SVS AS-EQ1 Thoughts... - Page 210 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2014, 12:25 PM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
When you do the gain match with the speaker & sub you should have MCACC turned off and run the sat input into your multi channel input and turn the AVR up to 0 this should then be putting out 75db to do the level matching with the sub if I remember correctly,

You the run the eq measurements & take note of trim & distance settings. save it then run MCACC measurement with it passing through the eq1 with the software at the place you mentioned. This should passthrough a signal to MCACC so it thinks the sub doesn't need to be altered, you should notice when it is pinging the speakers that you won't have sound come from the sub, if you are then it's wrong. Once MCACC is complete exit the Eq1 software unplug the mic & sat cables, go into MCACC and make your sub changes to the eq distance & trim

Then give it a go, if not enough impact you could look at upping the trim a few db

Also did you always have the sub in this location or has it been moved to the centre as part of your new setup?
matthewa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2014, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
BroncoSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Same position, but no EQ prior to installing the AE-EQ1. I called SVS and spoke at length to Doug. Me advised me to set my sub back to 75dB using the level match screen from the EQ1 interface, re-run MCACC and note the trim and distance levels from the previous settings and see how that sounds (WITHOUT the EQ assist, just over the top of the newly EQd sub). If it is still not "enough" impact bass, bump the sub 3dB and give it the movie check again. We both suspect that I had been 1) running hot on the PC13-Ultra and 2) had a peak between 40-80hz in my primary listening position that isn't there now. He also suggested to turn the filtering off and see if it "sounds" right without the EQ1.

We will see again tonight. I know what the sub is capable of and although I want even, flat response... I can't leave it alone and be satisfied short of an explosion sounding like an explosion! smile.gif
BroncoSport is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Yep sounds like good advice from Doug
matthewa is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
BroncoSport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Did as Doug suggested and ran MCACC over top the EQ1 after resetting the sub back to 0 (75dB). The distances were almost dead on the same after wards, but the trim levels on ALL channels were all raised higher by 4-5dB. I fired up the level match screen again on SUB EQ and the sub showed 0. After listening to a section of the movie, I raised the gain on the sub itself by 3 dB per Doug's recommendations. Went back the the level match screen to verify and it showed the SAT at +3.5 and the SUB A at +3.6. So, hot but level matched.

Here's where it gets real weird.... The MV level for my normal watching volume used to be about -14. Now its the same or at about -12. BUT the sub was working the room! Heavy footsteps had a distinct THUD and the explosions rumbled.

Just for curiosity sake, I turned the filter off and listed to the same scene, There is a definite crispness to the thuds with the AS-EQ1 on and the room doesn't have the very noticeable hot spots or nulls.

So although it took forever to get it right (I blame the terrible instructions) my theater is now calibrated!!! Now if I could figure out how I screwed up REW so I could snap some waterfalls from the sweeps.

BroncoSport is offline  
Old 01-14-2014, 09:57 PM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Great, glad it worked out
matthewa is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 125
I may want to sell my AS-EQ1. Any ideas on what they are selling for used? eBay is not helpful about this unit.

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2758 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 01-26-2014, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 2,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 125
My SVS AS-EQ1 is up for sale now in the Classified Forum:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1514257/svs-as-eq1-sub-equalizer-room-correction-system/0_50#post_24268499

AT&T U-Verse Northeast Ohio

Denon x4000, Carver m1.0t, Samsung LED TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, etc.
Headphone system: Sennheiser HD600, AKG K701, Burson HA-160, Marantz CD5004, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,224
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1075 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Seen a few going on UK site too, I guess more flexible than antimode and you can see what problems you have in the room? I may look out for one, useful as alternative to REW and fiddling around for hours on a computer.

Got three systems

one has anti-mode 8033 Cinema with subwoofer 2 channel PEQ
Another one has 1 channel PEQ but disabled it need to measure first
Third has no EQ of any kind

So seems good idea to buy one, plot response of all three (1st one with antimode disabled and enabled) second one see what frequency is worst use subs own EQ, then third see if anti-mode or EQ1 is worth having. Renting this or even SMS-1 good way of having a graph of sub inroom response, altered and unaltered

Pivetta Opera
Bose Jewel speakers.
fatbottom is offline  
Old 01-26-2014, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2758 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by fatbottom View Post

Seen a few going on UK site too, I guess more flexible than antimode and you can see what problems you have in the room? I may look out for one, useful as alternative to REW and fiddling around for hours on a computer.

Got three systems

one has anti-mode 8033 Cinema with subwoofer 2 channel PEQ
Another one has 1 channel PEQ but disabled it need to measure first
Third has no EQ of any kind

So seems good idea to buy one, plot response of all three (1st one with antimode disabled and enabled) second one see what frequency is worst use subs own EQ, then third see if anti-mode or EQ1 is worth having. Renting this or even SMS-1 good way of having a graph of sub inroom response, altered and unaltered

 

While the AS-EQ1 does produce what is called a "certificate", which is a set of before and after graphs, they are really not a replacement for a full-featured measurement system like REW.  For example, the "after" graph is an interpolation of what the room should sound like after the calibration--it is not an actual measurement.  And the graphs are at 1/6 smoothing, which masks issues with bass response.

 

Having said that, I have owned an AS-EQ1, and it is by far the best add-on to manage bass response, especially if you have more than one sub, and are using an AVR with Audyssey MultEQ XT.

 

And finally, I have also owned the SMS-1 as well, which was replaced by the AS-EQ1.  There is a night-and-day difference in performance in the bass region, the AS-EQ1 being the far better investment.

pbarach likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-05-2014, 03:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
richmond5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Bought a used AS-EQ1 and is using it using Oppo 105 hookup directly with poweramp. There is no way I can do a level matching with the center/ front (sat) and the two subwoofer. Will that affect the accuracy of the calibration?
richmond5 is offline  
Old 11-05-2014, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2758 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
I will not affect the accuracy of the filters created by the AS-EQ1. However, after you run the calibration, you need to balance the levels of the subs with the levels of the mains. You could do this by playing speaker level-setting test tones from the Oppo and adjusting the levels so they match (assuming the Oppo has per-channel trim adjustments).
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-05-2014, 08:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
richmond5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I will not affect the accuracy of the filters created by the AS-EQ1. However, after you run the calibration, you need to balance the levels of the subs with the levels of the mains. You could do this by playing speaker level-setting test tones from the Oppo and adjusting the levels so they match (assuming the Oppo has per-channel trim adjustments).
Thanks for the input! That exactly the reason I raised that question. After calibration, I have to max out the subwoofer trim, +10dB, on the Oppo105 to get the matching up with the rest of the system. On my SVS SB-13 Ultra, the volume is at - 4 dB!
richmond5 is offline  
Old 01-17-2015, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 2,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Wow ... I realized this thread has slowed down considerably but I hope someone will answer...


I wanted to know the advantage the 2 IN - 1 OUT over the 2 IN - 2 OUT mode? I have my subs(SVS SB13 Ultras) configured in the 2-1 configuration but I'm curious about the latter since my subs are in 2 different parts of the room. The first on is 45 degrees in the left corner. This angle generated the best/flattest bass response from that sub. The second sub is 2 ft from the right corner wall behind the couch. Those two feet is where my HT rack is located.


Who uses the 2-2 configuration and why?


Thanks,
David

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is online now  
Old 01-25-2015, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
Thomasdk1405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ! Just curious - does anyone know where the as-eq1 calibration file is stored ? In the software or built in the unit as with receivers ?
/Thomas
Thomasdk1405 is offline  
Old 01-25-2015, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,948
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2758 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Since the PC is disconnected once the calibration has completed, the calibration data must be stored in the electronics of the AS-EQ1, otherwise the unit would not work.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 03-14-2015, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
cesar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 264
So... I got an used EQ1.

I have a Yamaha 773 with YPAO. Subwoofer is a PSA XS30se

Followed the manual, step by step, and ended up with the recommended settings: distance 18.8 ft / level -1.7. Funny thing is that the subwoofer is about 7 feet away from me - which, up until today with the EQ1, YPAO always got the distance spot on!

- Issue number one: not sure how to interpret the distance (18.8ft vs ~7ft).

In order to level match the subwoofer, I had to turn down the gain (in the subwoofer) down to about 1 o'clock or so. Before, I had it at around 3 o'clock with YPAO.

- Issue number two: EQ1 is advising me to have the subwoofer level at -1.7 (which I can do either -2.0 or -1.5). However, after I run YPAO (after the EQ1 has done its thing), YPAO sets the subwoofer level at +7.5 (!), which I had never seen that high.

In either case (if I set it to -1.5 or +7.5 or the subwoofer trim), I feel like I lost a lot of thump. I played the intro to Star Trek, Pacific Rim, Tron (grid+games) and was extremely underwhelmed. It was loud as I ever watch (-10 MV), but the amount of bass in the room was severely compromised with the EQ1 handling the bass... as opposed to YPAO, which doesn't even EQ the sub. So, was I simply enjoying bloated bass or anything similar to that? As seen on the graph, I had a big peak around 25hz which, after the EQ1, is now smoother.

I'm not sure what to make of it. After a couple of hours of messing with the EQ1 (and two trips to RadioShack, since I had not checked to see if I had all the cables needed), I am very bummed out.

Anything else that I can work on? Maybe I missed something?

Thank you in advance.



Yippee-ki-yay...

Last edited by cesar123; 03-14-2015 at 02:33 PM. Reason: image uploaded
cesar123 is offline  
Old 03-14-2015, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Can't you run YPAO with the sub off in its settings and use it just for the speakers ? I would not use two EQ devices I would think.

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
Old 03-14-2015, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
cesar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Huh. Not sure if that would resolve the issues that I mentioned... but I'll give it a shot tomorrow.

Still puzzled by it, though.

Yippee-ki-yay...
cesar123 is offline  
Old 03-14-2015, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Keith Mickunas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Murphy, TX, USA
Posts: 816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 78
The distance will always be greater with the AS-EQ1 in the path. It adds delay to the signal, which is equivalent to adding distance between the sub and listening position. The distance you got is no too different from I had with the AS-EQ1.

I don't know anything about YPAO and how it tends to calibrate, but it would probably be best to bypass it for the sub if possible.
Keith Mickunas is offline  
Old 03-14-2015, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 100
And a trick to tame some nulls and or peaks in rooms is too add distance to a sub. This might be what the SVS unit is doing.

Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
Old 03-16-2015, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
cesar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quick update:

Last night I re-ran the SVS EQ1 but decided to run it "hot". Adjusted the subwoofer gain knot to around 3 o'clock, which resulted in ~8dbs above what SVS EQ was looking for. Measured around 16 positions and got: 18.8ft / -8.5db trim.

Afterwards, I ran YPAO - but disconnected the subwoofer.

Reconnected subwoofer cable, chose the "through" option on YPAO (then Flat, Natural and kept messing with whichever sounded best for me), and added the info that EQ1 told me to (18.8ft/-6.5db trim).

Here's the result:



Still not overly pleased. I mean, it certainly sounds "flatter" and I don't get any overpowering bass (there were a few instances that I thought the bass was a tad too much, prior to SVS EQ1) but I still think I'm missing some thump.

I do plan on getting another XS30se in the next few weeks, so I'll keep the SVS EQ1 - as I've heard it could be hard to integrate two subwoofers. And, maybe then, I'll get the output that I'm seeking with the smoother frequency response that I know the SVS EQ1 can provide.

I'll subscribe to this thread and read a bit more. Haven't read the whole thread, but someone is bound to have a Yamaha receiver and the EQ1.

Thanks for the help, guys.

Yippee-ki-yay...

Last edited by cesar123; 03-16-2015 at 09:15 AM. Reason: added graph
cesar123 is offline  
Old 03-16-2015, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by cesar123 View Post
Quick update:

Last night I re-ran the SVS EQ1 but decided to run it "hot". Adjusted the subwoofer gain knot to around 3 o'clock, which resulted in ~8dbs above what SVS EQ was looking for. Measured around 16 positions and got: 18.8ft / -8.5db trim.

Afterwards, I ran YPAO - but disconnected the subwoofer.

Reconnected subwoofer cable, chose the "through" option on YPAO (then Flat, Natural and kept messing with whichever sounded best for me), and added the info that EQ1 told me to (18.8ft/-6.5db trim).

Here's the result:



Still not overly pleased. I mean, it certainly sounds "flatter" and I don't get any overpowering bass (there were a few instances that I thought the bass was a tad too much, prior to SVS EQ1) but I still think I'm missing some thump.

I do plan on getting another XS30se in the next few weeks, so I'll keep the SVS EQ1 - as I've heard it could be hard to integrate two subwoofers. And, maybe then, I'll get the output that I'm seeking with the smoother frequency response that I know the SVS EQ1 can provide.

I'll subscribe to this thread and read a bit more. Haven't read the whole thread, but someone is bound to have a Yamaha receiver and the EQ1.

Thanks for the help, guys.
Have you called SVS? I bought subs from then last year this time and Also got the AS EQ1 but have not hooked it up. Ed told me when I was ready to give them a call and they would help with any issues I have.

Super nice guys and they even support legacy equpment over the phone .
nashou66 is offline  
Old 04-01-2015, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
cesar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 264
I spoke with Tom V. at PSA and he was involved with the EQ1.

Currently subwooferless, until tomorrow: dual s3000i are arriving.

I'll re-run the EQ1 and play with it. VERY exciting to see what the EQ1 can do with duals - Tom recommended me to keep the EQ1, specially if I have two subs.

Yippee-ki-yay...
cesar123 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off