Sony KDS-R70XBR2 and MacBookPro - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-16-2007, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mkopel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a complete HTPC newbie and I am trying to hook up my macbookpro to my new sony and I am having some problems. I am using the dvi out of the macbookpro to the hdmi in on the sony. The picture shows up for a moment and then turns off, if I switch video inputs on the tv and then back to the computer input, it will come back and disappear again.

Does anyone know how to get a constant signal from a mac to the sony?

thanks,
mitch
mkopel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-16-2007, 10:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ftaok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Media, PA (SE Pennsylvania - Philly Area)
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkopel View Post

I am a complete HTPC newbie and I am trying to hook up my macbookpro to my new sony and I am having some problems. I am using the dvi out of the macbookpro to the hdmi in on the sony. The picture shows up for a moment and then turns off, if I switch video inputs on the tv and then back to the computer input, it will come back and disappear again.

Does anyone know how to get a constant signal from a mac to the sony?

thanks,
mitch

Try messing around with the Display System Preference. I would suggest that you turn off mirroring, then selecting a standard HDTV resolution for the Sony (e.g. 1920x1080).

I'm thinking the intermittent flashing of the screen is due to you having the displays set to mirror and the MBP's resolution may not be supported on the Sony.

Hope that helps.

ft
ftaok is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-16-2007, 09:14 PM
Senior Member
 
BSteely's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From reading the manual to your Sony, it states pretty clearly on page 24 that PC connections can be made over Video 9 (VGA) only. It says specifically to not connect a computer to the HDMI port.

Probaby the Sony is looking for the HDCP (content protection) handshake which the Mac and most PCs are not capable of providing.
BSteely is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-16-2007, 09:49 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am using a Mac mini via DVI->HDMI->SXRD(1st gen). There's a thread on this forum.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...05#post7607605

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...31#post8987631

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-16-2007, 11:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mkopel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the help grubavs. My first problem was the fact that my macbookpro does not like being connected to an external display without being plugged into an ac outlet. That is why it kept sleeping. Is that normal? Now I just have the standard overscan problem over hdmi. I will give the osxrd project numbers a whirl tomorrow, but confidence is high.

thanks for all the help
mkopel is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-17-2007, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mkopel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have entered the values from the osxrd project and it seems to be working! the only issue is that everything is shifted to the right. I have tweaked the values and it seems to be getting better. also, has anyone else noticed that the sony is a tiny bit tilted? I see the top pixel of the test pattern on the left but not the right. I guess that is why there is overscan in the first place.
m.
mkopel is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-17-2007, 07:59 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
grubavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: on the noisy end of the Half Moon Bay, CA Airport
Posts: 3,640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkopel View Post

I have entered the values from the osxrd project and it seems to be working! the only issue is that everything is shifted to the right. I have tweaked the values and it seems to be getting better. also, has anyone else noticed that the sony is a tiny bit tilted? I see the top pixel of the test pattern on the left but not the right. I guess that is why there is overscan in the first place.
m.

I had (have) exactly the same problems with the right-side bias and the rotational error. I queried several folks about it, but no joy. Also, BruceWayne, the author of the DisplayConfigX info (who seems to have dissappeared), said it was only noticeable when the desktop was visible, so I should ignore it I will have my SXRD calibrated when I get my new receiver (one with HDMI 1.3) and then maybe the Tech'll be able to correct the rotation error.

If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.

grubavs is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-17-2007, 11:23 PM
Member
 
fedward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Washington, DC, US
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My KDS-R50XBR1 shifts everything an inch or two to the right after a reboot, but only after a reboot. If you change resolutions, everything will line up just right, including if you change back to the original resolution.

One solution to this is to come up with a configuration that accounts for the shift, but then if you change resolutions you'll have the opposite problem. It's a pain, but I just switch resolutions twice after every reboot to get back to my modified 720p config with proper alignment (I find for TV content I get better video at 720p than 1080i).

Copyright Fedward. All rights reserved, all wrongs reversed.
fedward is offline  
Reply HTPC - Mac Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off