***Official HSU owners/support thread!*** - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 301Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2008, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by lalakersfan34 View Post

Sounds like we're very much alike, then. Some people don't tend to notice directionality of bass, but I find it exceedingly annoying when I feel the punch of an explosion on my side or back as opposed to from the vicinity of the screen.

With respect to measuring FR manually, that's actually what I did. Here's a link to a site that has bass test tones in 1hz increments.

http://realtraps.com/test-cd.htm

I used these test tones when I measured my FR. It's funny, because my bass response was actually much flatter than I thought it would be. But anyway, test that out and let me know if it helps . Good luck!

Thanks for the link.

Doing this manually is gonna take some time...sounds like a rainy weekend project.

I have a Sonos system...so I can put those test tracks onto my NAS...and have easy access and timestamp readout available to me on the Sonos controller.
RafaelSmith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2008, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lalakersfan34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Arcadia, CA
Posts: 3,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post

Thanks for the link.

Doing this manually is gonna take some time...sounds like a rainy weekend project.

I have a Sonos system...so I can put those test tracks onto my NAS...and have easy access and timestamp readout available to me on the Sonos controller.

Sounds good . As for doing the test tones, it won't take all that long. I went from about 18hz to 90hz and it only took about 15 minutes. Though if you decide to do the entire CD it'll take awhile. Anyway, hope it helps.
lalakersfan34 is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:02 PM
Member
 
ThePlungerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lalakersfan34 View Post

ThePlungerMan,

Could you explain what exactly it is that doesn't quite make sense to you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberbri View Post

........
If your speakers produce strong enough bass to about 100Hz, it might be possible to "stack" the crossovers by engaging the one on the sub as well, filtering out sound above that xo point on a slope. This would help get rid of the more localizable frequencies if the sub is close to you. Just be sure that you don't leave a gap or hole in bass response at your listening position in the 100~200Hz or so range.

Thank you very very much. I now have a better understanding of how the slope xover settings work.
What is an example of what you said "why using a high crossover frequency, what would that be. Sorry IOW
Say i have nice front towers (i do ) that audessy set to 4oHz and my sub was set to 80, do i leave that for a higher roll off? or is that a lower roll off. For instance i hear around here to set fronts to small 80hz and set the subs LFE to 120, is that a high or low roll off?
Thanks again. I'm knowing more because of you.
ThePlungerMan is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kevin12586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post

Thanks for the link.

Doing this manually is gonna take some time...sounds like a rainy weekend project.

I have a Sonos system...so I can put those test tracks onto my NAS...and have easy access and timestamp readout available to me on the Sonos controller.


If you have a laptop with a soundcard that accepts line in you can go to hometheatershack.com and download room eq wizard for free. Once setup it can go through your entire FR in about 10 secs. Very easy to calibrate and find the best placement for your sub using it.

Good luck
Kevin12586 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,123
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin12586 View Post

If you have a laptop with a soundcard that accepts line in you can go to hometheatershack.com and download room eq wizard for free. Once setup it can go through your entire FR in about 10 secs. Very easy to calibrate and find the best placement for your sub using it.

Good luck

I have tried multiple times on 2 different computers...with a total of 4 different sound cards and have yet to be able to get REW running properly. Sometimes I think I got the soundcard cal correct..then I go to do measurements and get odd results...and I can run 4 measurements in a row and get 4 drastically different plots...getting either a "input to low", "input to high", or "impulse peak not where it should be" errors. I just do not know what my issue is but considering I get such odd and random results I do not trust the accuracy.

Which is why I am going to do this manually..hopefully get to it this weekend.
RafaelSmith is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kevin12586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 4,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post

I have tried multiple times on 2 different computers...with a total of 4 different sound cards and have yet to be able to get REW running properly. Sometimes I think I got the soundcard cal correct..then I go to do measurements and get odd results...and I can run 4 measurements in a row and get 4 drastically different plots...getting either a "input to low", "input to high", or "impulse peak not where it should be" errors. I just do not know what my issue is but considering I get such odd and random results I do not trust the accuracy.

Which is why I am going to do this manually..hopefully get to it this weekend.

Fair enough, just trying to save you some time
Kevin12586 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
zbrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it isn't too much trouble, could someone give me the dimensions of the box the VTF-2 MK3 ships in? Mine is arriving this Friday, and if I can't fit it into my car, I'm going to have make alternative transportation plans very soon.

Thanks!
zbrett is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbrett View Post

If it isn't too much trouble, could someone give me the dimensions of the box the VTF-2 MK3 ships in? Mine is arriving this Friday, and if I can't fit it into my car, I'm going to have make alternative transportation plans very soon.

Thanks!

You could just call HSU and ask them, they should be able to give you the dimensions of the box (over the phone).
spyboy is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
zbrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I emailed them yesterday and they haven't responded yet... thought someone here might have it handy before I try navigating the voice mail system. Went ahead and called. For future reference, the box is 29x19x30.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post

You could just call HSU and ask them, they should be able to give you the dimensions of the box (over the phone).

zbrett is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 04:07 PM
Member
 
lynx4ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 3.3 today. My cats no longer come out. I broke a mirror after listening to organ music. Five pictures fell off the fireplace mantel. I can hear my bass when I get the mail... at the mailbox at the end of the street. The honkey-tonk knocked me on my behind.

After one of my cats died from fright I used the sub as a defibruator. It worked but I think it cost the cat two lives.

I swore an earthquake occurred in Wisconsin during a 16hz only track. I mean geeze with no other music playing it was frighting... you can't hear 16hz!

I think my wife is going to kill me as I rattled the china hutch; probably chipped everything in it.

I'm going to call Hsu to complain....
lynx4ben is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 05:23 PM
 
BluLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lynx4ben View Post

I got my 3.3 today. My cats no longer come out. I broke a mirror after listening to organ music. Five pictures fell off the fireplace mantel. I can hear my bass when I get the mail... at the mailbox at the end of the street. The honkey-tonk knocked me on my behind.

After one of my cats died from fright I used the sub as a defibruator. It worked but I think it cost the cat two lives.

I swore an earthquake occurred in Wisconsin during a 16hz only track. I mean geeze with no other music playing it was frighting... you can't hear 16hz!

I think my wife is going to kill me as I rattled the china hutch; probably chipped everything in it.

I'm going to call Hsu to complain....

LOL
BluLover is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Matt1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BluLover View Post

LOL

+1

Best post yet.

If it sounds good, it is good. ~ Duke Ellington

"Leave the gun. Take the cannoli." ~ Peter Clemenza

Visit my site for gear and photos
Matt1966 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:44 PM
Member
 
ThePlungerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbrett View Post

If it isn't too much trouble, could someone give me the dimensions of the box the VTF-2 MK3 ships in? Mine is arriving this Friday, and if I can't fit it into my car, I'm going to have make alternative transportation plans very soon.

Thanks!

Just measured mine.
h-29
d-26.5
w-19.5
ThePlungerMan is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 01:47 PM
 
BluLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just recieved the Turbocharger, and the ports DO NOT fit snuggly. I have tried everything that I know how. Infact when I try to fit it in the port, the front ports of the Charger pop out! What the heck is up??? Is there another way of doing this? The port does not fit!
BluLover is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:38 AM
 
BluLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess it isn't supposed to fit snuggly. I got it working and per Pete_Hsu's orders, placed my sub behind my sofa. The result.....


OMG!!!

I had no idea how powerful my sub is, I feel everything now. I should have placed it near field a long time ago!
BluLover is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
zbrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePlungerMan View Post

Just measured mine.
h-29
d-26.5
w-19.5

zbrett is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
thsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blulover, I just ordered the Turbo for my 3 3. The manual does not provide a lot of specific information on mating the 2.

Anything you can share in the way of tips?

Did you add the turbo before moving it? Was there a difference. I have my 3 3 12' left corner in front of me and am pretty much stuck with that location.

Thanks,.
thsmith is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 09:51 AM
Member
 
ThePlungerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbrett View Post

Thanks!

Thanks came to late. It therefore is rejected and consequently a moot point.
JK
ThePlungerMan is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:13 PM
 
BluLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thsmith View Post

Blulover, I just ordered the Turbo for my 3 3. The manual does not provide a lot of specific information on mating the 2.

Anything you can share in the way of tips?

Did you add the turbo before moving it? Was there a difference. I have my 3 3 12' left corner in front of me and am pretty much stuck with that location.

Thanks,.

Apparently, the Turbocharger does not snap into the port like the port plug does. It however covers the port hole without being snug, aided by a piece of foam on the Turbocharger ports, which keeps air from escaping. There is also a friction pad that keeps the Turbocharger from moving.

The difference is instantly noticable, especially when I followed Pete_Hu's advice and placed the sub behind my sofa. OMG! It is truly amazing to feel the power of LFE. It would give you a backache or a back massage depending on your oppinion of it.
I was watching Man On Fire last night on Blu-ray, the movie is LFE rich, I swear that it felt like someone dropped a 3 ton truck right on the floor!
BluLover is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
thsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kewl ! I have to wait until Monday before mine arrives. Pete and the folks at HSU are absolutely a pleasure to deal with.

So I will spend the weekend running new speaker wire to the back spks. I guess 12 years ago I ran 24g wire but know better now so I am goinf to run 12g which is overkill for a 48' run but will be ok if I ever run 4 or 2 ohm spks in the future.

I do not need the tubo upgrade but figured for the cost with 30 days of the 3 3 purchase it is a nice to have.
thsmith is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post

I have tried multiple times on 2 different computers...with a total of 4 different sound cards and have yet to be able to get REW running properly. Sometimes I think I got the soundcard cal correct..then I go to do measurements and get odd results...and I can run 4 measurements in a row and get 4 drastically different plots...getting either a "input to low", "input to high", or "impulse peak not where it should be" errors. I just do not know what my issue is but considering I get such odd and random results I do not trust the accuracy.

Which is why I am going to do this manually..hopefully get to it this weekend.

Did you use the setup guide to calibrate the soundcard, SPL meter, etc.?
cyberbri is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 04:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,245
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by BluLover View Post

I just recieved the Turbocharger, and the ports DO NOT fit snuggly. I have tried everything that I know how. Infact when I try to fit it in the port, the front ports of the Charger pop out! What the heck is up??? Is there another way of doing this? The port does not fit!

Take a look at my older post last week. I asked Pete the same question and he responded with it does not have to flush with the 3.3 just as long as no air leaks.
bori is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 07:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
zbrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HehHeh... OK, I retract my thank you.

For future reference, in order to fit a VTF2.3 in a 3rd generation Acura TL, you need to remove the inner box from the outside box, and then it barely fits in the front passenger seat. Driving home in rush hour traffic was a bit of a challenge with a giant subwoofer box blocking my vision.

Since then I've only had time to hook it up and listen a little bit, and it really isn't dialed in yet, but so far it does sound sweet with my B&W 683s. Should sound even better with calibration. I'm happy I joined the HSU club.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePlungerMan View Post

Thanks came to late. It therefore is rejected and consequently a moot point.
JK

zbrett is offline  
Old 03-28-2008, 11:04 PM
Member
 
ThePlungerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbrett View Post

HehHeh... OK, I retract my thank you.

For future reference, in order to fit a VTF2.3 in a 3rd generation Acura TL, you need to remove the inner box from the outside box, and then it barely fits in the front passenger seat. Driving home in rush hour traffic was a bit of a challenge with a giant subwoofer box blocking my vision.

Since then I've only had time to hook it up and listen a little bit, and it really isn't dialed in yet, but so far it does sound sweet with my B&W 683s. Should sound even better with calibration. I'm happy I joined the HSU club.

Yeah i thought about that double box thing latter. i also thought you could take it out and with some padding get it in there and fold up the boxes.

I have the BW 683's to. I put my sub gain at 9 oclock and ran audessy with a Onkyo 705 and it hit real well. First time was 1045 with audessy and it hit to hard.
I returned that 705 and have a Dennon 988, i went at half power (per manual suggestion) and it was nice but audessy had it set to -12, the max low. Taking the 988 back and getting a 3808 denon, with that i will go at 915 and probably get somewhere around -6.
Good luck getting your system going.
ThePlungerMan is offline  
Old 03-29-2008, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
zbrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good taste.... I have a 3808 as well, but it's downstairs on my HT. Its a great receiver, you'll love it. It is very versatile, but that also means it has a steep learning curve.

I'm driving the 683s with a Cambridge Audio 540R v2 running in direct stereo mode in a 11x13 room. Nice clean amp with a ton of head room. I've cranked it quite high and never hit the point where it started clipping. Sounds even better now that all the low end is being taken care of by the HSU 2.3.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePlungerMan View Post

Yeah i thought about that double box thing latter. i also thought you could take it out and with some padding get it in there and fold up the boxes.

I have the BW 683's to. I put my sub gain at 9 oclock and ran audessy with a Onkyo 705 and it hit real well. First time was 1045 with audessy and it hit to hard.
I returned that 705 and have a Dennon 988, i went at half power (per manual suggestion) and it was nice but audessy had it set to -12, the max low. Taking the 988 back and getting a 3808 denon, with that i will go at 915 and probably get somewhere around -6.
Good luck getting your system going.

zbrett is offline  
Old 03-29-2008, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
zbrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One question... where did you set the crossover on the receiver? I'm still playing, but it seems to sound better fairly low, like 40 hz. Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePlungerMan View Post

Yeah i thought about that double box thing latter. i also thought you could take it out and with some padding get it in there and fold up the boxes.

I have the BW 683's to. I put my sub gain at 9 oclock and ran audessy with a Onkyo 705 and it hit real well. First time was 1045 with audessy and it hit to hard.
I returned that 705 and have a Dennon 988, i went at half power (per manual suggestion) and it was nice but audessy had it set to -12, the max low. Taking the 988 back and getting a 3808 denon, with that i will go at 915 and probably get somewhere around -6.
Good luck getting your system going.

zbrett is offline  
Old 03-29-2008, 10:27 AM
Member
 
ThePlungerMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbrett View Post

One question... where did you set the crossover on the receiver? I'm still playing, but it seems to sound better fairly low, like 40 hz. Thanks.

I'm really new at this.
As per audessy and suggestions here i have the LFE at 120, fronts set to small. On the Onkyo the fronts were 80Hz. I didnt dig into the 2808 yet and wont, waiting for the 3808 coming tues.
Did i answer your question?
ThePlungerMan is offline  
Old 03-29-2008, 10:29 AM
Member
 
larryis1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am on the verge of buying a HSU VTF-3 MK3 for my HT. I use my set-up about 85% HT, 15% music. The following details apply:

1. Existing speakers: Fronts: B&W 685s; Center: B&W HTM62; Surround Sides: DefTech ProMonitor 800s.
2. AVR: Onkyo 705
3. Room Size (Family Room): 14' by 16', with a 18' ceiling. Adjacent open area represents a kitchen and dining area with a 9' ceiling. Floor: Hardwood covered with a Turkish rug (60%).
4. Placement of Sub: Between two sofas aranged in a L Shape to substitute for an existing table which has a lamp on it.

With my existing set-up, will the HSU VTF-3 MK3 be in balance with the rest of my speakers, my Onkyo 705, and my room dynamics? Any problem with placing a lamp on top of it? Also, are other references in this thread to the 3.3 actually the HSU VTF-3 MK3?

Your help is invited and will be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,
Larry

P.S. Since I am in Irvine, I can easily drive over to Hsu Research in Anaheim and pick the speaker up.
larryis1 is offline  
Old 03-29-2008, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThePlungerMan View Post

Yeah i thought about that double box thing latter. i also thought you could take it out and with some padding get it in there and fold up the boxes.

I have the BW 683's to. I put my sub gain at 9 oclock and ran audessy with a Onkyo 705 and it hit real well. First time was 1045 with audessy and it hit to hard.
I returned that 705 and have a Dennon 988, i went at half power (per manual suggestion) and it was nice but audessy had it set to -12, the max low. Taking the 988 back and getting a 3808 denon, with that i will go at 915 and probably get somewhere around -6.
Good luck getting your system going.


The sub settings in the receiver and the gain on the sub are (mostly) irrelevant. It's about getting the volume level of the sub matched with the volume level of the speakers. Whether it's -12 or -6 doesn't matter one bit.
cyberbri is offline  
Old 03-29-2008, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cyberbri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 8,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by larryis1 View Post

I am on the verge of buying a HSU VTF-3 MK3 for my HT. I use my set-up about 85% HT, 15% music. The following details apply:

1. Existing speakers: Fronts: B&W 685s; Center: B&W HTM62; Surround Sides: DefTech ProMonitor 800s.
2. AVR: Onkyo 705
3. Room Size (Family Room): 14' by 16', with a 18' ceiling. Adjacent open area represents a kitchen and dining area with a 9' ceiling. Floor: Hardwood covered with a Turkish rug (60%).
4. Placement of Sub: Between two sofas aranged in a L Shape to substitute for an existing table which has a lamp on it.

With my existing set-up, will the HSU VTF-3 MK3 be in balance with the rest of my speakers, my Onkyo 705, and my room dynamics? Any problem with placing a lamp on top of it? Also, are other references in this thread to the 3.3 actually the HSU VTF-3 MK3?

Your help is invited and will be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,
Larry

P.S. Since I am in Irvine, I can easily drive over to Hsu Research in Anaheim and pick the speaker up.


I personally wouldn't put things on my sub that have the potential to rattle. If they rattle, you hear that more than the bass. A lamp might rattle, a heavy vase might not.

For placement, some people like subs near-field. Personally I'm sensitive to sound, and don't like to hear bass that's supposed to be coming from the front, from behind me or beside me (lower registers of male voices, instruments, etc.). It really bugs me, but it might not bug you. I'm a real perfectionist (have room treatments and spent lots of hours eq'ing my sub).

It can work well if your mains go pretty low at decent power and you can maybe engage the sub's crossover on top of the receiver's to filter out the higher bass (above 100Hz) from the sub, so you don't hear the more directional bass coming from there. Plus the sub is closer so there's more impact without pushing the sub quite as hard.

As always, YMMV.
cyberbri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Hsu Research , Hsu Vtf3 Mk4 , Hsu Vtf2 Mk4 , Hsu Research Hb1 Mk2 , Hsu Research Vtf 2mk3 , Hsu Research Hc 1 Mk2 , Hsu Vtf 15h Subwoofer , Hsu Research Uls 15 Subwoofer , Hsu Research Stf 1 Subwoofer 150 Watt
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off