Braindead-simple workflow to convert physical discs to use in AppleTV3? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-16-2012, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi all, I hope someone can help me here.

I'm very much bi-platform, meaning I use a mishmash of computers at home (I have an embarrassingly large number for a variety of reasons), and normally try to use the fastest/easiest/best tool for the job. As a computer tech, not a lot scares me.

BUT I have a family friend who wants to get rid of his DVD and Blu-ray collection and move to AppleTVs. He only has Macs in the house, of unknown vintage but all likely fairly recent models.

I usually do my ripping and file prep on my PC, which is the fastest machine in the house, and then dump the finished files to my Mac to host in iTunes for distribution to ATVs around the house, so my workflow won't work for him.

What are the current tools of choice, and is there a simple workflow that I can lay out for him? The multi-step process I use for my files (rip DVD or BR with DVDfab, Handbrake to ATV2 format overnight, Tag with MetaX, move finished M4V to Mac over home network, drop onto iTunes) before sending the file to my Mac to add to iTunes is likely a little more than he'll like, being "enthusiastic" but frankly not overly savvy. Particularly when it comes to subtleties like interlaced TV shows or DVDs (becoming more rare, thank goodness) and subtitles (still a major thorn in my side).