New Mac-Mini...Audio-Out Questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Hello Mac Users! Just picked up a brand new Mac-Mini yesterday.
I got the 4gb model and ran a software update right out of the box.

I have it hooked up to my Sony Bravia TV via HDMI, But I also want to
run the mini-toslink cable into my Anthem MRX-300 for 5.1 audio
from any HD content off of Netflix or itunes. I know that I should just
run the HDMI directly into the AVR, but the wife is terrified of my audio
rig! I have my Directv hooked up in a similar fashion. My TV has a
toslink output, but I am pretty sure it downmixes to 2.0 pcm.

My question is will this work OK?? I have Googled until I am blue
in the face,but the info is confusing to say the least. Not sure as
to what settings or changes I need to make and where.

I haven't used Mac in over a decade so I guess I am a NOOB.

Edit: my TV optical audio out only works when using the built in tuner
Sony kdl-46xbr2
grasshoppers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 02:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
chefklc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You can have the video go over HDMI direct to the TV and the audio go over optical to an AVR with no problem. Just select "Built-in Output" within AudioMIDI instead of HDMI, and select "Digital Out - Optical" under System Preferences > Sound > Output instead of HDMI.

If you want to set it up so audio goes over optical to the AVR and HDMI to the TV simultaneously, in order to get audio from the TV speakers when just watching the TV, without involving the AVR at all, say to make it really wife-friendly, create something called a "Multi-Output Device" in AudioMIDI, bottom left hand corner + sign.
chefklc is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by chefklc View Post

You can have the video go over HDMI direct to the TV and the audio go over optical to an AVR with no problem. Just select "Built-in Output" within AudioMIDI instead of HDMI, and select "Digital Out - Optical" under System Preferences > Sound > Output instead of HDMI.

If you want to set it up so audio goes over optical to the AVR and HDMI to the TV simultaneously, in order to get audio from the TV speakers when just watching the TV, without involving the AVR at all, say to make it really wife-friendly, create something called a "Multi-Output Device" in AudioMIDI, bottom left hand corner + sign.

Thanks,Sounds simple. I cant seem to find this 'audioMIDI' panel you
are talking about. All I can see is 'system prefs.sound'.
grasshoppers is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 04:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
chefklc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Applications > Utilities > Audio MIDI Setup
chefklc is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 04:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshoppers View Post

I have it hooked up to my Sony Bravia TV via HDMI, But I also want to run the mini-toslink cable into my Anthem MRX-300 for 5.1 audiofrom any HD content off of Netflix or itunes.

AFAIK, you cannot send HD MCH via TosLink or digital coax.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 04:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
chefklc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:


you cannot send HD MCH via TosLink or digital coax

you're correct, but no one would be talking about HD multichannel audio, just plain old DD 5.1 and DTS in HD video content. In OS X you couldn't pass HD MCH over HDMI anyway.
chefklc is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Thanks, I'm there now. Still can't get it to work,
Anthem sez no signal, but if I switch to HDMI it's good.
grasshoppers is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-03-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
grasshoppers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: aridzona
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 113
OK, I got it Thank you very much.

I am such a dumb arse, had my AV configured for
COAX not optical!

I did create the 'multi-output device', working great.

Ps-you knew more than Apple tech support LOL
grasshoppers is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 11:09 AM
Member
 
Paul_Malloy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another thing to consider for wife-friendliness in a Harmony remote so that all your devices get switched to the correct input/output with one button press. The initial setup takes a while but it is one time only.
Paul_Malloy is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 12:39 PM
Member
 
funkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_Malloy View Post

Another thing to consider for wife-friendliness in a Harmony remote so that all your devices get switched to the correct input/output with one button press. The initial setup takes a while but it is one time only.

+1

The Harmony works great.
funkle is offline  
Reply HTPC - Mac Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off