SVS AS-EQ1 Thoughts... - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 6280 Old 02-21-2009, 02:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mike_WI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

If there are any, I'd bet that they're under NDA.

True.
But it would depend on what the NDA covered.
Can't hurt to ask.
Mike
Mike_WI is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 6280 Old 02-21-2009, 08:54 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_WI View Post

True.
But it would depend on what the NDA covered.

Well maybe it would cover not discussing the NDA?
Quote:


Can't hurt to ask.

That's true. Many of us on this thread are getting anxious to know more.
pepar is online now  
post #453 of 6280 Old 02-26-2009, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Does anyone know if the EQ-1 suffers from turn-on and turn-off transients like the Anti-mode 8033?
spyboy is online now  
post #454 of 6280 Old 02-26-2009, 01:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 196
What's are turn-on and Turn-off trasients?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #455 of 6280 Old 02-26-2009, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jonnyozero3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 000000N 0000000E
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

What's are turn-on and Turn-off trasients?

"thump"

- Jon
"010 Meh"
jonnyozero3 is offline  
post #456 of 6280 Old 02-26-2009, 05:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyozero3 View Post

"thump"

More like "Bang."

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #457 of 6280 Old 03-02-2009, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
gchuva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the SVS will configure the distances of two separate subs, would that then make it a worthwile accessory to the Statement D2V processor which only configures one sub? I realize it would be a pricey accessory if you already have ARC
gchuva is offline  
post #458 of 6280 Old 03-02-2009, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsoko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

More like "Bang."

The big "BANG" when turning it on got to me so I just leave it on all the time.

Bill
bsoko2 is offline  
post #459 of 6280 Old 03-02-2009, 07:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,475
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsoko2 View Post

The big "BANG" when turning it on got to me so I just leave it on all the time.

Bill

Same here.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #460 of 6280 Old 03-03-2009, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ed Mullen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post

Does anyone know if the EQ-1 suffers from turn-on and turn-off transients like the Anti-mode 8033?

The AS-EQ1 does not produce on/off transients, but typically it would be left on all the time (it consumes very little power). In the event of a power loss, the EQ memory is persistent, and it does power back-up with the EQ curve still being applied.

Ed Mullen
Director - Technology and Customer Service
SVS

"What We Do In Life, Echoes In Eternity"
Ed Mullen is offline  
post #461 of 6280 Old 03-03-2009, 04:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsula
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm interested in the AS-EQ1; I've seen a couple of comments here on use with a Mac rather than a Windows PC, but no responses.

Is it possible to run the software on a mac with a Windows emulator (i.e. Boot Camp, VM Ware, etc.) or does the computer need to be a PC?

I realize that the computer is required for setup, but not needed in regular operation.

If it matters, I'm using a Denon 3808 and an SVS PB-13 Ultra.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
My Setup
Mike25690 is offline  
post #462 of 6280 Old 03-03-2009, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
fsrenduro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike25690 View Post

I'm interested in the AS-EQ1; I've seen a couple of comments here on use with a Mac rather than a Windows PC, but no responses.

Is it possible to run the software on a mac with a Windows emulator (i.e. Boot Camp, VM Ware, etc.) or does the computer need to be a PC?

I realize that the computer is required for setup, but not needed in regular operation.

If it matters, I'm using a Denon 3808 and an SVS PB-13 Ultra.

I run Audyssey Pro on a Mac laptop with an emulator program with no problems. I don't know for sure but my guess would be that this software would work fine with an emulator.

Quote:
don't insult my intelligents
fsrenduro is offline  
post #463 of 6280 Old 03-03-2009, 09:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsula
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsrenduro View Post

I run Audyssey Pro on a Mac laptop with an emulator program with no problems. I don't know for sure but my guess would be that this software would work fine with an emulator.

Thanks for the reply; which emulator do you use? I've had Macs for years, but never used Windows or an emulator.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
My Setup
Mike25690 is offline  
post #464 of 6280 Old 03-04-2009, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsula
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm wondering if VMWare Fusion 2.0 would work well with the AS-EQ1 software on a MacBook; the price has been dropped to $50.

And, if it will work, what version of Windows to purchase? I've never used Windows before.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
My Setup
Mike25690 is offline  
post #465 of 6280 Old 03-04-2009, 08:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
fsrenduro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Others may chime in since I'm in no way a PC guy, but I would think the safest route is still XP. Just make sure you get at least Service Pack 2 install.

Quote:
don't insult my intelligents
fsrenduro is offline  
post #466 of 6280 Old 03-04-2009, 10:20 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsrenduro View Post

Others may chime in since I'm in no way a PC guy, but I would think the safest route is still XP. Just make sure you get at least Service Pack 2 install.

I would think that it *has to* be XP compatible.
pepar is online now  
post #467 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 04:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,890
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 201
I've got two subs in adjoining rooms, so would it be possible for the EQ1 to EQ each room? They're two different audio systems. I would need longer RCA cables for the second room. Any idea of UK pricing?

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is offline  
post #468 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 05:58 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbottom View Post

I've got two subs in adjoining rooms, so would it be possible for the EQ1 to EQ each room? They're two different audio systems.

No. It is for integrating two subs into one system/room.
pepar is online now  
post #469 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 06:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,890
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 201
I don't have the systems running at the same time, so perhaps SVS could add the function whilst one is active the other output is deactivated?

Two EQ1's is too expensive.

Krell Evolution 900e x 7

Bose Jewel speakers.

 

Jealous of my speakers?

fatbottom is offline  
post #470 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 09:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 196
This is not the unit to get if you need multiple memories to store settings for different rooms.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #471 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbottom View Post

I don't have the systems running at the same time, so perhaps SVS could add the function whilst one is active the other output is deactivated?

Two EQ1's is too expensive.

The EQ1 has completed beta testing. SVS is already taking pre-orders. I woudn't expect any (more) changes until the unit has been in the field for at least a good while.

Even then who know if they will be making that kind of change.

There are other changes that some people would like to see happen. For example, some people would like to see the ability to do a "house curve".

Others would like to see balanced inputs and outputs.

Neither is in the works.
spyboy is online now  
post #472 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 10:57 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
I don't care about a house curve - flat is flat - or for that matter, multiple curves. But I'd like to know more about using SubEQ with Audyssey Pro, which does provide for customizing, saving and reloading different filter sets.
pepar is online now  
post #473 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DS-21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLion View Post

Dear Ed,

I trust there will be a "superior" model with native balanced audio design (not just XLR connections via internal adapter/converter) and at least being able to handle 4 (better yet 6 to end all discussions) subwoofer locations

I don't much care about XLR vs. RCA (though I suppose I would prefer having both options, if it didn't add to much to the cost) but IMO this processor won't be really useful in a system of modern design until it can handle at least 4, and hopefully more, independent subwoofers. (Then again, if it did 3, I would buy one even though it could limit me in the future. But 2? Irrelevant to a modern system.)

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
Multichannel music (and video) urban loft living room system 
DS-21 is offline  
post #474 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 05:28 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post

I don't much care about XLR vs. RCA (though I suppose I would prefer having both options, if it didn't add to much to the cost) but IMO this processor won't be really useful in a system of modern design until it can handle at least 4, and hopefully more, independent subwoofers. (Then again, if it did 3, I would buy one even though it could limit me in the future. But 2? Irrelevant to a modern system.)

"In your humble opinion." You forgot to add that.
pepar is online now  
post #475 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 06:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DS-21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

"In your humble opinion." You forgot to add that.

Not really. I'm not humble, for one thing. And it's not my opinion so much as it is Welti's, Geddes', etc.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
Multichannel music (and video) urban loft living room system 
DS-21 is offline  
post #476 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 06:20 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post

Not really. I'm not humble, for one thing. And it's not my opinion so much as it is Welti's, Geddes', etc.

Well, Welti, Geddes et al, don't design home theater systems for less than optimally sized and shaped spaces while dealing with multi-use rooms, aesthetics, budgets and the approval of additional "deciders."

So with that in mind, my humble opinion is that your statement that only handling two subs makes the SubEQ "irrelevant to a modern system" is untrue and I think many will welcome this piece of gear.
pepar is online now  
post #477 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsula
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

. . .I think many will welcome this piece of gear.

You're right; the only problem is, it will make it that much easier for me to talk myself into getting a 2nd Ultra . . .

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
My Setup
Mike25690 is offline  
post #478 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 07:56 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Hi, my name is Mike2590 and I am an Ultrasuboholic . . .
pepar is online now  
post #479 of 6280 Old 03-09-2009, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DS-21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Well, Welti, Geddes et al, don't design home theater systems for less than optimally sized and shaped spaces while dealing with multi-use rooms, aesthetics, budgets and the approval of additional "deciders."

Of course, multi-use, suboptimally (whatever that means) shaped rooms probably benefit more from an intelligent multisub approach than "textbook" rooms. As for aesthetics, that's why one builds or commissions subwoofers to fit the room's aesthetic, rather than settling for any old off-the-peg cube.

--
"In many cases there aren’t two sides unless one side is 'reality' and the other is 'nonsense.'" - Phil Plait
Serious Audio Blog 
Multichannel music (and video) urban loft living room system 
DS-21 is offline  
post #480 of 6280 Old 03-10-2009, 05:26 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 25,096
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by DS-21 View Post

Of course, multi-use, suboptimally (whatever that means) shaped rooms probably benefit more from an intelligent multisub approach than "textbook" rooms. As for aesthetics, that's why one builds or commissions subwoofers to fit the room's aesthetic, rather than settling for any old off-the-peg cube.

By aesthetics, I was not referring to the sub's looks, but rather the room's look; many do not have room for more than one of two subs, and even then their location(s) may be dictated by the layout of the furniture and other elements.

I am one with that scenario. I have a sub (sub group actually) behind my false wall. And I can place an identical setup in the rear. I do have some lateral freedom in the rear, but am limited in that behind the false wall. So, I am one who is very much anxious for this piece to be released.

But, hey, I guess if one is commissioning a subwoofer, then they might as well commission a room big enough for four subs placed one each mid-wall on each wall.
pepar is online now  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off