Seaton Sound SubMersive1 - Page 336 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 205Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10051 of 10071 Old 07-16-2015, 05:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,225
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4853 Post(s)
Liked: 3541
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post
From playing WOW pod emergence scene at reference on loop at 1AM while they sleep?
Jeepers - can you hear it from there!?
kbarnes701 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10052 of 10071 Old 07-16-2015, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 5,089
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 855 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Jeepers - can you hear it from there!?
No I remember you telling one time about testing. You had looped the pod emergence scene at reference (just discovered my oppo has super easy loop feature) late at night. I remember thinking what would someone think with you standing outside with an SPL meter at 1AM lol!

For sale: Definitive Technology PM600 HTIB, Silver Ticket 92" Fixed frame Aluminum PJ Screen. PM for any interests :)
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #10053 of 10071 Old 07-16-2015, 08:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,225
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4853 Post(s)
Liked: 3541
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlpowell84 View Post
No I remember you telling one time about testing. You had looped the pod emergence scene at reference (just discovered my oppo has super easy loop feature) late at night. I remember thinking what would someone think with you standing outside with an SPL meter at 1AM lol!
Haha - that would be right after I installed the Submersives and with no calibration done. I just set the Submersives where I thought they'd "sound good" and let them rip. Almost demolished my house
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #10054 of 10071 Old 07-21-2015, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jlpowell84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 5,089
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 855 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Mark, I have one more question regarding the sound containment. It may be most cost effective to do a mini split cooling system for the room. It would be much easier to put the little outside unit on the side of the garage where the existing larger house unit sits. But this is the neighbor side. If I built everything properly and added much mass to that side of the house do you think the small return line from the outside to inside unit of the mini split system would negate the efforts to contain bass? I am guessing yes and that to put it on the other side it will just mean routing the pipe through the attic with another 30ft or so. I need to search if this is ok in respect to the theory of installation of these units.

For sale: Definitive Technology PM600 HTIB, Silver Ticket 92" Fixed frame Aluminum PJ Screen. PM for any interests :)
DIY Sound Group Volt 10 surround speaker build
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1531107/di...axial-speakers

Last edited by jlpowell84; 07-27-2015 at 10:39 PM.
jlpowell84 is offline  
post #10055 of 10071 Old 07-31-2015, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
cookiemcsnax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Mark appears to have a summer sale going on Submersives....as a longtime lurker of this thread (well, and AVS, apparently this is my first post) who's been planning to purchase one or two for a few years now, this is very tempting. Verrrry tempting indeed.

Since I have fewer than five posts I can't post links but you can find the sale easily by going to his forum and clicking the News & Announcements subforum, top thread.
Mark Seaton and sandbagger like this.
cookiemcsnax is online now  
post #10056 of 10071 Old 07-31-2015, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Seaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 6,195
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by cookiemcsnax View Post
Mark appears to have a summer sale going on Submersives....as a longtime lurker of this thread (well, and AVS, apparently this is my first post) who's been planning to purchase one or two for a few years now, this is very tempting. Verrrry tempting indeed.

Since I have fewer than five posts I can't post links but you can find the sale easily by going to his forum and clicking the News & Announcements subforum, top thread.
Thank you for choosing this thread to be your place to jump into the deeper waters of AVS with your first post.

This is definitely a good time to get a SubMersive if you have been waiting for a justification/excuse to jump off the fence. Through the duration of the sale Submersives will continue to ship out quickly after ordering. The worst I foresee might be a small gap or 2 in between scheduled deliveries and re-supplying of parts & packing making for 1-2 week lead times but currently we are shipping in 0-2 days of ordering for most finishes.
Magibeg and DaveyMac like this.

Mark Seaton
Seaton Sound, Inc.
"Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men's blood..." Daniel H. Burnham
Mark Seaton is offline  
post #10057 of 10071 Old Today, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I'm running a Marantz 8802 and a MiniDSP DDRC 88 - wondering what settings I should have the sub on when i run Dirac?

Is there a recommended default?

Display : JVC X500 Projector | SE 103" Enlightor 4k | Panasonic 65VT30 |
Sources : Oppo 103 D Multizone | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky HD | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Marantz 8802a | Genelec 8050 LCR | Monitor Audio IDC Sides & Rears | Seaton Submersive Master/Slave |
Control : Control 4 |
AidenL is online now  
post #10058 of 10071 Old Today, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
I'm running a Marantz 8802 and a MiniDSP DDRC 88 - wondering what settings I should have the sub on when i run Dirac?

Is there a recommended default?
It depends on how the ddrc is configured with respect to the output dip switches
3ll3d00d is offline  
post #10059 of 10071 Old Today, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3ll3d00d View Post
It depends on how the ddrc is configured with respect to the output dip switches
I didn't change it from default Matt.

Display : JVC X500 Projector | SE 103" Enlightor 4k | Panasonic 65VT30 |
Sources : Oppo 103 D Multizone | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky HD | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Marantz 8802a | Genelec 8050 LCR | Monitor Audio IDC Sides & Rears | Seaton Submersive Master/Slave |
Control : Control 4 |
AidenL is online now  
post #10060 of 10071 Old Today, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 683 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by AidenL View Post
I didn't change it from default Matt.
it depends on whether you're using balanced or unbalanced as well. Are you using a balanced output?

The input sensitivity of a stock speakerpower amp is +4dBV which is ~1.58Vrms. The default for the 88a for balanced is, I think, 4Vrms so therefore you need to bring it down by 20*log(4/1.58) ~= 8dB on the amp input.

NB: you probably want a submersive owner (or the manual?) to confirm what the input sensitivity really is, you can then plug that number into the calculation above to know how much you need to attenuate at the front end of the amp.
3ll3d00d is offline  
post #10061 of 10071 Old Today, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
AidenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3ll3d00d View Post
it depends on whether you're using balanced or unbalanced as well. Are you using a balanced output?

The input sensitivity of a stock speakerpower amp is +4dBV which is ~1.58Vrms. The default for the 88a for balanced is, I think, 4Vrms so therefore you need to bring it down by 20*log(4/1.58) ~= 8dB on the amp input.

NB: you probably want a submersive owner (or the manual?) to confirm what the input sensitivity really is, you can then plug that number into the calculation above to know how much you need to attenuate at the front end of the amp.
Yeah, all balanced.

I added +10 on the Marantz !

Display : JVC X500 Projector | SE 103" Enlightor 4k | Panasonic 65VT30 |
Sources : Oppo 103 D Multizone | Apple TV3 | HTPC | Sky HD | Sonos Connect | Synology 24Tb |
Audio : Marantz 8802a | Genelec 8050 LCR | Monitor Audio IDC Sides & Rears | Seaton Submersive Master/Slave |
Control : Control 4 |
AidenL is online now  
post #10062 of 10071 Unread Today, 02:30 PM
Pontifus Maximus
 
DaveyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 68
With the master/slave combo, I understand there is a cord from Master unit to provide amp power to slave. Does that same cord carry the source signal? Or do you stil supply source to each sub seperately via AVR sub output spit with Y-cable or AVR to minidsp, etc?

From those of you that own two of these, how low do they go in audible output? 15hz? 12hz ?
DaveyMac is online now  
post #10063 of 10071 Unread Today, 02:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
sandbagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
You only need power and signal to the master, then you have a speaker level output that runs from the master to the slave. that is it

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
With the master/slave combo, I understand there is a cord from Master unit to provide amp power to slave. Does that same cord carry the source signal? Or do you stil supply source to each sub seperately via AVR sub output spit with Y-cable or AVR to minidsp, etc?

From those of you that own two of these, how low do they go in audible output? 15hz? 12hz ?

Kevin
----------
Motor City Custom Audio
Bringing you Custom subwoofer kits, with flames if you want
Onix and Melody Valve Hi Fi Audio Dealer serving the Midwest and Canada
sandbagger is online now  
post #10064 of 10071 Unread Today, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
With the master/slave combo, I understand there is a cord from Master unit to provide amp power to slave. Does that same cord carry the source signal? Or do you stil supply source to each sub seperately via AVR sub output spit with Y-cable or AVR to minidsp, etc?

From those of you that own two of these, how low do they go in audible output? 15hz? 12hz ?
Only cable to the slave is the speakon cable between the master and slave.

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is online now  
post #10065 of 10071 Unread Today, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
sandbagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
In my room and with the very first prototype SubM and I know mark has tweeked things for the better since we were basicly flat to 11hz and I would not call my room the best for acoustics

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
From those of you that own two of these, how low do they go in audible output? 15hz? 12hz ?

Kevin
----------
Motor City Custom Audio
Bringing you Custom subwoofer kits, with flames if you want
Onix and Melody Valve Hi Fi Audio Dealer serving the Midwest and Canada
sandbagger is online now  
post #10066 of 10071 Unread Today, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tnedator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
With the master/slave combo, I understand there is a cord from Master unit to provide amp power to slave. Does that same cord carry the source signal? Or do you stil supply source to each sub seperately via AVR sub output spit with Y-cable or AVR to minidsp, etc?

From those of you that own two of these, how low do they go in audible output? 15hz? 12hz ?
I can't answer the second question, because other than running some tests, mine are still in a box (waiting for home theater to be finished). However, on your first question, it's one signal input on the master and that signal goes to both the master and the slave.

Best way to think about it as if instead of each being a two driver sub, it's wired like there were four drivers in the cabinet. However, they are split into two cabinets.
Tnedator is online now  
post #10067 of 10071 Unread Today, 04:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Stereodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Detroit Metro Area
Posts: 11,927
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1734 Post(s)
Liked: 1122
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
With the master/slave combo, I understand there is a cord from Master unit to provide amp power to slave. Does that same cord carry the source signal? Or do you stil supply source to each sub seperately via AVR sub output spit with Y-cable or AVR to minidsp, etc?
The slave is completely passive. It doesn't have an amplifier. There is no power or signal. The cable has the high voltage / high power output from the amplifier.
sandbagger likes this.
Stereodude is online now  
post #10068 of 10071 Unread Today, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
sandbagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Exactly what I said

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
The slave is completely passive. It doesn't have an amplifier. There is no power or signal. The cable has the high voltage / high power output from the amplifier.

Kevin
----------
Motor City Custom Audio
Bringing you Custom subwoofer kits, with flames if you want
Onix and Melody Valve Hi Fi Audio Dealer serving the Midwest and Canada
sandbagger is online now  
post #10069 of 10071 Unread Today, 05:24 PM
Pontifus Maximus
 
DaveyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTPCat View Post
Only cable to the slave is the speakon cable between the master and slave.
This concerns me because I have a sub in front right of room and a sub in rear corner. One is much closer. I currently use a minidsp 2x4, to add the delay needed to closer of the two subs. Is there a way to add delay to slave unit?
DaveyMac is online now  
post #10070 of 10071 Unread Today, 05:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
sandbagger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Detroit Rock City
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
NO

That is why its called a master slave, there is one amplifier to power both cabinets, thus only one EQ/delay/level to adjust.

I would just put them either in the same spot and stack them or put them in the front corners and you will be fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
This concerns me because I have a sub in front right of room and a sub in rear corner. One is much closer. I currently use a minidsp 2x4, to add the delay needed to closer of the two subs. Is there a way to add delay to slave unit?

Kevin
----------
Motor City Custom Audio
Bringing you Custom subwoofer kits, with flames if you want
Onix and Melody Valve Hi Fi Audio Dealer serving the Midwest and Canada
sandbagger is online now  
post #10071 of 10071 Unread Today, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyMac View Post
This concerns me because I have a sub in front right of room and a sub in rear corner. One is much closer. I currently use a minidsp 2x4, to add the delay needed to closer of the two subs. Is there a way to add delay to slave unit?
As others have said you cant add delay to these separately, they are viewed as a single sub by all equipment. A few feet difference between the 2 subs and MLP should be inaudible delay. I have had mine in many different locations some with equal distance and others with as much as 4 feet difference. Currently i have them nearfield directly behind sofa.
DaveyMac likes this.

HTPCat
"Give Me More Audio & Video Toys"

HTPCat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Seaton Sound , Velodyne Dd 15 Digital Drive Subwoofer 15 Inch Gloss Black , Velodyne , Speaker Systems , New Pac Sni 1 Ground Loop Signal Isolator

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off