Help! The PowerMac I just bought on eBay died! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Dead. I press the power button and the light goes on for a sec or so and then goes off. The power light will stay on as long as I hold the button but as soon as I take my finger off that's it.

I'm past the return date. Don't tell me I just threw $400 down the tubes.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 02:59 PM
Member
 
mpp_21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two things; does the computer turn on while you hold the button down? If it does it could just bee the on/off switch that's broken.
The other questions is, did it say anything on the auction like, as is or something to that extent? If so contact the seller or if paid with paypal call them and dispute the charges.
Second answer is semi-answered. How long did you have it and not check it or ask the seller about the problem?

Might be SoL, sorry.
mpp_21 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
No it doesn't go on, an the button is fine. It worked until today.

I've had it for about 3 weeks and return policy is first week.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Sorry to hear that, Dave. Umm....have you tried a hard reset? (remove the power cord and addtl peripherals from back of unit for 20-60 minutes) If so, then try the CUDA switch: http://www.dssw.co.uk/sleepcentre/th...et_switch.html

"But I didn't do it...!"
"I knew you'd say that"...*BLAM!*
rezzy is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 04:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The CUDA switch didn't work.

I do have some other PC parts lying around like a few spare power supplies. Sigh. I haven't rated the people I purchased the MAC from yet. I purchased it over a month ago though, and I honestly don't think I'll be able to get my money back.

I feel ripped off.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You could try some other last-resort things. Like, (in case of a problem harddrive) seeing if it will fire up and boot with the original OSX install disc in the internal drive; while powering on, press the 'C' key and hold it down until you see the welcome screen (with or without a battery replacement). I'm keeping my fingers crossed....

"But I didn't do it...!"
"I knew you'd say that"...*BLAM!*
rezzy is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hey! Oddly enough the system rebooted this time, so the fix must have worked!

I guess this old PowerMac must have a short in it somewhere. I hope it's not going for good.

Thanks for the help!

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 36
This is kind of a "senior citizen" Mac, so if it was left unplugged for a while, the battery may have gone bad. These are cheap.

If it's a power supply, these are not so cheap..., but it doesn't sound like it. Do you hear the chime?

It may be worth taking out and re-seating the RAM, or whatever cards you have. Try taking out one RAM module, then another, etc., and see if it starts. One of these may be shorting out.
Ryan1 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
windwaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it sounds like a power supply issue....if it is a g4 powermac, it had problems at times with that. Mine did.
windwaves is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Well I have 2 PC powersupplies. Can I replace them with those or do I need special ones?

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rezzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 7,648
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 31
I'm not sure what your particular model's power supply spec is, but you want to definitely try and match it if has to be replaced. I would try a new battery first (the RatShack carries 'em). BTW, my Mac went out a few times; the only thing I've ever replaced was the battery, and that was once. A hard reset was all else it needed.

"But I didn't do it...!"
"I knew you'd say that"...*BLAM!*
rezzy is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 01-25-2007, 07:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It was a 3.6v battery. I actually broke one side of the plastic clips that holds it in when I took it out to do a CUDA reset, but it seems to be in there good enough without it.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 01-26-2007, 09:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
windwaves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes ! the battery...sorry forgot to mention that, but rezzy got it.

Funny you mention the broken plastic, the same exact thing happened to me !!!

Glad to hear all is good now.
windwaves is offline  
Reply HTPC - Mac Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off