Official Epik Subwoofer Thread - Page 685 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 14Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #20521 of 20542 Old 05-22-2015, 12:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Official Epik Subwoofer Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyTom83 View Post
Is a dead empire worth anything to anyone?
It's probably just a dead plate amp like everyone else. Your better off buying a Behringer iNuke amplifier and following my directions above. The cost of the Empire + Behringer is still better than the competition. (Your only $250 away from it working again).

Knowing what I know now, I would have paid the same price for the subwoofers without a built in amplifier.
Dreamliner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #20522 of 20542 Old 05-23-2015, 10:44 AM
Member
 
TommyTom83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
It's probably just a dead plate amp like everyone else. Your better off buying a Behringer iNuke amplifier and following my directions above. The cost of the Empire + Behringer is still better than the competition. (Your only $250 away from it working again).

Knowing what I know now, I would have paid the same price for the subwoofers without a built in amplifier.

Thanks, I am aware the amp is dead. I just don't want to bother with using an external amp. I am looking to see if it is worth selling this thing with a dead amp or not. I plan on buying a pair of HSU Research VTF15HMk2's. I was trying to get others opinions if I would be able to sell it or not with a dead amp and if so what is a fair price to sell it?
TommyTom83 is offline  
post #20523 of 20542 Old 05-23-2015, 11:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,269
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
I think it's like any sub that size, just a limited number of takers within a particular geographic area at a given time, especially one who would have to do what you don't want to do....as far as price I'd pay maybe $200 for something like that but you'd have to be pretty close. What area are you in? How about a friend who has the space and no sub to get them started?
lovinthehd is online now  
post #20524 of 20542 Old 05-23-2015, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyTom83 View Post
what is a fair price to sell it?
I agree. $200-250 would be a great deal to the right buyer, but it may take a while to find him. I'd just advertise here and on craigslist. Someone will eventually buy it, heck, I found a buyer for my plate amps. I have 2 Empires running on my iNuke 6000 and they are phenomenal. I don't think I'll sell them until I move and build a dedicated theater with DIY 18" subs and speakers behind the screen...even then, they might end up somewhere else. I really like them and I really really like the enclosure materials. Such a great design.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyTom83 View Post
I plan on buying a pair of HSU Research VTF15HMk2's.
Also, looks like SVS is having a sale this weekend, Dunno if you were considering them...I haven't looked at subs since buying my Empires.

If I were you, I'd buy a iNuke 6000 and shop for another Empire. Those VTF15HMk2's look nice though.

Last edited by Dreamliner; 05-23-2015 at 07:16 PM.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #20525 of 20542 Old 05-31-2015, 03:01 PM
Newbie
 
Bill Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Owners Manual

Hi, looking for owner's manual for Epik Subwoofer, actually just a copy is all I need. Just not sure which model I purchased several years ago! Single 15" driver with single large port on front of fairly large cabinet. (18" W , 26" High, 26" deep) Lost item in move and unit has been on hiatus for maybe 8 or more years. If you recognize this unit or have the manual, I'd be happy to send you $10 for a copy.


Thanks, Bill

"Tis better to be thought of as stupid than to speak up and remove all doubt"
Bill Cats is offline  
post #20526 of 20542 Old 05-31-2015, 03:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,269
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Well, the Empire didn't come with a manual....didn't know Chad put out manuals....

Ps You don't have an Empire....maybe the Conquest? Scroll thru the thread pics...

Last edited by lovinthehd; 05-31-2015 at 06:08 PM.
lovinthehd is online now  
post #20527 of 20542 Old 06-01-2015, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
Bill Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I finally found the picture of my sub - it's a Castle. So Epik never sent out any information or user manuals with their subs? That would certainly explain why I don't have one! Anybody have some info on my model? Thanks in advance.

"Tis better to be thought of as stupid than to speak up and remove all doubt"
Bill Cats is offline  
post #20528 of 20542 Old 06-01-2015, 10:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,269
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Cats View Post
Well I finally found the picture of my sub - it's a Castle. So Epik never sent out any information or user manuals with their subs? That would certainly explain why I don't have one! Anybody have some info on my model? Thanks in advance.
What info are you looking for?
lovinthehd is online now  
post #20529 of 20542 Old 06-01-2015, 11:17 AM
Newbie
 
Bill Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
General intructions. In the LFE setting, crossover is removed from signal pass and adj dial is inop? Proper use of phase control. How many watts is the amp? Do I pass the AC through my power conditioner or go straight out of the wall? etc.....thanks for assisting me.

"Tis better to be thought of as stupid than to speak up and remove all doubt"
Bill Cats is offline  
post #20530 of 20542 Old 06-02-2015, 12:13 PM
Member
 
n8dgr84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldlewis View Post
My Epik plate amp is dead, so I'm considering a Behringer iNuke 3000DSP or some other external amp. Several folks here seem to be doing this. Can someone explain how I would convert the RCA subwoofer out connection on my Onkyo Receiver to the 1/4 inch phone input into the amp? Also, are you running the amp bridged, or one side only goes into the Epik? And what DSP adjustments are you making on the iNuke? I've removed the plate amp and disconnected the speaker cable, so I'm good with running those to the amp speaker cable connections, just need help with the rest. Thanks for your help.
Consider a wireless sub (bluetooth) link like the Rocketfish.
n8dgr84 is offline  
post #20531 of 20542 Old 06-02-2015, 12:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,269
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Cats View Post
General intructions. In the LFE setting, crossover is removed from signal pass and adj dial is inop? Proper use of phase control. How many watts is the amp? Do I pass the AC through my power conditioner or go straight out of the wall? etc.....thanks for assisting me.
Hopefully someone with a Castle can confirm but if that used a similar plate amp to the Empire, the LFE input does bypass the lpf/crossover if you're using the avr for that (but you could simply turn it to max to be sure), proper use of phase control is simply trying both positions and seeing which gives you better bass but that will depend on your setup. Can't tell you specifics on the amp at all, supposedly the Empire amp originally was 600W, later replacement versions 500W. I don't use a power conditioner, don't see the need/purpose of one, some have been known to throttle amps if that's what you're thinking so maybe if you post up what unit you have over in one of the power conditioner threads you can get some info.
lovinthehd is online now  
post #20532 of 20542 Old 06-03-2015, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
Bill Cats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert AZ
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help. I'll make a go of it with that info. Awaiting all new gear to match up with my sub. Later.

"Tis better to be thought of as stupid than to speak up and remove all doubt"
Bill Cats is offline  
post #20533 of 20542 Old 06-04-2015, 02:41 PM
Member
 
TommyTom83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
I agree. $200-250 would be a great deal to the right buyer, but it may take a while to find him. I'd just advertise here and on craigslist. Someone will eventually buy it, heck, I found a buyer for my plate amps. I have 2 Empires running on my iNuke 6000 and they are phenomenal. I don't think I'll sell them until I move and build a dedicated theater with DIY 18" subs and speakers behind the screen...even then, they might end up somewhere else. I really like them and I really really like the enclosure materials. Such a great design.


Also, looks like SVS is having a sale this weekend, Dunno if you were considering them...I haven't looked at subs since buying my Empires.

If I were you, I'd buy a iNuke 6000 and shop for another Empire. Those VTF15HMk2's look nice though.
Looks like the plan has changed. Found out since last posting my wife is 13 weeks pregnant with our first child. All large purchases have been put on hold. Ha. So... If i were to buy an inuke one would assume an inuke1000dsp should be plenty? or do i need to spend the extra 80 bucks on an inuke3000dsp? Also how noisy are the fans? i currently have a antec av cooler sitting on top of my Pioneer Elite SC-37 that i barely notice when everything is turned off, comparable?
TommyTom83 is offline  
post #20534 of 20542 Old 06-05-2015, 12:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyTom83 View Post

Looks like the plan has changed. Found out since last posting my wife is 13 weeks pregnant with our first child. All large purchases have been put on hold. Ha. So... If i were to buy an inuke one would assume an inuke1000dsp should be plenty? or do i need to spend the extra 80 bucks on an inuke3000dsp? Also how noisy are the fans? i currently have a antec av cooler sitting on top of my Pioneer Elite SC-37 that i barely notice when everything is turned off, comparable?
Congrats on the kiddo! Pile up that cheddar and take care of Mama!

The iNuke fans are noisy. I wouldn't advise putting it in your theater room. (I have a rack in another room with all my theater gear).

The 1000 should be fine, much more power than the stock amp either way.

There are threads where people have replaced the fans with quieter ones with much success.

You can always buy a similar sized plate amp from Parts Express, but an actual amp is a better long term solution.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #20535 of 20542 Old 06-28-2015, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Djoel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,189
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Liked: 316
Hey guys would it be smart to buy a use Epik sub/s at this point in time?

I read here as a bad amp from the comments he can replace the actual amp plate?

What went wrong with this company, I was surprise this company went under in such short time.. Well not really important, just talking out loud.

Thanks

Djoel

My sacd collection Speaker: Ascend Tower RAAL, Horizon RAAL center, Tower NrT rears SSP: XMC-1 Amplification: XPA-5 G2 Display: Samsung PN64D7000 Source: Oppo 103, HTPC 16TB Jriver 19, Tivo Premier, Apple TV2g ,Roku 2 Power:Panamax M5300-PM
Djoel is offline  
post #20536 of 20542 Old 06-28-2015, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 93
The epik empire have the amp issue. I don't think older subs have an issue. My conquest is still going strong.
bori is offline  
post #20537 of 20542 Old 06-28-2015, 11:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,269
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
The epik empire have the amp issue. I don't think older subs have an issue. My conquest is still going strong.
Actually the Legend had more amp issues than the Empire. My Empire is still plugging along with daily use, although I did have an amp failure and was replaced by Epik while they were still in business.
@Djoel If the amp fails there are plate amp solutions but believe the boxes need modding a bit, been a while since I've reviewed, though. External amp with dsp probably just as cost effective and more useful (but would require a place in the rack and fans may need modding if noise is an issue). Epik would probably be around still had they sourced reliable amps.
Djoel likes this.
lovinthehd is online now  
post #20538 of 20542 Old 06-30-2015, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kemitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
The epik empire have the amp issue. I don't think older subs have an issue. My conquest is still going strong.
My Valor is still going strong too. Never had an issue with it and still love it!

~kyle
kemitchell is offline  
post #20539 of 20542 Unread Today, 12:18 PM
Member
 
mikesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Epik Phoenix repair?

So my Epik Phoenix subwoofer died the other day. Just will not power on. I've had it for about 5 years and wondering if it's worth saving. Are there any amps that work with this or is there an easy way to check the fuse? I tried another power cable with no luck. Bummed as I remember spending about $1200 for this thing. Thanks.
mikesc is online now  
post #20540 of 20542 Unread Today, 12:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,269
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesc View Post
So my Epik Phoenix subwoofer died the other day. Just will not power on. I've had it for about 5 years and wondering if it's worth saving. Are there any amps that work with this or is there an easy way to check the fuse? I tried another power cable with no luck. Bummed as I remember spending about $1200 for this thing. Thanks.
Lots of amps will work, but if you want a matching plate amp that might be more difficult. Unlikely the driver is bad. I'd look at an external amp personally, something like a Behringer 3000DSP or 6000DSP. If there's not a fuse obvious on the outside of the amp you might take it off and check inside as well but not familiar with your particular model, don't believe my Empire amp has an internal fuse but it doesn't have an external one....
lovinthehd is online now  
post #20541 of 20542 Unread Today, 12:39 PM
Member
 
mikesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post
Lots of amps will work, but if you want a matching plate amp that might be more difficult. Unlikely the driver is bad. I'd look at an external amp personally, something like a Behringer 3000DSP or 6000DSP. If there's not a fuse obvious on the outside of the amp you might take it off and check inside as well but not familiar with your particular model, don't believe my Empire amp has an internal fuse but it doesn't have an external one....


Ok I was going to take it in to a local electronics repair store. Once they most likely verify it's the amp, how hard is it to use the external amp with it?
mikesc is online now  
post #20542 of 20542 Unread Today, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 10,269
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 2306
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikesc View Post
Ok I was going to take it in to a local electronics repair store. Once they most likely verify it's the amp, how hard is it to use the external amp with it?
They may be able to repair the amp, too. External amp is as easy as running speaker wire from amp to driver, how you do that can vary.
lovinthehd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Subwoofers , Epik Legend Subwoofer



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off