Official Epik Subwoofer Thread - Page 559 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16741 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 02:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Does it vibrate? Or is it inert?

I am surprised about the music bit. I am coming from a sealed sub though, so that may be that my tastes are already suited to the style of sound? This one just does it all better for me.
McStyvie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16742 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
morrischestnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

I just got my Empire today...first impressions:

solidly built. Hight quality. The thing just looks sweet, and mean. The freaking delivery guy brought it up to my 2nd floor apartment all by himself as easily as if it was a book from Amzaon, respect!

It is way bigger than I expected, but I like it, my wife likes the looks of it too, but if it were much bigger, it would get the look of disapproval. As it is, it is a much tighter fit behind the chair where I usually sit

I have tested it and loved it for music. Blows my B&W sub away. I played organ music (Bach Pasacaglia in C Minor), AC/DC, Metallica, Johnny Cash, and the Brandenburg Concertos on blu-ray. It barely broke a sweat. Sounded clean and mean. Freaking sweet.

Then the wife and baby went shopping. Time for the big guns...selected scenes from:

Hulk, Die Hard 4.0, How to train your dragon, Bolt, Kung Fu Panda

I had the sub on half volume, and the receiver at -20db and it was freaking great. The sub hits hard, and deep. Almost too much for the neighbors at even that level, hehe...I don't have the means to measure it yet, but I am sure there were some sub 20hz pulses coming out of it. I haven't even run Audyssey on it yet, that is just out of the box and it sounded so sweet.

One thing I did notice is, it does vibrate on the heavy hitting scenes, like in Hulk. I saw a youtube video of a guy putting pennies on it and they didn't move at all. Is it supposed to be totally inert? Or does yours vibrate some too? Is that something I should worry about? It is not a lot, but definitely more than the guy in the youtube video.
Regards,

Cool. It is probably vibrating because your floor itself is vibrating. I had mine on a Great Gramma and there was no vibration. Also, my apt building has concrete floors. Awesome sub.

Politics is like religion. You never know who you serve.
morrischestnut60 is offline  
post #16743 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
morrischestnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

one thing with my empire is that it just doesnt sound good with music for some reason?? it might be my yamaha 665 avr or that i am not used to a sealed sub? i still need to get a spl meter and test it out.

It depends on whether you prefer the sound of sealed vs ported. How do you listen to music? What crossover do you use? I used mine in Stereo mode via Denon 1908 and Boston VR3 towers crossed at 60. It was sweet.

Politics is like religion. You never know who you serve.
morrischestnut60 is offline  
post #16744 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 03:09 PM
Senior Member
 
morrischestnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by McStyvie View Post

Does it vibrate? Or is it inert?

I am surprised about the music bit. I am coming from a sealed sub though, so that may be that my tastes are already suited to the style of sound? This one just does it all better for me.

It is inert.

Politics is like religion. You never know who you serve.
morrischestnut60 is offline  
post #16745 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 03:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i think its my avr. does anyone else have a yamaha for their avr? i am running the 665 with an emotiva xpa3 amp. i have read some reviews that the sub was pretty quiet during music.
gregdpw is offline  
post #16746 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 03:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
javygonx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
@McStyvie: So, the Empire can beat the B&W Sub on musicality and have the oomphhh you expected??!!

@gregdpw: I have a Yamaha RX471 and Denon 3311; but no Empires! I will have one soon!...
javygonx is offline  
post #16747 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

i think its my avr. does anyone else have a yamaha for their avr? i am running the 665 with an emotiva xpa3 amp. i have read some reviews that the sub was pretty quiet during music.

I had my dual empires hooked to a Yammy 863 with a XPA 2 drivin my mains. The empire is a very musical sub, what type of music are you listening to? Depending on your settings and the type of music you listen to the sub may not have a reason to hit hard. You should notice a difference in sound no matter what though.
Bluvette is offline  
post #16748 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 04:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by javygonx View Post

@McStyvie: So, the Empire can beat the B&W Sub on musicality and have the oomphhh you expected??!!

@gregdpw: I have a Yamaha RX471 and Denon 3311; but no Empires! I will have one soon!...

Glad to hear you finally pulled the trigger Congrates, keep us posted
Bluvette is offline  
post #16749 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
simon_templar_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

i think its my avr. does anyone else have a yamaha for their avr? i am running the 665 with an emotiva xpa3 amp. i have read some reviews that the sub was pretty quiet during music.

In my sealed 12.5x17x8 room, I recently put in quad Empires (used). I have one between the left and center speakers, one between the center and right speakers, and one on each side of the main LP. All have the drivers facing towards the LP. They run off a single Anti-mode 8033C that is being fed by a Yamaha 765. The phase on the front Empires is 0 and the phase on the back Empires is 180. They were set level matched, which, looking at the volume dials, actually turned out also to be gain matched. I have them EQ'd flat compared to the other speakers (2dB's down compared to the other speakers using the Radio Shack SPL meter).

I use an Emotiva XPA-5 and an Outlaw 7125 to drive the other 7 speakers (all of which have the Ohm Walsh 100-S3 drivers and are in the traditional LCR/SLR/SBLR configuration). Judging by my oft-heard demos with double bass, bass guitar, organ, and drums, it's the best music SQ I've had in my room (I have gone from one ACI Titan XL to dual ACI Titans to a Conquest to a Conquest plus dual ACI Titans).
simon_templar_32 is offline  
post #16750 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_templar_32 View Post

In my sealed 12.5x17x8 room, I recently put in quad Empires. I have one between the left and center speakers, one between the center and right speakers, and one on each side of the main LP. All have the drivers facing towards the LP. They run off a single Anti-mode 8033C that is being fed by a Yamaha 765. The phase on the front Empires is 0 and the phase on the back Empires is 180. They were set level matched, which, looking at the volume dials, actually turned out also to be gain matched. I have them EQ'd flat compared to the other speakers (2dB's down compared to the other speakers using the Radio Shack SPL meter).

I use an Emotiva XPA-5 and an Outlaw 7125 to drive the other 7 speakers (all of which have the Ohm Walsh 100-S3 drivers and are in the traditional LCR/SLR/SBLR configuration). Judging by my oft-heard demos with double bass, bass guitar, organ, and drums, it's the best music SQ I've had in my room.

That must be insane, I have dual empires in a 11X20X8 sealed and it's crazy. Love it.

John
Bluvette is offline  
post #16751 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
sdolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
2nd floor apartment, empire, boy am I glad I'm not your neighbor
sdolen is offline  
post #16752 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
simon_templar_32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by simon_templar_32 View Post

In my sealed 12.5x17x8 room, I recently put in quad Empires (used). I have one between the left and center speakers, one between the center and right speakers, and one on each side of the main LP. All have the drivers facing towards the LP. They run off a single Anti-mode 8033C that is being fed by a Yamaha 765. The phase on the front Empires is 0 and the phase on the back Empires is 180. They were set level matched, which, looking at the volume dials, actually turned out also to be gain matched. I have them EQ'd flat compared to the other speakers (2dB's down compared to the other speakers using the Radio Shack SPL meter).

I use an Emotiva XPA-5 and an Outlaw 7125 to drive the other 7 speakers (all of which have the Ohm Walsh 100-S3 drivers and are in the traditional LCR/SLR/SBLR configuration). Judging by my oft-heard demos with double bass, bass guitar, organ, and drums, it's the best music SQ I've had in my room (I have gone from one ACI Titan XL to dual ACI Titans to a Conquest to a Conquest plus dual ACI Titans).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluvette View Post

That must be insane, I have dual empires in a 11X20X8 sealed and it's crazy. Love it.

John

"Insane": I do not play HT stuff louder than 6dB's below reference, and I probably play CD-type music much lower than that, relatively speaking. The music is just tighter and cleaner--I could go into specifics. For HT stuff, the main thing I notice is overall room pressurization.
simon_templar_32 is offline  
post #16753 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
centauro74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

i think its my avr. does anyone else have a yamaha for their avr? i am running the 665 with an emotiva xpa3 amp. i have read some reviews that the sub was pretty quiet during music.

It's all in the settings, I had the 663 and I had to play around to get good sound on music, now I have a denon 3311ci and it's a different story.

centauro74 is offline  
post #16754 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 06:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
how is the denon compared to the yamaha? would it be even worth switching since i have the emotiva? thanks
gregdpw is offline  
post #16755 of 20378 Old 07-14-2011, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

how is the denon compared to the yamaha? would it be even worth switching since i have the emotiva? thanks

I have the Yammy 863 and the Denon 3311, I like them both. They both have their own sound. I prefer Audyssey over YPAO, but I prefer the Yammys EQ settings over the Denon. I think your whole problem is in your settings. I think once you get it dialed in you will be happy.
Bluvette is offline  
post #16756 of 20378 Old 07-15-2011, 12:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 75
The Empire definitely at least matches and IMO beats the littlel B&W on musicality, and well it goes WAY deeper too. What surprised me is that even at low volumes, the Empire beats the B&W. We watched a film at -30 last night (baby sleeping) and I was surprised at how awesome the bass sounded (Prince Caspian, not the best example but still). I guess I expected boomy bass from a 15" driver at low levels, but it was clean, and crisp, and still had nice thud effect even at low levels. Something to say for headroom

A big thumbs up from the wife, who was skeptical when she saw the size of it.


I have only tested it un audyssey'd and un Subduded (I make my own, might take a bit). And I was more than happy with the sub. It can only sound better I still wonder if those who have them also get vibrations.

Also, the amp was cool to the touch after slamming it with films yesterday However, the amp got warm on standby, light red, with no film or music running, after one hour oO
McStyvie is offline  
post #16757 of 20378 Old 07-15-2011, 10:56 AM
Member
 
savior sound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

one thing with my empire is that it just doesnt sound good with music for some reason??

??????

Music is where my Empire really shines!!!

I do run it at least 6db hot for most music though.
savior sound is offline  
post #16758 of 20378 Old 07-15-2011, 01:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Audyssey'd it and ran some more films through it today...I am more am more impressed with this Sub the more I hear it

Fortunately, I live in a very well built and insulated apartment, the neighbors don't complain at all, yet hehe.
McStyvie is offline  
post #16759 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Ok I just used the spl meter and the ypao set all the speakers about 4 dbs higher than 75 db. What setting do I set my radio shack spl meter for the sub? I got a 75 db reading with the response slow and weighting on A. I used weighting C for the speakers. But I don't know if I did it right? The sub seems way too loud now?
gregdpw is offline  
post #16760 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think I know why I keep hearing vibrations. The encloser itself is vibrating around the right subwoofer. It just sucks now I have to return it and wait for another one!! Geez
gregdpw is offline  
post #16761 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

Ok I just used the spl meter and the ypao set all the speakers about 4 dbs higher than 75 db. What setting do I set my radio shack spl meter for the sub? I got a 75 db reading with the response slow and weighting on A. I used weighting C for the speakers. But I don't know if I did it right? The sub seems way too loud now?

Weighting should be on C for all and set the sub to around 75db. What do you mean "The encloser itself is vibrating around the right subwoofer" the Empire enclosure is broken? Is the amp plate loose? I can't believe the enclosure is broken, those seem to be built like a tank.
Bluvette is offline  
post #16762 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
morrischestnut60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

I think I know why I keep hearing vibrations. The encloser itself is vibrating around the right subwoofer. It just sucks now I have to return it and wait for another one!! Geez

That's a first! Your persistence paid off. Sucks! Check to see if the screws around the driver need tightening. There was zero vibration on mine.

Politics is like religion. You never know who you serve.
morrischestnut60 is offline  
post #16763 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have a really hard time getting a reading on the meter when setting the sub volume on C?
gregdpw is offline  
post #16764 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jackbuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

I have a really hard time getting a reading on the meter when setting the sub volume on C?

Meter will fluctuate 2-3dbs watch it for 30 seconds and go with the average. The C weighting is the correct setting.
jackbuzz is offline  
post #16765 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

I have a really hard time getting a reading on the meter when setting the sub volume on C?

I don't know why you can't get a reading, it should read just as easy as all the other speakers. Weighting to C response to slow. Are you running your test tones to the proper reference level?? Did you find anything wrong with the Empire?? Anything loose??
Bluvette is offline  
post #16766 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsoko2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

I have a really hard time getting a reading on the meter when setting the sub volume on C?

Go here and read http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=824554. Most if not all questions can be answered here with directions.
bsoko2 is offline  
post #16767 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
McStyvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 75
By the way, no vibrations on mine...was the floor after all I checked it while watching some very heavy bass films and it is inert....phew!

I still haven't been able to run the subwoofer tests with the SPL meter, I think it might be a few weeks grr...
McStyvie is offline  
post #16768 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
gregdpw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
yeah i am just going to return it. i just like the sound of ported subs better. oh well i tried.
gregdpw is offline  
post #16769 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 04:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bluvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orland Park (South Side Chicago), Illinois
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregdpw View Post

yeah i am just going to return it. i just like the sound of ported subs better. oh well i tried.

I am sorry to hear that the Empire did not work for you. I have owned both ported and sealed and to tell you the truth I went through the same thing when I bought the dual Empires, until I got them properly setup now I love the Empires. But that does not mean someday I may tryout something else. I listen to alot of music and have found that the sealed subs do a better job. Good luck with your next purchase Keep us posted.
Bluvette is offline  
post #16770 of 20378 Old 07-17-2011, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
javygonx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can I match an Empire with a Legend? Im thinking in getting an Empire for my front stage (right front corner of my living room) and a Legend near my sofa instead of two Empires or two legends?

I said that because I decided to add an old Cerwin Vega ported sub I had. Its just 150W RMS and I put it next to me; near the sofa and it was a great difference. That sub got some distortions when playing a movie; it lacks of power and cant handle very well anything below 28 hz but I noticed the difference and some nice punchy and visceral effect. The other sub i have in my front stage is a PL200.

I did a test of keeping my PL200 at the front right corner (has a wall at back and right side) and the Cerwin Vega at the left front side of the living room ( has backwall but not walls at left side) and by just moving the Vega near my sofa ( right back corner ) makes a big difference.

We get used to see one sub at the front left and the other at the front right position, but this odd position I tried works great for me.

I assume that replacing my PL200 with an Empire and put it in the same front right corner and replacing the Vega and put the Legend would be a HUGE difference. I had plans to get the Rythmik F15HP which costs me $1200, but after this test with nice results I can get an Empire and a Legend for $1300. Who knows if Chad discounts me $100 by buying both subs together.

What do you think guys?
javygonx is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Subwoofers , Epik Legend Subwoofer

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off