapter plug, or should I try to determine the issue with the hum when using the power cord without the adapter?
By using that adapter, you are removing the ground protection, which could potentially cause damage to the equipment or more importantly, you. In other words, you risk electrocution by using that plug. Is it likely? No. It takes something else to be wrong, such as something faulty in the amp, but if something was or went wrong with the amp, and you eliminated your ground protection, the result could be deadly.
Tnedator is online now  
post #9785 of 9785 Unread Today, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Seaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 6,100
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Great info sandbagger - thank you! A couple questions:
  • I just did an Audyssey XT32 set up last night and don't know if I had PGM1 or PGM2 engaged. If it is currently on PGM1 (which, from your description above, sounds like where I should probably have it), I should be good to go. However, for some reason if it is on PGM2, and I want it on PGM1, can I just hit the button or do I need to do another Audyssey calibration with PGM1 engaged?
  • Also, if I do need to change it, do I turn the sub power off, change to PGM1, then power the sub back on?
Finally, after plugging in the Submersive I had a very loud hum coming from both subs. I then plugged the power cord into a "3 prong to 2 prong" adapter and it appears to have gone away. Is it OK to use this adapter plug, or should I try to determine the issue with the hum when using the power cord without the adapter?
The preferred method is to ground the receiver/preamp and not float the ground on the amplifier. There are 2 easy methods to ground a receiver/preamp. I'll have to look if I can dig up an old post where I went into detail, but I really just need to post a few pictures of the connections.

Grounding method 1: Use the antenna input by connecting the FM antenna input on your preamp to the coaxial output connection on any surge protector. How this works: the shell of the coaxial connector in the surge protector is connected to the 3rd pin ground. When you use any coax cable to connect the 2 the preamp is grounded through the shield of the cable.

Grounding method 2: Connect the phono input ground to a ground lug on a surge protector. Many receivers/preamps have phono inputs and next to the RCA connections include a ground terminal. While this is not intended as a safety ground, it can provide a reference ground for the signal chain. Most component/shelf style surge protectors like this inexpensive unit include a brass or gold ground lug/screw on the back:


Using any flexible copper wire you can connect the phono ground to this lug/screw and this will often solve the issue. If the problem persists, try removing different inputs from the preamp one at a time, especially cable or satellite systems to identify what might be causing the interaction. Again the best practice is to first ground the receiver/preamp. Most are not grounded as it evident by their power cord only having 2 connections rather than 3. This makes it much easier/cheaper to ship all over the world, but can leave the "ground" signal floating with significant Voltage. When you connect an item that is properly grounded, it allows a path for this floating Voltage to push current through and right into the audio signal.

Mark Seaton
Seaton Sound, Inc.
"Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men's blood..." Daniel H. Burnham
Mark Seaton is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Seaton Sound , Velodyne Dd 15 Digital Drive Subwoofer 15 Inch Gloss Black , Velodyne , Speaker Systems , New Pac Sni 1 Ground Loop Signal Isolator

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off