What kind of cable is best to use for a subwoofer? (40ft run) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 Old 12-19-2007, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to run a cable for my subwoofer to the other side of my room. The room is about 20ft square, so the cable would need to run up the wall, across the ceiling (in attic), then down the wall near the sofa. Approx a 40ft run of cable.

Would a plain ol RCA cable work just fine?
spydermonkey311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 Old 12-19-2007, 09:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ransac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tryon, NC
Posts: 4,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
This one will work nicely.

Randy
ransac is online now  
post #3 of 34 Old 12-19-2007, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransac View Post

This one will work nicely.

That cable is out of stock. Is the "high quality" one really necessary vs the standard cable?
spydermonkey311 is offline  
post #4 of 34 Old 12-19-2007, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CADOBHuK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransac View Post

This one will work nicely.

50 feet has got to be way too long for most people..from what I've learned, the shorter the better is a rule that applies to most analog cables
CADOBHuK is offline  
post #5 of 34 Old 12-19-2007, 09:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
ScottAvery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
eh, that's a 75Ohm coaxial (single conductor) cable made for video or digital connections. It CAN carry a subwoofer signal, but I should think there are probably purpose-built audio cables for a similar price that would be more effective.
ScottAvery is offline  
post #6 of 34 Old 12-19-2007, 09:54 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
spydermonkey311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if 50ft is to long, maybe I should rethink the location. I figure a good area for the subwoofer is on the side, behind you. What is the ideal location?
spydermonkey311 is offline  
post #7 of 34 Old 12-19-2007, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CADOBHuK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it's not that 50 feet is totally unacceptable, its just that you dont want a lot of extra length over what your distance between your preamp and the sub is..and 50 feet is a lot of distance
CADOBHuK is offline  
post #8 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 02:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NightHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chaptico Md.
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spydermonkey311 View Post

Would a plain ol RCA cable work just fine?

Yes.

And 50 feet isn't too far. Not even close.
NightHawk is offline  
post #9 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rlj5242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The total length of my sub cable is about 60ft. 50 of that is RG-6 run in the walls and attic. I have no issues at all with that length.

-Robert
rlj5242 is offline  
post #10 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 07:27 AM
Newbie
 
UMBrowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ran a 50 ft. cable myself and I purchased this cable from Monoprice. Everything is working good for me.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
UMBrowns is offline  
post #11 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ransac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tryon, NC
Posts: 4,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Well then try THIS one. I only put the higher quality cable first as it was only a couple dollars higher. And 50' is not a long run and this cable from MonoPrice is a sub cable.

Randy
ransac is online now  
post #12 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sherardp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bluejeans

Click the link to see pics of my home theater

http://s450.photobucket.com/albums/q...oom/?start=all
Sherardp is offline  
post #13 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
iceperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherardp View Post

bluejeans

+1

http://bluejeanscable.com/store/subwoofer/index.htm
iceperson is offline  
post #14 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zamboniman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL - Far NW Burbs
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Don't kid yourself....

Get a spool of RG6 from the local orange or blue big box. Then grab some F to RCA adapters.. Prob have to go to ratshack for the adapters
zamboniman is offline  
post #15 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NightHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chaptico Md.
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zamboniman View Post

Don't kid yourself....

What does that mean?`

I see from your profile your a EE. Why would you specifically recommend a cable designed for RF applications such as RG6 as a low-frequency audio interconnect?
NightHawk is offline  
post #16 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 09:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 205
RG6 with adapters will work very well. In fact you can get the shielded RG6 and have better quality conductors than so called "audio" cables costing ten times as much.

jpmst3 is online now  
post #17 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MUCHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweet! Cable debate! Go go go!

I'm using a 25 ft Monoprice RG6 cable with fancy connector (paid extra for it) and it seems to work fine.

I'm sure I'm missing something that I would have if I had paid a lot more.

Of course - the walls can only handle so much shaking so I'm glad I went with the budget cable.
MUCHO is offline  
post #18 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ransac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tryon, NC
Posts: 4,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by zamboniman View Post

Don't kid yourself....

Get a spool of RG6 from the local orange or blue big box. Then grab some F to RCA adapters.. Prob have to go to ratshack for the adapters

since you can buy a pre-made 50' cable for $10, why would you go through all this trouble?

Randy
ransac is online now  
post #19 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NightHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chaptico Md.
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well most good quality RG6 has a foil-braid shield. The foil is transparent to 60Hz so it buys you nothing in terms of RFI protection. The copper braid gets you a tiny bit better protection. At least the Blues Jeans sub cable doubles up on the copper braid. That doesn't get you much but it is better than a RF cable with a foil shield.
NightHawk is offline  
post #20 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ransac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tryon, NC
Posts: 4,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightHawk View Post

What does that mean?`

I see from your profile your a EE. Why would you specifically recommend a cable designed for RF applications such as RG6 as a low-frequency audio interconnect?

Because you need a shielded cable and coax is about the lowest priced choice. Cut open a "plain old RCA cable" and what do you see. Center conductor, dielectric, shield, jacket. Same as coax.

Randy
ransac is online now  
post #21 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zamboniman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL - Far NW Burbs
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't argue that the $10 cable from monoprice is fine..... however,

All audio cable is coax.....
- RG6 happens to be good coax with the correct impedance... if it's good enough for RF it's overkill for subwoofers aka low frequency interconnect.
- It's cheap
- It can be had locally
- You can field terminate with ease for exact length using commonly available materials/tools
- You can terminate with cheap easy locally available wall plates for a nice finished look
- Cheap and easy to get "in wall" rated version (OP mentioned going through attic)
- Not going to debate this... but I guarantee you in this application it will work as good or BETTER than any other purpose built cable at any price would
- There's a reason most prof. installers use this (it works, won't be the source of a headache or problem, and is cost effective)

And if you didn't want to go to all the trouble of termination..... you could probably buy a 50' length of connectorized RG6 and the adapters for about $10

And now that I notice it..... the monoprice cable is exactly what I was recommending (RG6/ or 59) minus the adapters... So like I said.... Any coax like this would be more than suffiient for your subwoofer cable.... either ordered like this..... or built up with parts and pieces from your local store
zamboniman is offline  
post #22 of 34 Old 12-20-2007, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NightHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chaptico Md.
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everyone would be better off using a product like Belden 1505F RG59. It has a double braid outer shield with 98% coverage. Most RG6 has a much lower percentage of braid shield. It's also less flexible and more difficult to terminate with RCA connectors than RG59.

RG6 is not the best choice and the impedance doesn't matter at all.

In reality the shield matters little anyway. Even double copper braid shields provide only a miniscule amount of protection from low-frequency magnetic fields. The only thing that does provide protection is a balanced interconnect. Few prople would need that. That's the reason in my first post I replied to the OP that "any ol RCA cable" will work.
NightHawk is offline  
post #23 of 34 Old 01-04-2008, 12:19 PM
Member
 
tazzmissionx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between RG6 and RG59 and does it really matter?
tazzmissionx is offline  
post #24 of 34 Old 01-08-2008, 07:16 PM
Senior Member
 
David HT guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles, Ca
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazzmissionx View Post

What is the difference between RG6 and RG59 and does it really matter?

Assuming that the subwoofer cable only needs to carry low frequency signals, based on the below either should be fine.

From another website:
RG59 Cable:
One of the most common video cables in use today, RG59 cable is a 75-ohm video cable that has traditionally been used for analog Cable TV or video applications. Typically fitted with F-pin ends (for Cable TV) or BNC ends (used in professional video applications). Recently, RG59 cable has started to be phased out in favor of RG6 cable.
RG6 Cable:
RG6 cable is differentiated from RG59 cable by having a thicker copper center conductor. RG6 is primarily being used today for satellite and digital cable TV, where higher frequencies are required that RG59 cable cannot support. RG6 cable is most often sold with F-pin connectors for cable or satellite applications.
David HT guy is offline  
post #25 of 34 Old 01-08-2008, 08:59 PM
SRR
AVS Special Member
 
SRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,939
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran snakes thru my walls for studio use, about 75 ft, plus sometimes 30-40 feet of mic cable, yes that is balanced, but I also use them for the return trip down for headphone monitoring for musicians, total run there, UNBALANCED, 125 feet. In a prior life I ran unbalanced (rarely, but did do it) trough 50 foot snakes to a patch bay then to the sound board at front of house that had snakes running through the floors and walls, all total ???200 feet???, might lose a little in signal strength at 50 feet. And you don't have the common mode rejection of balanced so you may pick up a LITTLE noise but really 50 feet is plenty fine.
SRR is offline  
post #26 of 34 Old 01-21-2008, 09:35 AM
Member
 
jpterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the HT installer run some additional locations in my hearth room for a couple of subs and they just ran 16g speaker wire to the locations. Can you terminate these with the right plug and use it for a sub? Thanks.
jpterry is offline  
post #27 of 34 Old 01-21-2008, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rlj5242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpterry View Post

I had the HT installer run some additional locations in my hearth room for a couple of subs and they just ran 16g speaker wire to the locations. Can you terminate these with the right plug and use it for a sub? Thanks.

Not with very good success. Been asked and answered here many times.

-Robert
rlj5242 is offline  
post #28 of 34 Old 01-21-2008, 10:32 AM
Member
 
jpterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlj5242 View Post

Not with very good success. Been asked and answered here many times.

-Robert

Ok, well that bites. This is not the easiset area to pull new wires. This is for my Hearth room, not my HT, so it doesn't have to be perfect. How much performance do you lose if you just use the High Level connections w/ speaker wire vs. the LFE connection? I won't be able to connect my mains from the back of the sub, they will connect straight back to the rcvr. Is that an issue? Thanks and sorry for the newb questions.
jpterry is offline  
post #29 of 34 Old 01-21-2008, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rlj5242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Southaven, MS
Posts: 3,283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Why don't you use a passive sub and put the sub amp at the location with the rest of your equipment. That way you can take advantage of your receiver's LFE output and use the speaker wire that the "HT installer" ran.

-Robert
rlj5242 is offline  
post #30 of 34 Old 01-21-2008, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PR Audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an inexpensive alternative, that is very good for any kind of run...I have my electronics shop do the cable for me using thick gauge professional microphone cable with gold plated RCA type connectors on each end. Believe it or not, this is less expensive than monoprice, acc4less, blue jeans, etc.
PR Audio is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off