Fix Sunfire Sig. or buy a new sub??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-22-2007, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Hey people,
My Sunfire Signature sub has been overextended and makes a racket when pushed too far. It was from the poor acoustics of my livingroom/theater. It would cost me $275 plus shipping to fix. Should I go ahead and do this, or is it time for a new sub? I AM on a budget and use the sub mostly for movies. Any recommendations? Suggestions? Thanks,

Terry

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-22-2007, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Since my room has a lot of nodes (even in the money chair), would a sub with room correction/eq help? Can I add an outboard eq/corrector to my current sub? Thanks in advance!

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-22-2007, 09:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
zora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Walla Walla, WA
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
People will say that the Sunfire's are not the ultimate in performance, which is true (they are all about SAF & size) - but you will not find a sub that performs as well for the cost to repair your sub.

If you can spare just a little more money, you can get a sub that will be better for your HT duties. It seems that even the Sunfire Sig. did not have enough output for you (it broke), so you need to look into a larger ported sub.

Here are the usual suspects:

Outlaw Audio
Hsu
SVS
Epik Subwoofers (my pick for performance/value)

JP
zora is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-22-2007, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
KBMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Grass Valley, CA
Posts: 2,852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 36
thanks for the suggestions....I think at this point I will just fix it and not turn it up (for now)........

Terrence
"Hey Vasquez, have you ever been mistaken for a man?...."No, have you?" -ALIENS

KBMAN is offline  
Reply Subwoofers, Bass, and Transducers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off