Seaton Sound SubMersive1 - Page 353 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 703Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10561 of 10576 Old 06-15-2017, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,925
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6798 Post(s)
Liked: 5192
Quote:
Originally Posted by imureh View Post
Good suggestion. Is a RCA/XLR connector being used?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes - it is the adapter Mark supplies with the sub. Checks out fine with my meter.
kbarnes701 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10562 of 10576 Old 06-15-2017, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mark Seaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 6,649
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 1647
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Thanks. Have disconnected slave - no different. The amp may have failed in some way but it would be real strange because it was working fine a few days ago and has just been standing by on idle since. And the amp shows no signs of any problems when I removed it to check. It is really weird. The strangest thing seems to be that the signal light is flickering when it receives the test tone from the AVR (and goes out if I stop the test tone) which would suggest that the signal is getting to the sub just fine, but then no sound is coming from the amp. It's exactly like the gain was zeroed or the mute button was out.
Hi Keith,

I just responded to your e-mail from this morning with a few more suggestions to try, and an option for warranty service if required.
kbarnes701 likes this.

Mark Seaton
Seaton Sound, Inc.
"Make no little plans; they have no magic to stir men's blood..." Daniel H. Burnham
Mark Seaton is online now  
post #10563 of 10576 Old 06-15-2017, 10:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,925
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6798 Post(s)
Liked: 5192
Thanks to Mark for instantly replying to me via email. Mark has suggested there may be an issue with the DSP loading (or not loading). Mark is sending me a warranty replacement amp out asap. When I have received and installed it I will update the thread.

Thanks to everyone who replied and to Mark for his unrivalled customer service.

I can’t be without Submersive pleasure for long, so I will be counting the days until Fedex knock on my door

It's a strange fault to develop for sure but I am confident the replacement amp will fix it.
kbarnes701 is offline  
 
post #10564 of 10576 Old 06-16-2017, 06:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,925
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6798 Post(s)
Liked: 5192
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #10565 of 10576 Old 06-16-2017, 06:57 AM
Senior Member
 
bscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
Mark despatched my replacement amp yesterday (great same-day service - thanks Mark) and it is scheduled to get to me here in the UK by Wednesday next week.
That is crazy how stuff can just go out. I know though from messing around with computers and electronics you never know what to expect. If you think you have everything figured eventually something will throw you for a loop and make you want to pull your hair out

HTPC, Sony 40es, Marantz 7702mkii, Sunfire Cinema Grand 225w x 5, JBL 590, JBL 520

PSA XS30, Seaton Submersive, 2 Um-18 8cf sealed, Outlaw Ultra x 12, Kappa Pro 18LF, BFM Tuba 60 horn, B&C 18TBW100 6cf 41hz, 34hz, 28hz tune

iNuke 3000 & 6000 DSP's, Crowson Motion Actuator
bscool is online now  
post #10566 of 10576 Old 06-16-2017, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,925
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6798 Post(s)
Liked: 5192
Quote:
Originally Posted by bscool View Post
That is crazy how stuff can just go out. I know though from messing around with computers and electronics you never know what to expect. If you think you have everything figured eventually something will throw you for a loop and make you want to pull your hair out
Yep - all fine one day, left alone, nothing touched and dead the next day. Really strange.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #10567 of 10576 Old 06-16-2017, 04:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
imureh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Those with Submersive HP, just got duals. Have a question please. I have going to place in what I think is best location. However I would like to understand whether the PGM button should be in or out when running REW and Audyssey XT32? I was thinking of running REW with and without Audyssey but not sure about the PGM whether it should be in or out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
imureh is online now  
post #10568 of 10576 Old 06-16-2017, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
zdoggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 451
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You want to run audyssey with it pushed in (program 1) or else audyssey will try to flatten out the elevated ~3.5dB that program 2 provides below 20hz. Once you run audyssey, then you can use rew to check your response and you will see the elevated ~3.5dB below 20hz when running program 2 compared to program 1.

Refer to this posting if you want to read a bit more about the two settings.

http://www.seaton-sound-forum.com/po...-hp-f2-5999706
zdoggz is offline  
post #10569 of 10576 Old 06-16-2017, 05:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
imureh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 425 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Thanks will do.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
imureh is online now  
post #10570 of 10576 Old 06-19-2017, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,925
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6798 Post(s)
Liked: 5192
Update.


The warranty replacement amp for my F2 Master/Slave subs arrived this afternoon and I am delighted to report that I have regained my woofage!

Contacted Mark 1730 Thursday, UK time, had replacement amp in my hands 1500 today (UK time) Monday. How's that for service - thanks Mark (and Fedex).

Seems Mark's diagnosis was correct - the DSP in the amp has somehow failed. All is well again.
bscool likes this.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #10571 of 10576 Old 06-19-2017, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 8,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 221
The long international nightmare is over.
Gary J is offline  
post #10572 of 10576 Old 06-19-2017, 06:13 PM
Senior Member
 
buddhamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 404
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Congratulations Kbarnes on your amp making it back home. One of my 1000w amps just blew yesterday during a movie with a funny burning smell and now it doesn't turn on. Emailed Mark yesterday and got a very quick reply.... So we are sorting out if I can upgrade all four of my Submersive amps to the 2.4kw amps or the Hpi master/slave amps.....lol. Just waiting on Mark to get back to me now and see which way I can go. I live in Australia so I feel the same as you when you had to wait for the amp to arrive Hahaha. Love my Seatons

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk
kbarnes701 likes this.
buddhamus is online now  
post #10573 of 10576 Old Yesterday, 06:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 25,925
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6798 Post(s)
Liked: 5192
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #10574 of 10576 Old Today, 02:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I just got a used F2 locally. The seller still has 2 normal Submersive he is keeping. : )
I am using it mostly for music. I understand that each room is different, but I am curious about how others with single F2 is doing placement wise.
The room I am in is about 13.5' x 23' x 18' (w, l, h), with openings to upstairs and to back half of the house. I am using the front half of the room. The left side of the front has additional 3' x 7' square of floor space. Thus the room is not symmetry.
I sit about 9' from the front wall.
A single 12" sub placed higher up (woofer about 3' up from the ground), between front middle wall and right corner, have been working well for me. Placing the F2 at the same place (about 8' from mlp) is not optimum for me so far. I can feel the air pressure out of the F2, thus make it localized.
I will have to try more locations tonight.

For single F2 owners, where do you ended placing your sub and what crossover point do you use for music?
Thanks!

Last edited by pdxaudio; Today at 02:49 PM.
pdxaudio is online now  
post #10575 of 10576 Old Today, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
bscool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxaudio View Post
I just got a used F2 locally. The seller still has 2 normal Submersive he is keeping. : )
I am using it mostly for music. I understand that each room is different, but I am curious about how others with single F2 is doing placement wise.
The room I am in is about 13.5' x 23' x 18' (w, l, h), with openings to upstairs and to back half of the house. I am using the front half of the room. The left side of the front has additional 3' x 7' square of floor space. Thus the room is not symmetry.
I sit about 9' from the front wall.
A single 12" sub placed higher up (woofer about 3' up from the ground), between front middle wall and right corner, have been working well for me. Placing the F2 at the same place (about 8' from mlp) is not optimum for me so far. I can feel the air pressure out of the F2, thus make it localized.
I will have to try more locations tonight.

For single F2 owners, where do you ended placing your sub and what crossover point do you use for music?
Thanks!
Placement will depend on each room. I would look at crossover point first if you can localize the sub. 80hz is a good starting point. And go up or down from there. I like higher crossover points like 120hz but you will have to have things setup correctly to do that and not have localization issues.

Did you run room correction or do any distance setting? Any kind of measuring equipment? Without measuring it is a shot in the dark.

The $80 I spent for a Umik 1 was the best money I have spent on audio equipment. It shows you so much you otherwise have no way of seeing or knowing what is going on with the sound in your room.

https://www.amazon.com/miniDSP-UMIK-.../dp/B00N4Q25R8
Marc Alexander likes this.

HTPC, Sony 40es, Marantz 7702mkii, Sunfire Cinema Grand 225w x 5, JBL 590, JBL 520

PSA XS30, Seaton Submersive, 2 Um-18 8cf sealed, Outlaw Ultra x 12, Kappa Pro 18LF, BFM Tuba 60 horn, B&C 18TBW100 6cf 41hz, 34hz, 28hz tune

iNuke 3000 & 6000 DSP's, Crowson Motion Actuator
bscool is online now  
post #10576 of 10576 Old Today, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bscool View Post

Placement will depend on each room. I would look at crossover point first if you can localize the sub. 80hz is a good starting point. And go up or down from there. I like higher crossover points like 120hz but you will have to have things setup correctly to do that and not have localization issues.

Did you run room correction or do any distance setting? Any kind of measuring equipment? Without measuring it is a shot in the dark.

The $80 I spent for a Umik 1 was the best money I have spent on audio equipment. It shows you so much you otherwise have no way of seeing or knowing what is going on with the sound in your room.

https://www.amazon.com/miniDSP-UMIK-.../dp/B00N4Q25R8
Thanks! Yeah, I do have omni mic I used with REW a few years ago in a closet somewhere. I was hoping my AV receiver would helps in that regard. My crossover was at 80 Hz.

I moved the F2 to the middle of the front wall and reran the MCACC of my Pioneer SC-95. The sub now blends very well when playing bass heavy music. It is not perfect, but definitely is the best I have heard in my house. It is cleaner and hits harder than all the other smaller subs (several 12" and one 10") I got.
pdxaudio is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Seaton Sound , Velodyne Dd 15 Digital Drive Subwoofer 15 Inch Gloss Black , Velodyne , Speaker Systems , New Pac Sni 1 Ground Loop Signal Isolator



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off