vtf3 mk3 came today wow it's a monster (pics) - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 137 Old 05-12-2007, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kevin12586's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NY
Posts: 4,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
lvisneau, when you did your test w/out turbo, where you in max output or extension? It looks like max output, to compare apples to apples, if it was max output could you run your sub in max extension without turbo?

Thanks
Kevin12586 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 137 Old 05-13-2007, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin12586 View Post

lvisneau, when you did your test w/out turbo, where you in max output or extension? It looks like max output, to compare apples to apples, if it was max output could you run your sub in max extension without turbo?

Thanks

I was in max output.
so i did a comparison w/ turbo in max ext and w/out in max ext w/port plug. and the #'s were identical. maybe the turbo kicks in under 16 hz. but i don't have tones under 16 nor do i need under 16- do I? anyways, the turbo will be returned.

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #123 of 137 Old 05-13-2007, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xcjago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harbor City, CA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The freq response should be the same in max extension mode whether you use the turbo or not. But with turbo, it will play louder without port noise.
xcjago is offline  
post #124 of 137 Old 05-13-2007, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Megalith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like a laundry machine.
Megalith is online now  
post #125 of 137 Old 05-13-2007, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
louder at 16hz and below only?

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #126 of 137 Old 05-13-2007, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xcjago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harbor City, CA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, port noise can occur at somewhat higher frequencies as well. I would say the turbo helps at 18hz and below.
xcjago is offline  
post #127 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcjago View Post

Well, port noise can occur at somewhat higher frequencies as well. I would say the turbo helps at 18hz and below.

hmmmm, now i completely confused about keeping this thing. maybe i'll do one more test for port noise before i send it back.

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #128 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 7,089
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I expect to keep my Turbos. Adding a foot of additional dual 4 inch ports makes a difference. Sometimes I blow the port plugs out of my 'HOs, when I don't have the Turbos attached.

All the Best
spyboy is offline  
post #129 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyboy View Post

I expect to keep my Turbos. Adding a foot of additional dual 4 inch ports makes a difference. Sometimes I blow the port plugs out of my 'HOs, when I don't have the Turbos attached.

All the Best

hey spyboy, how can i get that house shakin spl and the low fr. all at once. can i use the turbo in max output mode? would that help at all. should i use the turbo and just turn it up to fill in the gap? i'm pullin out my hair here.

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #130 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Kingrsl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The turbos are only for max extension mode. You can do damage to the amp if the settings are incorrect from what I hear. I've since reconsidered and I'm keeping my turbos. All I needed was to do a little more tweaking with room placement. I don't feel i'm losing enough above 20hz for me not to use the turbo. It doesn't hurt having dual subs either.
Kingrsl is offline  
post #131 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 12:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingrsl View Post

The turbos are only for max extension mode. You can do damage to the amp if the settings are incorrect from what I hear. I've since reconsidered and I'm keeping my turbos. All I needed was to do a little more tweaking with room placement. I don't feel i'm losing enough above 20hz for me not to use the turbo. It doesn't hurt having dual subs either.

thanks for the reply king, i'm just about to put the turbo back on and try again.

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #132 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xcjago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harbor City, CA
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using the Turbo in max output mode would actually be ok. It will give you performance somewhere in between the normal max extension mode and max output.

The only time where you can damage the sub is if you put it in max extension mode with both ports open and no turbo.
xcjago is offline  
post #133 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcjago View Post

Using the Turbo in max output mode would actually be ok. It will give you performance somewhere in between the normal max extension mode and max output.

The only time where you can damage the sub is if you put it in max extension mode with both ports open and no turbo.

gonna check it right now!

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #134 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
tried it with some hard hitting movies and it seems to hit much harder w/out the turbo. maybe i'll put it in the attic for now.

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
post #135 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Kingrsl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What movies were you testing with? Most movies have the heavy bass in the 20hz and higher range. There are some movies where there are some sub 20hz effects and it's definately noticeable at my house between max extension and max output modes: Casino Royale, Pulse, Flight of the Phoenix, Pearl Harbor, Jurassic Park 3, and WOTW to name a few. It all comes down to personal preference though.
Kingrsl is offline  
post #136 of 137 Old 05-14-2007, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mathesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California
Posts: 1,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lvisneau View Post

tried it with some hard hitting movies and it seems to hit much harder w/out the turbo. maybe i'll put it in the attic for now.

Ya I have the same experience, whenever I compare movies or music there's noticeably more impact without the turbo applied, but as mentioned above some movies benefit from the turbo which is one of the reasons I bought a 2nd sub and kept the turbo.
Mathesar is offline  
post #137 of 137 Old 05-30-2007, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
lvisneau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have recently put my turbo back on for good. it seems to get a flatter response. i noticed that some frequencies were way too loud and w/turbo it was better, still room shaking but shaking at all frequencies not just 1.

My sono build

Psn Id- lvisneau or lvizzzy
Xbl- chief vizzy

lvisneau is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off