Official Elemental Designs Subwoofer Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonybradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 3,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTBDOC View Post

...the A7-900 for MY home theater! Yeah...and my wife is fine with the idea. Then again, this is the wife that enjoys a blast in a turbocharged V8 automobile...mountain biking in the middle of nowhere (WV, for example)...

I live in WV, and it is in the middle of nowhere. But, that's great for HT. I don't have neighbors 10 feet in all directions from me......so that means I can crank my HT up and not worry about the neighbors yelling...just my wife.

Tony
tonybradley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 12:32 PM
Member
 
subbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A7S-450 is perfect for me....not too big but still has more than enough juice available to have fun
Damn close to order me one, fine product

@Chris,

Hope I ain't bothering you....

From the graphic I can make up that the A7S-450 in the upper bass regions even goes louder than the A7-450 ??

At 118DB the A7S and A7 cross each other, according to the graphic but what frequency is that crossing point ??

As the graphic only shows 10HZ and / or 100HZ.....Do you have a better overview available so I can easier see SPL differences per frequency.

The Graphic on the A7S is that with 550 W or 1300 W Amp ?

---------------
subbass is offline  
post #63 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
alexlindeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Newton, IA
Posts: 1,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by subbass View Post

A7S-450 is perfect for me....not too big but still has more than enough juice available to have fun
Damn close to order me one, fine product

@Chris,

Hope I ain't bothering you....

From the graphic I can make up that the A7S-450 in the upper bass regions even goes louder than the A7-450 ??

At 118DB the A7S and A7 cross each other, according to the graphic but what frequency is that crossing point ??

As the graphic only shows 10HZ and / or 100HZ.....Do you have a better overview available so I can easier see SPL differences per frequency.

The Graphic on the A7S is that with 550 W or 1300 W Amp ?

---------------


This graph is not actual measurements, but a computer simulation with both products on the 1300 watt amplifier.

Each vertical line is 10hz. So they cross at 40hz.

With the use of an EQ you can boost that low end on the A7S a lot.

Once again, these are not real in room measurements, but computer simulations, which should be fairly accurate.
alexlindeman is offline  
post #64 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:13 PM
Member
 
cmos9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris do you have a similar simulation for the A5-350? I looked on your web site but did not find it.
thanks,
Peter
cmos9 is offline  
post #65 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Peter,

Did you want me to compare it to something else?

Chris Schempp
How to post links to Amazon.com Products.
PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #66 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:19 PM
Member
 
cmos9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how about to an A7s. I have an A5-350 on order with you guys and my friend has two A7s's with the 1300 watt amps on order.
thanks,
Peter
cmos9 is offline  
post #67 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:34 PM
Member
 
cmos9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris one more question for you in regards to interpreting the graphs you post.

Are these graph showing the maximum SPL achivable at every frequency? What I am wondering is can you boost the low end of an A7s via an EQ and boost the output down low to a level above what the graphs shows or is this not possible.
thanks,
Peter
cmos9 is offline  
post #68 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
http://www.icixsound.com/vb/icixnati...ges/83_872.jpg

Of course, 2A7S's would add 6dB in theory.

Chris Schempp
How to post links to Amazon.com Products.
PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #69 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmos9 View Post

Chris one more question for you in regards to interpreting the graphs you post.

Are these graph showing the maximum SPL achivable at every frequency? What I am wondering is can you boost the low end of an A7s via an EQ and boost the output down low to a level above what the graphs shows or is this not possible.
thanks,
Peter

It's the theoretical limit as driven with the power available.

In a room will change the total output due to room gain. That and a computer only simulates so much...depending on placement you'll have nulls/peaks but a simulation of freq. response is a good comparison between the two.

Also, I'm a big fan of getting more than enough and EQ'ing down. I won't boost unless absolutely necessary, I'd rather have the massive overkill that I can tame down.

Chris Schempp
How to post links to Amazon.com Products.
PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #70 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjg100 View Post

...My room is sealed, but it is a little over 11,000 CF....

Your location states you live on a lake. Are you sure you didn't calculate that? That's a very large room, or a very tall space!
Jim Hef is offline  
post #71 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Hef View Post

Your location states you live on a lake. Are you sure you didn't calculate that? That's a very large room, or a very tall space!

It's both.

From pictures, his room makes a 50"+ TV look small and it's got some taaaaall ceilings.

Chris Schempp
How to post links to Amazon.com Products.
PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #72 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 01:50 PM
Member
 
cmos9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Chris for your posts. This kind of interaction is why I bought your sub in the first place.
Peter
cmos9 is offline  
post #73 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 03:00 PM
Member
 
MichaelTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the new 2 band parametric sub eq on order from ED to complement my A7S which should ship anyday... Chris? MJG had number 1, mine is #2, but with feet.

I've picked out the 7 discs / scenes which I intend to enjoy / test with once it arrives. Assuming the fedex guy doesn't have a hernia in my driveway with the 135ish lb beasty

michael
MichaelTS is offline  
post #74 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ribbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Schempp View Post

http://www.icixsound.com/vb/icixnati...ges/83_872.jpg

Of course, 2A7S's would add 6dB in theory.

wow, does that mean the A7S-450 is all around better than the A5-350?

I would have thought the A5-350 would have better output near the tuning frequency

Mike C
MKC International
SVSound Philippine Dealer
ribbit is offline  
post #75 of 15502 Old 12-13-2007, 11:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CADOBHuK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder how close those computer generated graphs are to the real measurements
CADOBHuK is offline  
post #76 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 05:00 AM
Member
 
MTBDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonybradley View Post

I live in WV, and it is in the middle of nowhere. But, that's great for HT. I don't have neighbors 10 feet in all directions from me......so that means I can crank my HT up and not worry about the neighbors yelling...just my wife.

Eh, Charleston isn't in the middle of nowhere. I'm talking Slatyfork and that general vicinity.

Back to the thread: I agree w/ the notion of having more than you need for the low end, as it is easier to dial back than to increase a particular band.

As an aside, these folks do some crazy packing. I have received some of the speakers that I ordered as a package w/ the A7-900, and the towers took a lot of work just to get out of the packaging. The little rope lifts to get them out was a nice touch! The speakers need break-in before I will comment on their sound.
MTBDOC is offline  
post #77 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 08:25 AM
Member
 
Pezlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

Pardon my ignorance, but what will an EQ do for a sub, and how would one hook it up/use it? Does it just give you the ability to dial up the volume at different frequencies?
Pezlion is offline  
post #78 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pezlion View Post

Chris,

Pardon my ignorance, but what will an EQ do for a sub, and how would one hook it up/use it? Does it just give you the ability to dial up the volume at different frequencies?

That's exactly what it'll let you do.

You can use something like the Room EQ wizard spreadsheet to figure out your room response and then could correct the peaks/nulls with a bit of EQ'ing.

It's usually best to dial things down unless you know for a fact you won't ever listen loud enough that you could overdrive something due to a boost.

Chris Schempp
How to post links to Amazon.com Products.
PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #79 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 08:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
usp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

Is the a7s-450 an all round better sub then then a3-350? The graph you posted above seems to indicate it has higher spl t all frequencies and since it is a sealed sub it should be a more musical sub. Correct? I have a 17x20x6.5 room with multiple openings to large volume rooms on one of the long walls. Trying to decide which would be better.
usp1 is offline  
post #80 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
warlord260's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: kent,wa.
Posts: 1,350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by usp1 View Post

Chris,

Is the a7s-450 an all round better sub then then a3-350? The graph you posted above seems to indicate it has higher spl t all frequencies and since it is a sealed sub it should be a more musical sub. Correct? I have a 17x20x6.5 room with multiple openings to large volume rooms on one of the long walls. Trying to decide which would be better.

you mean the a5-350? and also i think the graph of the a7s-450 would be with the larger amp. the a7s-450 would be higher up on the food chain, at least $ wise for sure. so it would be safe to say, more boom!
warlord260 is offline  
post #81 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chris Schempp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The A5-350 will get you a flatter response with no EQ'ing in the real world

If you like the sound of a sealed sub though, or will have the sub crossed over at 100Hz+ the A7S would be a better option. Vented + high x-over can get you something that's waaay too efficient on the top end and gets annoying/boomy.

Chris Schempp
How to post links to Amazon.com Products.
PSN - Mandos_eD
Chris Schempp is offline  
post #82 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
usp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aaargh. This is so hard to make a decision. The three a5-350,a7s-450 with the 550w and 1300 w amps are within $185 of each other. And there does not seem to be any easy way to make a choice. Do all sealed subs sound alike?
I have a sealed swan sub10 right now. Would I be able to integrate that with one fo these subs?
usp1 is offline  
post #83 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 09:44 AM
Member
 
subbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

I did order an A7S-450 via your website. order 14735
As I am in Europe I am waiting for your bank details (Iban/Swift) so I can remit the money and you can start giving your best to produce "my precious"

Regards,
subbass is offline  
post #84 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 10:58 AM
Member
 
Johnny_Drama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by subbass View Post

Chris,

I did order an A7S-450 via your website. order 14735
As I am in Europe I am waiting for your bank details (Iban/Swift) so I can remit the money and you can start giving your best to produce "my precious"

Regards,

Shipping an A7s-450 to Europe Freight alone will cost more than the sub...
Johnny_Drama is offline  
post #85 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CADOBHuK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_Drama View Post

Shipping an A7s-450 to Europe Freight alone will cost more than the sub...

yeah that doesn't make much sense
unless they have a euro division working
CADOBHuK is offline  
post #86 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 11:09 AM
Member
 
subbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Drama,

Correct shipping is about 500 USD but at the moment the Euro is strong so I still get lots of sub per single Euro.
When importing / exporting lots of stuff gets expensiver....For example a SVS PB13Ultra costs about 1600 Euro overhere so about 2000USD
Had a SVS +2 and I did not like it, goes loud and deep but that is it.

Besides that I really do not know any European sub that could equal the EDA7S-450
subbass is offline  
post #87 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iceperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by subbass View Post

@Drama,

Correct shipping is about 500 USD but at the moment the Euro is strong so I still get lots of sub per single Euro.
When importing / exporting lots of stuff gets expensiver....For example a SVS PB13Ultra costs about 1600 Euro overhere so about 2000USD
Had a SVS +2 and I did not like it, goes loud and deep but that is it.

Besides that I really do not know any European sub that could equal the EDA7S-450

Sounds like a nice opportunity for an entrepreneur to me.
iceperson is offline  
post #88 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tonybradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 3,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTBDOC View Post

Eh, Charleston isn't in the middle of nowhere. I'm talking Slatyfork and that general vicinity.

Back to the thread: I agree w/ the notion of having more than you need for the low end, as it is easier to dial back than to increase a particular band.

As an aside, these folks do some crazy packing. I have received some of the speakers that I ordered as a package w/ the A7-900, and the towers took a lot of work just to get out of the packaging. The little rope lifts to get them out was a nice touch! The speakers need break-in before I will comment on their sound.

I'll second the packaging. Haven't received the sub yet, but the packaging on the Towers were insane. Very ingenious with the wood/styrofoam/rope to easily pull them out of the box. I think I even took pictures of the packaging as I took it out. Where do most store their pictues so you can embed them into a post? If someone can let me know, I can post the pictures.

Tony
tonybradley is offline  
post #89 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iceperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonybradley View Post

I'll second the packaging. Haven't received the sub yet, but the packaging on the Towers were insane. Very ingenious with the wood/styrofoam/rope to easily pull them out of the box. I think I even took pictures of the packaging as I took it out. Where do most store their pictues so you can embed them into a post? If someone can let me know, I can post the pictures.

There's an "attach files" option below where you type text for a post.
iceperson is offline  
post #90 of 15502 Old 12-14-2007, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tonybradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 3,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceperson View Post

There's an "attach files" option below where you type text for a post.

I know, but you have to crop the picture to a specific size, etc. I've never embedded it in the post. Was curious where most people save their pictures so you can embed the pics.

Tony
tonybradley is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Tags
Subwoofers , Elemental Designs

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off