Official Epik Subwoofer Thread - Page 455 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13621 of 20368 Old 07-16-2010, 08:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
vraxoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt62 View Post

We were watching Bounty Hunter tonight and at the end of movie while music was playing we heard a loud pop?, gain on both subs was at 10:00 position. Volume was not loud at all. Was this sound one of the sub amps? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Walt

Definitely came from the subs? Are they still working? Have you played the section again to see if it happens again?
vraxoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13622 of 20368 Old 07-16-2010, 11:05 PM
Member
 
sbattosai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to admit this thread made me laugh... As a future Epik owner (I have pre-ordered the Legend) I totally understand you guys. You can ask technical questions, share some thoughts but please no personal issues here.
Anyway, I think he is gone for good
sbattosai is offline  
post #13623 of 20368 Old 07-16-2010, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Peen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I can't really read the whole thread right now, or ever lol. But I'm looking at getting the Empire but not sure if its a good idea with my current set up. It's pretty weak.

I have a Harman Kardon HK 3490 2ch receiver and some Energy RC-10's, with 100% music for now

Been researching subs since feb. But have been putting it off, the other choice is a Rythmik sub.

Will the Empire be able to blend with my ultra weak setup?
Peen is offline  
post #13624 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 01:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The empire should be able to.blend in well with pretty much anything. Just match the sub output with your main speakers and it should sound awesome.

You could also email epik. They should be able.to get back with you pretty fast and they're pretty awesome and friendly and.honest. they got me excited to get my empire and I.can't wait.
buggs1a is offline  
post #13625 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 01:43 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 276
please remember to limit your posts to technical issues: if not you will be asked to leave the thread

if you see a problematic post: please don't quote it or respond to it: report it to mods to handle

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
Link to sponsors
good to be back to vBulletin
markrubin is online now  
post #13626 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 04:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt62 View Post

We were watching Bounty Hunter tonight and at the end of movie while music was playing we heard a loud pop?, gain on both subs was at 10:00 position. Volume was not loud at all. Was this sound one of the sub amps? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Walt

When your subs shut off do they have a low volume pop? I know when mine shut down there is a low volume pop. But if for some reason they shut down and turn back on while you have your system already on there is quite a loud pop. For example if I shut down my system and the amps in the empires have not shut off yet automatically, then you power up again there is a loud pop. This has been a concern of mine. Has anyone else came across this and is this what you are refering to Walt62?? Walt also I know it's hard to discribe but how loud is the pop??

John
Bluvette is offline  
post #13627 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 04:52 AM
Senior Member
 
corey99699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed a slight "thump" from both of mine when the amps shut off,but it's not at all loud and I usually don't notice it.
corey99699 is offline  
post #13628 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by corey99699 View Post

I have noticed a slight "thump" from both of mine when the amps shut off,but it's not at all loud and I usually don't notice it.

Yes, this is what I thought was normal. The loud pop or thump, like I said I only notice if I shut down and then decide to turn back on before the subs have had a chance to power down.
Bluvette is offline  
post #13629 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 05:55 AM
Member
 
Pitbull24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW burbs of Chicago
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No peculiar noises out of my Empires at any time.
Pitbull24 is offline  
post #13630 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 05:59 AM
Senior Member
 
corey99699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never had either of mine do that,I would email or call Epik and tell them about it,doesn't sound normal to me.
corey99699 is offline  
post #13631 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Walt62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rewatched again, popped again when credits started rolling, it's loud. Sounds like its coming from left sub. I've emailed Epik. On one of my previous subs I had a similar sound, ended up needing the amp replaced. How do you know if the amp is bad? Thanks
Walt62 is offline  
post #13632 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
How much do the woofers move or how much can they move?

Can you really feel the bass on your body from the empire?

My ship eta says Tuesday 20th! I can't wait!
buggs1a is offline  
post #13633 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 02:48 PM
Member
 
HTFanboi1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Walt, I don't know if this has anything to do with the loud pop(google BITSTREAM BOMB) you experienced,but I've read about this before on other forums. For some reason it seems to happen with some older AVRs,pre/pros,Onkyo,Marantz,Yamaha,and maybe a few others that use the same processing chip? Problem has been reported when playing DTS-HD Master Audio movies, usually loudest pop occurs at the beginning of the end of movie. I want to say there is firmware that can be downloaded and installed on AVR's to fix the problem. Maybe someone else can add to this. Good luck on it, it may not have anything at all to do with the Epik amp section.
HTFanboi1200 is offline  
post #13634 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 03:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I do not get any pop or thump noise while in use, movie or music perfect. After system is shut off about 10-15 minutes later when the subs auto shut down I can hear a very low thump or pop when the sub amps shut down, they both do it not always at the exact time, but they both do it. I can't believe that both have the same problem. I will contact Chad but I feel its normal. You guys are saying your subs make no noise when they auto shut off??
Bluvette is offline  
post #13635 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 03:37 PM
Member
 
dboff01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFanboi1200 View Post

Hi Walt, I don't know if this has anything to do with the loud pop(google BITSTREAM BOMB) you experienced,but I've read about this before on other forums. For some reason it seems to happen with some older AVRs,pre/pros,Onkyo,Marantz,Yamaha,and maybe a few others that use the same processing chip? Problem has been reported when playing DTS-HD Master Audio movies, usually loudest pop occurs at the beginning of the end of movie. I want to say there is firmware that can be downloaded and installed on AVR's to fix the problem. Maybe someone else can add to this. Good luck on it, it may not have anything at all to do with the Epik amp section.

Indeed, I have experienced the loud pop with my Marantz SR7002 when allowing it to decode DTS-HD MA audio, specifically when watching CoN: Prince Caspian. The AVR does have a firmware upgrade to fix the problem but unfortunately Marantz requires a return to the factory for firmware upgrades so I haven't bothered. Using my Oppo-BD80 to perform the decoding and pass PCM (rather than bitstream) avoids the bug.

Walt, what audio track were you using at the time of the pop and do you have your BD player set to output bitstream or PCM?

Steve
dboff01 is offline  
post #13636 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 04:06 PM
Member
 
Pitbull24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NW burbs of Chicago
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not get any pops, or loud noises of any kind from either of my Empires at auto on or off.

I would definitely get Chad's input John.
Pitbull24 is offline  
post #13637 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
goonstopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ near NYC
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

How much do the woofers move or how much can they move?

Can you really feel the bass on your body from the empire?

My ship eta says Tuesday 20th! I can't wait!

Not an owner but the deep stuff will depend on your room and room gain. The actual "feel" bass is usually in the mid-bass which the empires should do well with and are designed to be best at.
goonstopher is offline  
post #13638 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pitbull24 View Post

I do not get any pops, or loud noises of any kind from either of my Empires at auto on or off.

I would definitely get Chad's input John.

I get no noise when they turn on, only when they switch off and it's a very faint. But I will call Chad Monday.

Thanks
John
Bluvette is offline  
post #13639 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buggs1a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Tukwila, WA
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
thanks goon.
Umm. How should my room be to have the best sound and deepest lowest bass from my empire?
buggs1a is offline  
post #13640 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
goonstopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NJ near NYC
Posts: 4,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs1a View Post

thanks goon.
Umm. How should my room be to have the best sound and deepest lowest bass from my empire?

Every room is different. Smaller sealed rooms tend to be best for low bass but placement is hard. You should start trying to read about subwoofer placement. There is one simple method called the Crawl test or crawl method.
goonstopher is offline  
post #13641 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 05:50 PM
Gov
AVS Special Member
 
Gov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NW Burbs of Chgo, IL
Posts: 3,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 104
I get no pops what so ever with my Phoenix and Pioneer SC-05. I have run the Phoenix very hard many times and no "pops" or fart sounds at all.
I would bet its your decoding.

Panny TC-P65VT60 (calibrated by Chad B), Denon AVR-4311, Comcast X1 DVR, Apple TV 3, Sony BDP-S5100,  Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers (mains), Horizon (CC) and HTM-200's (Surr), Dual PSA XV15 Subwoofers!!
Gov is offline  
post #13642 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsoko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I did get a pop from the sub(s) when turning off my system. I was because of having a EQ standalone powered unit (Audyssey Sub EQ) that would shut off at the same time as the sub(s). I believe that it has to do wth the class "D" amps in the sub(s). Now that I have the Sub EQ on a seperate plugin and it stays on all the time, no more "pop".

Bill
bsoko2 is online now  
post #13643 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 07:41 PM
Member
 
TheSteelPhantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't wait for the Legend to come out so I can read some reviews on it... Hopefully the intro price for the Empire is still on when the Legend comes out, so I can finally make up my damn mind. -_-
TheSteelPhantom is offline  
post #13644 of 20368 Old 07-17-2010, 09:27 PM
Member
 
darrellh44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt62 View Post

Rewatched again, popped again when credits started rolling, it's loud. Sounds like its coming from left sub. I've emailed Epik. On one of my previous subs I had a similar sound, ended up needing the amp replaced. How do you know if the amp is bad? Thanks

Walt,

If the pop problem is always repeatable on the left side, try switching the left/right cables to your subs and see if the problem stays on the left side. If it does, it's the sub and not your AVR.

Hope this helps.

-Darrell
darrellh44 is online now  
post #13645 of 20368 Old 07-18-2010, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
hom3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased an Onkyo TX-SR707 receiver and I am considering an Epik Legend to go with it. Will the Receiver's Audyssey Mult-EQ adjust the roll off on the Legend which may need adjusting from what I read on this thread, or do I need a separate Sub-EQ tool?

As a side note I am primarily interested in music, and I will probably finish my setup with two EMP-E55Ti speakers and worry about surround later.

hom3r
hom3r is offline  
post #13646 of 20368 Old 07-18-2010, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Walt62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTFanboi1200 View Post

Hi Walt, I don't know if this has anything to do with the loud pop(google BITSTREAM BOMB) you experienced,but I've read about this before on other forums. For some reason it seems to happen with some older AVRs,pre/pros,Onkyo,Marantz,Yamaha,and maybe a few others that use the same processing chip? Problem has been reported when playing DTS-HD Master Audio movies, usually loudest pop occurs at the beginning of the end of movie. I want to say there is firmware that can be downloaded and installed on AVR's to fix the problem. Maybe someone else can add to this. Good luck on it, it may not have anything at all to do with the Epik amp section.

I have an Onkyo 605, audio was DTS-HD Master. I've concluded pop is either from defective disk or Onkyo is not muting a data error properly. I'm going to see if there is a firmware update for the Onkyo. Tks for your reply!Empires are alive and kickin..
Walt62 is offline  
post #13647 of 20368 Old 07-18-2010, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Walt62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dboff01 View Post

Indeed, I have experienced the loud pop with my Marantz SR7002 when allowing it to decode DTS-HD MA audio, specifically when watching CoN: Prince Caspian. The AVR does have a firmware upgrade to fix the problem but unfortunately Marantz requires a return to the factory for firmware upgrades so I haven't bothered. Using my Oppo-BD80 to perform the decoding and pass PCM (rather than bitstream) avoids the bug.

Walt, what audio track were you using at the time of the pop and do you have your BD player set to output bitstream or PCM?

Steve

Steve,

DTS -HD Master, BD player outputs bitstream. I've watched a lot of DTS-HD movies, first time this has happened. I'm going to check for firmware update for my Onkyo 605. Thanks for your help.
Walt62 is offline  
post #13648 of 20368 Old 07-18-2010, 11:44 AM
Member
 
lwj81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt62 View Post

Steve,

I'm going to check for firmware update for my Onkyo 605. Thanks for your help.

When I entered my sn for my 605 at the Onkyo site,It told me I didn't need to update the firmware,Even though I did need the update for the bitstream bomb.The link to the updated firmware came from here in the bitstream bomb thread.The loud pop that I heard came from the speakers though.Unhook your sub,Replay the track where you hear the pop,At low volume(don't want to blow your speakers) and see if you hear the pop.If you do,You need the updated firmware.Another thing to confirm if it's indeed the BSB, Is send the audio to the avr as PCM.If It doesn't pop,It's definetly the BSB.Not all DTS-MA tracks have this problem.
lwj81 is offline  
post #13649 of 20368 Old 07-18-2010, 12:28 PM
Member
 
dboff01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt62 View Post

Steve,

DTS -HD Master, BD player outputs bitstream. I've watched a lot of DTS-HD movies, first time this has happened. I'm going to check for firmware update for my Onkyo 605. Thanks for your help.

Sure sounds like it could be the bitstream bomb.

Only certain movies have been reported to cause the problem (with specific chipset/firmware revisions in certain AVRs). I specifically remember Prince Caspian and The Golden Compass being major offenders. Before I ever experienced it, I was aware of the problem with my AVR and left my BD player in bitstream mode because I was curious to hear it firsthand. I watched many movies before Prince Caspian exhibited the sound. Since that day, I switched to PCM output and never looked back.

The sound was loud and scary (in the sense it sounded potentially damaging to speakers) and significantly louder than the set volume. Also, I was unable to simply return to the same location in the movie and have it happen again ... it seemed random. I didn't do it enough times to determine if any of the sound was from my Epik Valor but I seem to remember it being higher in frequency and coming from my mains.

Hopefully your subwoofers are fine and this is what you're experiencing.

Good Luck,

Steve
dboff01 is offline  
post #13650 of 20368 Old 07-18-2010, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TnTBigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A Epik Knight is on the Gon for sale.

You'll rarely hear anyone say, "I wish I'd gotten less Sub."

$ubwoofer$ and premium mango tree cultivar$

TnTBigman is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Subwoofers , Epik Legend Subwoofer

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off