Official DVHSTool 2.1 Support Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1297 Old 01-05-2003, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ricka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I'm happy to announce the official release of DVHSTool 2.1. DVHSTool 2.1 is available for download here:

http://www.kgbird.com/DVHSTool

New features since 2.02

* Software HDTV playback from ATSC files or directly from D-VHS tape. (WinDVD, Sonic, and Ravisent decoders supported)
* SPDIF passthrough using the Sonic/Ravisent decoders (untested with WinDVD)
* Greatly improved TSP2SP filter
* D-VHS tape status now available in the status bar
* Re-written archive engine.
* Bug fixes, spit and polish

Enjoy!

--Rick
ricka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1297 Old 01-05-2003, 08:27 PM
PVR
 
PVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all your hard work, Rick!

He neglected to mention that the software rendering now has better performance (DXVA?)

HDnet recordings would stutter with the old versions (on my machine) but now playback smoothly.
PVR is offline  
post #3 of 1297 Old 01-05-2003, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ricka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh yeah. I get perfect playback on a Celeron 2G with DX9 and Catalyst 3.0 drivers complete with DD5.1 using the Ravisent filters.

--Rick
ricka is offline  
post #4 of 1297 Old 01-05-2003, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phat Phreddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Planet Earth (sometimes)
Posts: 6,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the (higher bitrate so I have read) DTheater recordings playable in purely SW ??? Would a P4 2.4 / 512MB RAM / 8500 be likely to handle that much ???
Phat Phreddy is offline  
post #5 of 1297 Old 01-05-2003, 09:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Abq-Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't believe that you can play ANY of the DTheater via software as the encryption prevents you from doing so. Standard DVHS should be fine.

Regards, Peter
Abq-Pete is offline  
post #6 of 1297 Old 01-05-2003, 10:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Abq-Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rick,

When pressing the tape preview button, I get the following message:

"Failed to setup tape preview graph. Please ensure you have all of the required components"

I've tried enabling the debug mode to generate a DVHSTool2.txt but still can't find any log file or something to tell me what is missing. Here is my setup:

Shuttle SS51G with SiS 651/972L
P4 1.8 Northwood, 256MB DDR
Radeon 9500pro/MP-1 with Catalyst 2.5
WinXP Home SP1 DirectX 8.1
D-VHS drivers for both JVC and the Panasonic
WinDVD 4 (selected in the settings of DVHSTool) and able to manipulate audio/video properties
DVHSTool 2.1

Any ideas?

Thanks and regards, Peter
Abq-Pete is offline  
post #7 of 1297 Old 01-05-2003, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darinp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by PVR
HDnet recordings would stutter with the old versions (on my machine) but now playback smoothly.
Do you mean HDNet recordings that originally came through the 169time? If so, then this is a giant leap forward by Rick, but my first inclination is that you mean D-VHS tapes that have been purchased or somehow recorded another way. I hope I'm wrong.

Also, it sounds like we should upgrade to DX9 and Catalyst 3.0 if we really want to stay up with this one.

Thanks Rick.

--Darin
darinp is offline  
post #8 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 04:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rick,

Great job!!

What are the hotkeys for controlling the preview when in full screen?

Thanks,
Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #9 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 04:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A tip and a question for cheapskates like me:)

I found that the filter that comes with WINDVD 2000 (it's what I got with my DVD-ROM) caused VERY Jerky Audio/Video so I wanted to try the Sonic Filters.

You can pay $15 for them but I hated to spend even that just as a test.

I downloaded the Free trial version of Cineplayer that has the Sonic Decoders.

While DVHStool pops up an error message when I click on Dvhs settings , I can select the Sonic filter checkbox and it still uses the decoder.
I am able to get nearly perfect Audio/Video playback with this decoder.

My version of the Windvd decoders must really suck.

Now, where does one find a free trial version of a DVD player that has the Ravisent Decoders?

Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #10 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsaliga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 4,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe,

Sonic acquired Ravisent, so they are one and the same. If you are using the Sonic decoders then you are likely to be using the most current version of the Cinemaster filters.

I believe the last version of Cinemaster decoders released prior to the acquisition was those included with Ravisent Cineplayer 4.0 and the ATI DVD Player 7.6

--Jerome
jsaliga is offline  
post #11 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 06:16 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ricka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Joe,

When the preview window is open, hold down the <ALT> key. This will underline the hot key for each button. For completeness, here they are:

Back one pile - <ALT B>
Play <ALT Y>
FWD one file - <ALT F>
Pause - <ALT P>
Close - <ALT C>
Full Screen toggle - <ALT U>

The Ravisent filtes were bundled with ATI MMC 7.6, which if you have an ATI video card, is downloadable for free.

Peter,

Exactly why it failed is in that log file. It has to be on your computer somewhere. The first thing I would check is to verify that you have the WinDVD audio and video decoders installed. The program uses the set, so both are required.

--Rick
ricka is offline  
post #12 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 06:52 AM
Member
 
amigenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Dortmund,Germany
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ricka !

Could you please enable the archive button even if no tape is loaded ?

I ask this because i use the jvc sometimes as decoder only for my ts files on hd.

And a little bug...DVHStool stops the Tape even if Control Tapetransport is UNchecked at program exit.

cya

Ralf
amigenius is offline  
post #13 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsaliga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 4,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just disable tape transport control in the settings screen and then archive. The files will play to your JVC.

--Jerome
jsaliga is offline  
post #14 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
MF70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, US
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Rick:
I am having the the same problem I had with the beta version: I can restore from tape but cannot archive back to tape. The program is closed by Windows when it encounters a problem. And what happened to the status window showing the tape counter? It no longer appears on the desktop? Thanks!

Mauro
MF70 is offline  
post #15 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
MF70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, US
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi again:
Using the QUEUE to select files and then using RECORD I can send the stream to the JVC 30K without any problems. But cannot do so using the RESTORE funcion. And, when I use the WUEUE and RECORD, the status window IS visible on the desktop.

Mauro
MF70 is offline  
post #16 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
MF70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Walnut Creek, CA, US
Posts: 671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry! I made a mistake above! I cannot do so using the ARCHIVE function!
Mauro

Mauro
MF70 is offline  
post #17 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 09:50 AM
Member
 
amigenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Dortmund,Germany
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi !

@jsaliga

Nope, disabling tape transport control doesn't help.

cya

Ralf
amigenius is offline  
post #18 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bogney Baux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 1,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am still having the same problem as I reported on 12-7. That problem is pasted below:


"I am having problems transferring groups of short shows to tape. I always get this error partway through he transfer: “DVHS Tool has encountered a problem and needs to closeâ€.

I did some experimenting. I used a ½ hour show that Hipix had permanently deleted the commercials. I then added all the files to the queue and did a successful transfer.

I then added the same files to the queue, so that the show will be transferred twice. Again, it was successful.

I again added the same files to the queue, so that the show will be transferred three times. Again, it was successful.

The forth attempt is when the problems happen. The same show is loaded 4 times in the queue. The first three shows transfer fine. The fourth show has the error. It always happens at what was the first commercial break in the show.

This happens with other shows, so it is unlikely that the show is the problem. Anyway it transfers fine when there are less than 4 shows in the queue.
Any ideas as to what the problem is?"
Bogney Baux is offline  
post #19 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 11:23 AM
PVR
 
PVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
darinp: Yes - I am having pretty good luck playing AVX1 HDnet recordings through the WinDVD4 filters.

The recordings break up a bunch when played through the HiPix but now work pretty well when played through DVHStool. I told Rick that this was a major reason why DVHStool is a "must have" for me now.
PVR is offline  
post #20 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
darinp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PVR,

That is great to hear. I'll try it later.

If it works, then the only real extra I would want is a way for me to custom scale my image so that I can stretch 16x9 to 4x3 (everybody too tall) and then use my anamorphic lens, but that might be outside of the kind of thing that Rick should/will work on. He's only one guy and I know priorities need to be decided. Rick, is there any chance of adding something like this. Is there an amount of money I could pay to purchase this extra :)

--Darin
darinp is offline  
post #21 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 12:58 PM
Member
 
sfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by darinp
PVR,

That is great to hear. I'll try it later.

If it works, then the only real extra I would want is a way for me to custom scale my image so that I can stretch 16x9 to 4x3 (everybody too tall) and then use my anamorphic lens, but that might be outside of the kind of thing that Rick should/will work on. He's only one guy and I know priorities need to be decided. Rick, is there any chance of adding something like this. Is there an amount of money I could pay to purchase this extra :)

--Darin
Darin, look at this thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=209071

this describes how to use zoom player for d-vhs playback, which should support the various aspect ratio settings you desire.
sfield is offline  
post #22 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 01:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darinp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by sfield
Darin, look at this thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=209071

this describes how to use zoom player for d-vhs playback, which should support the various aspect ratio settings you desire.
Thanks. Actually I use ZoomPlayer, but there are some issues with playing this stuff back through it and I usually get less than a minute of clean playback, unless the files were originally recorded with the AccessDTV or HiPix cards. It is really an unsupported thing from 169time that we are trying to do and Rick getting it working this far is awesome. Actually, if Rick has gotten this stuff playing back this far, then if he can also get good clean, ZoomPlayer playable copies to my hard drive, then I should be able to play them back with ZoomPlayer and do the aspect ratio stuff. I think all this stuff is easier said than done, though. Fortunately, there are some smart people working on these things.

--Darin
darinp is offline  
post #23 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 04:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
midi-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this software work with Win2k?

I have only seen the XP version of the Firewire/JVC 'Tape Driver'.

Is there a W2K version?

Andrew.

Life is short. Enjoy!
Andrew.
midi-guy is offline  
post #24 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
ROBERT HUNZEKER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: SHALIMAR, FL, USA
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just installed 2.1 and program bombs as soon as I click the record button. The beta version worked fine, any ideas on what to check?

Bob H.
ROBERT HUNZEKER is offline  
post #25 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
DonDougan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wallingford, CT
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Andrew,

Is your question about the drivers or the DHVSTool software itself? I could be wrong but I believe that you need XP to be able to use the firewire communications drivers so it wouldn't do much good for DHVSTool to even run under Win2k.

Bob,

I have the exact same problem with the 2.02 beta software and posted about it in the 2.02 thread and Rick said that the archive part of the software was rewritten 2.1. I can't get to Rick's web site but when it comes back up, I plan on trying the new version. I'll let you know how it goes. I hope it goes well because my HDD's are just about full. :)

We can compare configurations after that if you like.

Don

EDIT: after re-reading your post, Bob, I guess our problems aren't the exact same after all

Got OTA HDTV? Check out my Terrain Mapping thread.
DonDougan is offline  
post #26 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Annapolis,MD
Posts: 3,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ricka
Joe,

The Ravisent filtes were bundled with ATI MMC 7.6, which if you have an ATI video card, is downloadable for free.

--Rick
I have a Radeon 7200.

The ATI website now only has MMC 7.7 and the readme file says:
"The Web version of MMC 7.7 does not include DVD Decoders"

Don't I need those?

Joe
Joe Q is offline  
post #27 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tonyb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: minneapolis, mn
Posts: 3,719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't download it. is the site down

Pardon my spelling, the checker hangs my system.
tonyb100 is offline  
post #28 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 06:18 PM
PVR
 
PVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The latest DVHStool only works with WinXP with SP1 installed.

Unfortunately no Win2K or Win98SE support.
PVR is offline  
post #29 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ricka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by darinp
PVR,

That is great to hear. I'll try it later.

If it works, then the only real extra I would want is a way for me to custom scale my image so that I can stretch 16x9 to 4x3 (everybody too tall) and then use my anamorphic lens, but that might be outside of the kind of thing that Rick should/will work on. He's only one guy and I know priorities need to be decided. Rick, is there any chance of adding something like this. Is there an amount of money I could pay to purchase this extra :)

--Darin
This option may be very easy. Send me an email. I may be able to whip up a test version to see if it works for youm then add the option to later builds.

--Rick
ricka is offline  
post #30 of 1297 Old 01-06-2003, 08:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ricka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ROBERT HUNZEKER
Just installed 2.1 and program bombs as soon as I click the record button. The beta version worked fine, any ideas on what to check?

Bob H.
Bob,

Can you turn on debug output and then post the contents of the DVHSTool2.txt file?

This data will help me isolate where the problem is.

--Rick
ricka is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Software Media Discussion

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off