User experiences on Velodyne SMS-1 - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 334 Old 02-06-2012, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ss9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: metro Atlanta
Posts: 8,961
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 312 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturn94 View Post

Anyone?

yes, it will do what you describe. You have 100% total control of the FR.

Using the parametric EQ: frequencies, boosts/cuts, Q values (wide or narrow/ notch)

Plus, phase angle, rolloff slopes, preset volumes, and others. You can adjust low pass Xover or turn it off when used with a AVR's own Xover (recommended).

There are 6 customizable presets. For example, when you make changes in the EQ'izer, you can apply them globally in "setup" mode or make them apply just to a specific preset. The same is true for all the other settings, including phase.

The way the GUI works is sort of DOS-like but is highly customizable.

As long as you stay with Manual mode and don't use the Auto-EQ modes, you can create various target house curves using Velodyne's Action, Jazz/Classical, Rock, Movie presets OR you can EQ them globally and set up #5 as your custom house curve. #6 is a defeat mode, bypassing EQ'er & settings.

I combined the use of the AS-EQ1 with the DD sub's built-in EQ'er (same as the SMS-1), leaving my 1-4 presets as they were pre-EQ1 and used #6 to bypass everything the Velodyne did so all I got was the AS-EQ1's adjustments. That way, I could do a/b comparisons. I could also have used the Velodyne system to create my own house curve on top of the AS-EQ1 by using preset 5. I just haven't taken the time to do that yet since I only setup the EQ1 between Xmas & New Years

If you didn't like the EQ1 because you couldn't adjust what it did, the SMS-1 will give you all that flexibility.

Both are excellent bass EQ systems, each has its own strengths & weaknesses. The main limitations with the SMS-1 are it doesn't EQ in the time domain (decay times), only 1 position, and the time it takes....I could spend several hrs tweaking it. It's not an auto-pilot device. It CAN be (auto-EQ) but not too many recommend the auto-EQ mode over manual; it's main use is for beginners just starting out.

I liked the Velodyne system a whole lot, it did a good job. My reasons for getting the EQ1 was to see if there was something even better & to see if an Audyssey approach would work better with 2 nulls above the Xover I couldn't smooth out with the Velodyne.

Steve
ss9001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 334 Old 02-06-2012, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Saturn94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by ss9001 View Post

yes, it will do what you describe. You have 100% total control of the FR.

Using the parametric EQ: frequencies, boosts/cuts, Q values (wide or narrow/ notch)

Plus, phase angle, rolloff slopes, preset volumes, and others. You can adjust low pass Xover or turn it off when used with a AVR's own Xover (recommended).

There are 6 customizable presets. For example, when you make changes in the EQ'izer, you can apply them globally in "setup" mode or make them apply just to a specific preset. The same is true for all the other settings, including phase.

The way the GUI works is sort of DOS-like but is highly customizable.

As long as you stay with Manual mode and don't use the Auto-EQ modes, you can create various target house curves using Velodyne's Action, Jazz/Classical, Rock, Movie presets OR you can EQ them globally and set up #5 as your custom house curve. #6 is a defeat mode, bypassing EQ'er & settings.

I combined the use of the AS-EQ1 with the DD sub's built-in EQ'er (same as the SMS-1), leaving my 1-4 presets as they were pre-EQ1 and used #6 to bypass everything the Velodyne did so all I got was the AS-EQ1's adjustments. That way, I could do a/b comparisons. I could also have used the Velodyne system to create my own house curve on top of the AS-EQ1 by using preset 5. I just haven't taken the time to do that yet since I only setup the EQ1 between Xmas & New Years

If you didn't like the EQ1 because you couldn't adjust what it did, the SMS-1 will give you all that flexibility.

Both are excellent bass EQ systems, each has its own strengths & weaknesses. The main limitations with the SMS-1 are it doesn't EQ in the time domain (decay times), only 1 position, and the time it takes....I could spend several hrs tweaking it. It's not an auto-pilot device. It CAN be (auto-EQ) but not too many recommend the auto-EQ mode over manual; it's main use is for beginners just starting out.

I liked the Velodyne system a whole lot, it did a good job. My reasons for getting the EQ1 was to see if there was something even better & to see if an Audyssey approach would work better with 2 nulls above the Xover I couldn't smooth out with the Velodyne.

Thanks for the great information.

In your opinion, does my "before" measurement in my ealier post look like a "house curve" (ie - gentle curve upward as frequency decreases)? Or does it look like there are significant improvements that the SMS-1 bring to that curve (enough to justify spending $350?)? If it matters, I let my processor (Anthem AVM20) handle crossover duties; low pass filter is set to 80Hz.

Thank you again for your information and help.

Saturn94 is offline  
post #333 of 334 Old 10-21-2015, 07:19 PM
Nobody Special Member
 
BamaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Northern Gulf Coast
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Anyone used the SMS-1 to provide input to Buttkicker amplifiers? I need to power two BKA 1000-4 amps!


Thanks,


David
BamaDave is offline  
post #334 of 334 Old 06-02-2016, 06:14 AM
Member
 
EricE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 170
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJHUB View Post
I ran into a strange problem yesterday with my new SMS-1. I'm using it to EQ a SubMersive HP and after being a Behringer Feedback Destroyer owner, the SMS-1 is a really nice piece. It's much more than I ever thought. Plus I was able to get one at the $350.00 price right before they went back up.

Anyway, I was EQ'ing my sub, and I started to hear a low rumbling noise coming from my sub. It was not volume controlled by any piece of gear and was there no matter what I did. The only thing that made it stop with the sub still powered on was when I powered the SMS-1 off.

I've had the SMS-1 for over a week now and this rumbling noise started last night. I was absolutely sure of it. The noise is loud enough to clearly hear at my listening position 13' away.

So I decided to investigate the issue after work today. For once, I was smart about things and decided to write down all of my current settings and backtrack through the changes I made yesterday when the noise started. So the very first thing I try is the issue. THANK GOODNESS!!!!

The last thing I did yesterday was I decided to run a subsonic filter of 15Hz with a slope of -36db (I was just playing around). So the first thing I undid tonight was the slope of the subsonic filter. Every time I changed the number, the sub made a noise like it was getting feedback from each change. When I got -12db, the noise stopped. I went back to -18db and the rumbling noise came back. So I set it to -12db and saved the changes. When the SMS-1 came back on after the save, the noise started again, but now it was intermittent. So I went back in and changed the number to -6db and the sound is gone, even after the save.

I even went back in and tried the larger numbers again and the issue is very consistent. -6 is no noise, -12 is intermittent noise, and anything larger is constant noise.

Can anyone see if this issue exists with their SMS-1? Anyone ever experienced this? I'm going to call support tomorrow, but I'm curious if more than just my SMS-1 has this "issue".

Thanks.
Even though this post was from 2010 I've got to thank TJHUB for finding out the source of the infamous SMS low level "gurgle". I've been struggling with this for months now trying to find the source and I always thought it was something to do with either the Behringer EP2500 amp or the Seaton amp. Low and behold it was a low pass slope setting on the SMS-1!!! Mine was initially set at -18db also and I had an intermittent noise that you could hear if you had your ear close up to any of the subs. Changed it to -6 NO MORE NOISE!!!!

I hope this post will help others as TJHUB's post has saved me much heartache. Thank You
EricE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off