Mac Mini + DVI + Sony KV-34XBR910? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-14-2005, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jkb081759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Can anyone who knows Apples + DVI tell me what chance I have on getting an Apple Mac Mini connected to my Sony KV-34XBR910 via the DVI connector? Oh yeah, and get an acceptable high definition display (720p or 1080i)?

Thanks
John
jkb081759 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-20-2005, 10:33 PM
Newbie
 
momocool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am also interested in a reply for this question.
I also have a Sony XBR910 and would like to use a mini Mac using it's DVI output with my TV, to browse the Internet Wirelessly.
momocool is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 01-21-2005, 10:35 PM
Member
 
Ray Parkhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used a Samsung SIR-T165 with DVI out with XBR910 for 6 mos and found that the Sony was not really set up well for DVI. Component looked better on that set from the Samsung. Black levels were all wrong and I had no adjustability for gamma on the Samsung. I tried to set up HTPC on the Sony but it had >6% overscan and this cut off a significant part of the desktop (half the start menu, desktop icons, etc) and I could never find settings for PowerStrip that would let me see the whole desktop. The scan rates on the Sony are pretty picky so you don't have much flexibility in PowerStrip. I was never brave enough to go into the Sony service menu and adjust the overscan to solve the problem, but I think this might be the only way to make it work as HTPC monitor.
Ray Parkhurst is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-22-2005, 03:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsb_hburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

You can use SwitchResX to create a custom resolutions on the Mac and see Carlos' post in this thread about overscan control using the latest ATI driver.

Regards,
Joe


Going "over the top" with OTA, Netflix, Drobo FS and Apple TV!
jsb_hburg is offline  
Closed Thread HTPC - Mac Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off