Mac Mini and HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 01-13-2005, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dcstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to hook up the new Mac Mini I purchused to my 30" HDTV, the problem is I do not have DVI on my TV set only component input, Since my tv is a native 1080i hdtv, I really want to take advantage of 1920x1080. Is there an adapter I can buy that goes from DVI or VGA to Component? I really do not want to use S-video or composite. I saw one from ATI that looked like it might work since the Mac Mini uses a ATI 9200, but I dont know if its will work or not. Has anyone tried hooking up a Mac to a component HDTV or a know of a good DVI or VGA to component adapter?

Here is the one I found on google:

shop.ati.com/product.asp?sku=2537967

it looks like it has a jumper setting so I can switch it to 720p, or 1080i and even 16:9.

Im sure im not the only one that wants to do this.


Also Dont you think the Mac Mini would make a beautiful frontend to Mythtv? Have the backend server running on a PC, and Stream the content to the Mac Mini.
dcstimm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-14-2005, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought the mini mac came with a DVI to VGA converter for hooking up regular VGA monitors... You would just need to attach that then use a transcoder to convert the signal from VGA to component.

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-14-2005, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dcstimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mjones73
I thought the mini mac came with a DVI to VGA converter for hooking up regular VGA monitors... You would just need to attach that then use a transcoder to convert the signal from VGA to component.

Could you recommend a product? and What about the DVI to Component adapter that I listed above?

And yes it does have a free DVI to VGA adapter in the box. Thats why I said DVI to component or VGA to Component.

thanks Again.
dcstimm is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-14-2005, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mjones73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 7,945
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unless there is something special done to the cards that adapter supports, I don't see why it wouldn't work on the Mac...

Matt
Please don't PM me with technical questions that should be posted in the forum.
mjones73 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-16-2005, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
rangernine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi dcstimm,

If you get that adapter - come back and let us know how it works out with the mac mini - I am also considering getting a mac mini for my home entertainment center and hooking it to my HDTV. You're correct that s-video isn't a good option.

Good luck.
rangernine is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-24-2005, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
absolutezerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use the ATI dvi to component adapter. You don't want to convert the signal to many times as it would surely degrade the picture.
absolutezerok is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-24-2005, 07:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The VGA/DVI-> Component adapters from ATI don't work with the Mac cards presently. If you already bought one, you most likely have not have wasted your money though. If you haven't already bought one, don't buy one. No further cryptic comments. ;)
Joseph S is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-24-2005, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dcstimm
Could you recommend a product? and What about the DVI to Component adapter that I listed above?

And yes it does have a free DVI to VGA adapter in the box. Thats why I said DVI to component or VGA to Component.

thanks Again.
Here is a VGA to component transcoder.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-24-2005, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Compromise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 752
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about a component to VGA? I am just using an old VGA - component computer cable from my component output DVD to VGA input Plasma. Shouldn't this work without having to buy a $179+shipping box?


Boat name: Summer Compromise; Power train: twin 490 HP (w ATI Prochargers); A/V: sufficient
Compromise is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-25-2005, 01:15 PM
Member
 
amanpatel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Compromise
How about a component to VGA? I am just using an old VGA - component computer cable from my component output DVD to VGA input Plasma. Shouldn't this work without having to buy a $179+shipping box?
I think this will only work if the display device will accept a component signal over the VGA input. My ReplayTV can send RGB and Component via the VGA connector, however, you have to specify what kind of signal you want it to send out. I realize my example is backward in comparison to the stated problem, but the thinking is the same. :)

-Aman
amanpatel is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-25-2005, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correction: The 9200 series don't and can't support HDTV component out. Other Mac cards based on other chips can, but don't currently support this.

Post number 666 ;)
Joseph S is offline  
Closed Thread HTPC - Mac Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off