New Apple TV - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 217 Old 07-09-2011, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kalani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom Gremlin View Post
Full 1080p support might be coming to Apple TV later this year.

It's just a rumor. Most likely it will require new hardware.
And reconverting all of my blu-rays.
Kalani is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 217 Old 07-09-2011, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
[Irishman]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwebb1970 View Post

I asume it all has to do with Netflix on the Apple TV 2 haing it's own iOS based NEtflix app as oppsed to using a web browser & sending that to a TV?

Pulled up The Big Lebowski on our instant queue via Netflix on our new ATV2. Prior to it, our Netflix was 100% standard def via the Wii.

Was very impressed by the PQ of Lebowski - did not even realize initially that this movie was offered in HD. While not quite BD quality, the HD from Netflix via ATV2 is quite impressive.

Yeah, it's going to make video from the Wii look just..bad.

[Irishman] is offline  
post #213 of 217 Old 07-09-2011, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 4,385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kalani View Post

And reconverting all of my blu-rays.

It may support 1080p but probably much lower bitrate 1080p than you'd get from Blu-Rays.
wco81 is offline  
post #214 of 217 Old 07-10-2011, 04:24 AM
Member
 
kjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone here know of or have experience with an app that would allow you to see what you are controlling on the appletv menu from an iPad? I have downloaded the remote software and that works great for controlling the ATF while you are in site of it but I am trying to use the ATv as a music source outside from the pool. I have my marantz receiver controlling the speakers through a separate zone and the iTunes portion works great but I would really love to be able to control changing stations on the radio feeds remotely.
kjenkins is offline  
post #215 of 217 Old 07-10-2011, 05:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
chefklc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Why not AirPlay them to the aTV from the iPad?
chefklc is online now  
post #216 of 217 Old 07-10-2011, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
badgerpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bedford, Texas
Posts: 1,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yup, I use AirPlay from my iPod touches to control the radio stations or iTunes library from the pool. Works great!
badgerpilot is offline  
post #217 of 217 Old 07-10-2011, 12:23 PM
Senior Member
 
FredT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sonoma, CA
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chefklc View Post

Fred, there are several things which could account for this, but if you find yourself in that situation again--NF Instant Watch works just fine on the Mac or iPad but, frustratingly, not on the aTV2--try switching your DNS server setting to something else. If it is OpenDNS (208.67.220.220), switch to Google (8.8.8.8); if it is Google, switch to something namebench identifies as a good local choice (other than OpenDNS.)

Hey, thanks for that information. That said, now I'm confused (or I should say more confused). I took a look at the aTV2 Network information, and it shows a DNS address of 10.0.1.1, which is the same as the router address. I then checked my Macs (one wired, the other wireless) and they say the same thing. I thought that I had some time ago changed my DNS servers to OpenDNS, then I realized that I must have done that in AirPort Utility. I checked there, and sure enough I found primary and secondary OpenDNS server addresses. So, I guess the 10.0.1.1 is shown because the DNS address comes from the router, yes? As an aside, I ran namebench, and it found the 10.0.1.1 address to be fastest for my area.
FredT is offline  
Reply HTPC - Mac Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off